We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review Of riad Massin, Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Massin

Save Saved
You added Riad Massin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Massin
48 Derb Sidi Mohammed El Haj | Bab Doukala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 182 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Review Of riad Massin, Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We recently spent a couple of nights here with some friends and several children ranging from three to seventeen. The riad is lovely with a sunny roof terrace and traditional Moroccan decor. The hosts were delightful, extremely helpful, and very attentive of our children. Beds and rooms were spotless, set around a courtyard and at around £5 per head per night this is an absolute bargain! There is a certain amount of noise from other travellers in the courtyard at night but that goes with the territory in most hostels. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    18
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
4
6
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Centrally located between the main train station/new city (15 minute walk) and the Djemaa el Fna - main market and square (15 minute walk.) The Ornate 3 story Riad is pretty easy to find from the Bab Doukkala gate. The staff are trilingual and attentive without being over the top. Comfy beds, nice showers and pretty reason breakfast, Prices here are average for accommodation in Marrakech. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at Riad Massin several days in December 2012 and January 2013, with gaps for trips to other places in Morocco. We were not given a room in the riad itself, but rather in the house next door (number 2). Every time we wanted to go to our room, we had to ring the bell at the riad, ask to be let in, and walk over with the person (usually Aziz or Brahim) who would unlock the door. That is an inconvenience you may want to avoid, although during our stays there were fewer guests in number 2 than in the riad.

The riad is very handsome, with nice old carved wood, carved plaster, and tile work, and it has a lot of potential. However, neither property is well-maintained nor ever heated, though the riad seems to get more cleaning attention than does number 2. It is cold in the winter, even though we happened upon pretty fair weather most days, so we had to wear sweaters and jackets indoors most of the time. Our room had six bunk beds and one bathroom, but most of the time we had no other roommates. We did have a portable heater for all but one of the nights. It took the chill off but didn't really make the room warm.

The place is not kept particularly clean, and there was black mold on the inside of the old shower curtain. No towels without paying extra, and minimal toilet paper, so we were glad we brought our own towels and paper--and alcohol wipes to clean the surfaces in the bath. It's also gloomy, with only a few low-wattage light fixtures, and over half of them burned out, not just in our room but in the whole house. The promised locking cabinets were not available because the keys were missing. We found the keys eventually, and a good thing, because every day they promised to get the locks replaced but never did.

The sheets and pillowcases appeared to have been washed, but the staff didn't change the fitted sheets, it seemed, only the flat sheets. The pillows smelled like dirty laundry, which we cured by putting them in plastic bags and using our own pillowcases--a tip for many places in Morocco. The comforters were warm but stained--in one case, bloodstained.

When we first arrived, about 9:15 a.m., we were greeted by the maid, Hajj, and given mint tea while we waited for Brahim to book us in and show us our room. We must have waited nearly an hour. We thought he was on some errand or something, but we later learned that the staff all sleep in late all the time. The mint tea is a nice tradition in Morocco, and we enjoyed it in other riads, but not always here. Once, one of us was given cold tea in a glass that smelled of fish--enough to put you off tea altogether.

We appreciated the staff's efforts to answer our questions and help us when needed, and the price of the riad was reasonable. But the hotel business requires constant care of the property and of the guests. Don't let a good thing go bad.

Room Tip: Probably noisier in the riad than the house next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a great time in Riad Massin.
As we are backpackers, we wanted to be a little bit far away from all the tourists.
It is 10 minutes walk to jem el fna and the Riad is located right in the middle of a very traditional quarter with a few tourists. A traditional Hamam is just across the Street.

We will come back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Riad Massin is my favorite hostel in Marrakesh, my first time here, a couple of years ago has definitely made me want to come back to Marrakech, all the staff is lovely, and i consider them as friends. Last year I came back again and my friends and I always love our stay! Now its my 3rd time visiting! We are always welcome with warmth and smiles. The location, inside the medina is a nice experience to see less tourists and more locals. Around here prices are cheap and you can easily get to the new city or to the main square inside the medina as the hostel is located between them. The rooms are big, clean and comfortable, you can also enjoy some social life in the shared areas provided! I'm very happy enjoy my stay in this lovely city.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The staff were amazing here. Besides having to change rooms twice in two days, they made our stay very comfortable!! Great place to go if you are on a budget.
The ladies took me to the local Hammam which was a great experience.
Don't stay out in the streets after 10am if you are girls travelling alone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Excellent hostel with free wifi, unlimited free mint tea, breakfast is awesome, very helpful staff. I stayed in a mixed dorm and it was clean, had hot water, a window facing the inside riad terrace,. Every morning they change your bedsheets there is airconditioning in rooms(dorms and private). Roof terrace has beds perfect for sunbathing, and a washing line if you need to dry your clothes.you can get a free cooking lesson and let you know the cheapest places to go. Highly recommend to everyone, its now my second home in Morocco, the location is perfect . i went on a day excursion with their tour company 'Moroccan Views' and it turned to be amazing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Massin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Massin

Address: 48 Derb Sidi Mohammed El Haj | Bab Doukala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 182 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Massin is a magnificent 19th-century Riad, it stands alongside the ramparts (historical wall surrounding Medina) of Marrakech. Our beautiful Riad is located just a few minutes away from the famous Jamae alfnae square and the souks. It stands just ten yards away from the historic Bab Doukala gate, and offers direct access to motor vehicles (attended parking available). With its inventive and delicate cuisine, this magical Riad is the ideal place to degustate the delicious flavours of Morocco. You can relax in the patio with the fountain sounds or on the terrace, and enjoy the unbeatable quietness of the Red City and the snow-covered Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Massin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Massin Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Massin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.