We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good coffee and moroccan sweeties” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patisserie des Princes

Patisserie des Princes
32 rue Bab Agnaou, Marrakech, Morocco
044-44-30-33
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $1 - $11
Cuisines: Bakery, Moroccan, Ice Cream, Café, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Winchester, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good coffee and moroccan sweeties”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stopped here after reading tripadvisor reviews as having eaten lots of moroccan sweets/small pastries going through the various souks we thought we might try out the recommendation.
We had two coffees and a selection of moroccan pastries in the small cafe at the back (approx 70dm which included a large selection of sweets to try). The cafe is not much to look at but its clean, helpful and welcoming service and full of locals eating the cakes - a testament to how good the sweets are. Its also a nice break from the street noise so close to the souks - an oasis of calm.

The other reviews mentioned the flies and wasps which are everywhere in Marrakech even in the January cooler climate. The main french patisserie style cakes were crawling with flies and wasps so we steered clear, although they did look delicious. The moroccan sweets though were all in separate fridges and no flies anywhere near them, and they were very very tasty.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    184
    168
    44
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Delicious sweets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We bought a box of mixed sweets here the first evening. Fantastic and not so expensive. Good to have as snacks for the rest of the week.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Put off by hundreds of flies.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Their cakes must be great as many TA members seems like this patisserie. In fact, their cakes looked good, but I put off so much by hundreds of flies. I really mean HUNDREDS.
They're all over the place inside the cake windows, some rest on cakes. I've never seen so many flies at any other patisseries in Marakech.
I decided to walk away and I was glad I did. I popped in another patisseries afterwords, I didn't see any flies there, not even one.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous cakes and pastries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We had several cakes and parties with our coffee. Each one was delicious and perfectly made. We bought a big box to take home.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Heavenly ice-cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The first thing we tried here was ice-cream, and the fresh, absolutely natural taste of mint ice-cream was breathtaking. Afterwards, we tried their cappuccino and pastries, everything was delicious and very well-presented. The choice of pastries and cakes is great, service is quick and efficient, the sitting area is pleasant, the prices are reasonable. Strongly recommend!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patisserie des Princes also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Patisserie des Princes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patisserie des Princes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.