We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Maintenance and Cleaning” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Massin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Massin to your Saves list
Riad Massin
48 Derb Sidi Mohammed OulHaj | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Needs Maintenance and Cleaning”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at Riad Massin several days in December 2012 and January 2013, with gaps for trips to other places in Morocco. We were not given a room in the riad itself, but rather in the house next door (number 2). Every time we wanted to go to our room, we had to ring the bell at the riad, ask to be let in, and walk over with the person (usually Aziz or Brahim) who would unlock the door. That is an inconvenience you may want to avoid, although during our stays there were fewer guests in number 2 than in the riad.

The riad is very handsome, with nice old carved wood, carved plaster, and tile work, and it has a lot of potential. However, neither property is well-maintained nor ever heated, though the riad seems to get more cleaning attention than does number 2. It is cold in the winter, even though we happened upon pretty fair weather most days, so we had to wear sweaters and jackets indoors most of the time. Our room had six bunk beds and one bathroom, but most of the time we had no other roommates. We did have a portable heater for all but one of the nights. It took the chill off but didn't really make the room warm.

The place is not kept particularly clean, and there was black mold on the inside of the old shower curtain. No towels without paying extra, and minimal toilet paper, so we were glad we brought our own towels and paper--and alcohol wipes to clean the surfaces in the bath. It's also gloomy, with only a few low-wattage light fixtures, and over half of them burned out, not just in our room but in the whole house. The promised locking cabinets were not available because the keys were missing. We found the keys eventually, and a good thing, because every day they promised to get the locks replaced but never did.

The sheets and pillowcases appeared to have been washed, but the staff didn't change the fitted sheets, it seemed, only the flat sheets. The pillows smelled like dirty laundry, which we cured by putting them in plastic bags and using our own pillowcases--a tip for many places in Morocco. The comforters were warm but stained--in one case, bloodstained.

When we first arrived, about 9:15 a.m., we were greeted by the maid, Hajj, and given mint tea while we waited for Brahim to book us in and show us our room. We must have waited nearly an hour. We thought he was on some errand or something, but we later learned that the staff all sleep in late all the time. The mint tea is a nice tradition in Morocco, and we enjoyed it in other riads, but not always here. Once, one of us was given cold tea in a glass that smelled of fish--enough to put you off tea altogether.

We appreciated the staff's efforts to answer our questions and help us when needed, and the price of the riad was reasonable. But the hotel business requires constant care of the property and of the guests. Don't let a good thing go bad.

Room Tip: Probably noisier in the riad than the house next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    20
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
4
7
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a great time in Riad Massin.
As we are backpackers, we wanted to be a little bit far away from all the tourists.
It is 10 minutes walk to jem el fna and the Riad is located right in the middle of a very traditional quarter with a few tourists. A traditional Hamam is just across the Street.

We will come back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Riad Massin is my favorite hostel in Marrakesh, my first time here, a couple of years ago has definitely made me want to come back to Marrakech, all the staff is lovely, and i consider them as friends. Last year I came back again and my friends and I always love our stay! Now its my 3rd time visiting! We are always welcome with warmth and smiles. The location, inside the medina is a nice experience to see less tourists and more locals. Around here prices are cheap and you can easily get to the new city or to the main square inside the medina as the hostel is located between them. The rooms are big, clean and comfortable, you can also enjoy some social life in the shared areas provided! I'm very happy enjoy my stay in this lovely city.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The staff were amazing here. Besides having to change rooms twice in two days, they made our stay very comfortable!! Great place to go if you are on a budget.
The ladies took me to the local Hammam which was a great experience.
Don't stay out in the streets after 10am if you are girls travelling alone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Excellent hostel with free wifi, unlimited free mint tea, breakfast is awesome, very helpful staff. I stayed in a mixed dorm and it was clean, had hot water, a window facing the inside riad terrace,. Every morning they change your bedsheets there is airconditioning in rooms(dorms and private). Roof terrace has beds perfect for sunbathing, and a washing line if you need to dry your clothes.you can get a free cooking lesson and let you know the cheapest places to go. Highly recommend to everyone, its now my second home in Morocco, the location is perfect . i went on a day excursion with their tour company 'Moroccan Views' and it turned to be amazing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Four of us girls stayed here for a week, so we had a private en-suite for the whole time. At approx. £7 a night, you get what you pay for in terms of facilities but the staff are great & very welcoming. We stayed in Riad Massin 1 in a four bed en-suite just off the living room and were given a towel each and a cupboard with a lock to keep our valuables in. The hostel is always manned, so we felt okay about leaving our stuff in there whilst venturing out.

Very central location but can be tricky to find - be prepared to have to pay someone if you ask for directions!

Breakfast is 22 Durhams per day - you get a pancake, a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh bread, jams and a cup of tea or coffee. It's not limitless, but it's more than enough and good enough value for approx £1.80! We were cooked an awesome meal by the ladies in the Massin for 100 durhams each, and it was well worth the money as it was by far the best meal we had whilst in Morocco - an absolute feast!

We went on a two day excursion arranged through the hostel, which was 900 durhams/approx. £75ish each, which consisted of an evening meal and breakfast the next day, so I would advise that like us, you take some packed lunches or you will have to spend a bit of money eating out throughout the trip.

This hostel is great for those of you travelling on a budget and there is a real homely feel here. You're allowed to wander wherever you want and use the kitchen and roof terrace whenever you want. Also you're given one free shisha - we were under the impression that we could get free shisha every night but were told that after the first, we had to pay for the tobacco but that was still very cheap.

If you want a good shisha, we recommend you go to Azar in the main town which is only about 20 minutes walk and is one of the coolest bars we've ever been to! Belly dancers on tables, great mezze dishes and the absolute BEST shisha I've ever had! Reasonably priced too with alcohol available.

For those of you who want alcohol, you can get your own from the supermarket until 8pm when they close the alcohol part off. Spirits are expensive by Moroccan standards, but the same price as UK. Moroccan wine on the other hand is cheap and really nice, you can get a bottle for around £2.50 and take it back to drink on the roof terrace while the sun sets - bliss! Would recommend you take a cork screw though, as none of them are screw tops.

I would definitely recommend this hostel - it has a great atmosphere and we found that this contributed to us being easily able to befriend and socialise with other travellers. It can be a bit noisy, but you should remember that this is a hostel and not a hotel. If it's bothering you then you can simply go and ask people to keep the noise down and I'm sure everyone would understand!

The staff here are great and are super friendly when you get to know them, the ladies are very tactile and almost maternal and we felt really looked after! They always have time for you and we felt that they enjoyed our company as much as we did theirs. We had many a giggle and we would definitely return to the hostel because of their hospitality. The guys are also very funny and sociable, escorting us to the market whenever we needed and they were more than willing to unblock our sink as soon as we had an issue with it and it was no bother at all. WE LOVED THE STAFF and felt that we genuinely made some real friends with all the ladies and Aziss and Brahaim, who are hilarious!

We hope to return again soon because of this great Moroccan hospitality! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The Riad Massin was wonderful, a true Moroccan Jem!! For 4 female friends on a tight budget it was perfect; a beautifully traditional riad with a roof terrace and shisha tent, a lovely en suite room right by the courtyard in the middle of the riad, a tasty breakfast of pancakes, breads with jam, coffee and fresh orange juice for only 22 durans, wonderful staff that made us feel right at home, and only a 20 minute walk from the main square, close to new town's supermarket, a small market selling fresh bread and the train station.

A few things could be improved on. Our bathroom became slightly flooded after showers and the sink blocked. Toilet paper ran out a lot so we bought our own and we had towels given to us but they were not cleaned so we had dirty towels for the whole of our trip. Only our first shisha was free, we had to pay after this and it was often a struggle to get the staff to prepare us one most nights, it was also broken. I would suggest heading out if you would like a shisha!! We were able to help ourselves to ammenities in the kitchen but often cups were dirty. Great that we were more than welcome to wonder in and help ourselves though, we were able to keep our food in the fridge, which was always safe, and could help ourselves to cutlery.

Other than these minor things the Riad Massin was wonderful and the staff were so warm, welcoming and caring. The ladies of the riad took us for a hamam which was an amazing experience, they are so kind, friendly and helpful, wonderful women!! Aziz and Brahim were fun and always chatting, in all the staff made us feel so welcome and safe.

We booked a 2 day excursion at the Riad with MoroccanViews which I would highly recommend, our tour guide and driver were wonderful throughout our trip, a brilliant experience. Included in the price was an evening meal and breakfast, and stop offs along the way meant you could buy lunch and water. Lots of photo opportunities too! During the desert trip our bags were kept on us at all times and we always felt safe.

The Riad Massin is perfect for friends and individuals as the hostel is very social and can be quite lively. Be aware that all rooms are shared with 2 bunk beds and most rooms do not have an en suite. All rooms also look over the courtyard which can get quite noisy late at night and early in the morning but we were the closest room and did not find it too unsettling. We met lots of brilliant people during our stay and were able to socialise on the terrace and in the courtyard.

For the price this is a wonderful hostel, beautiful and great for those wishing to experience the less touristy side of Morocco, would recommend to anyone and hope to visit again.

Rhiannon Davies, 22, Cardiff

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Massin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Massin

Address: 48 Derb Sidi Mohammed OulHaj | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Massin is a magnificent 19th-century Riad, it stands alongside the ramparts (historical wall surrounding Medina) of Marrakech. Our beautiful Riad is located just a few minutes away from the famous Jamae alfnae square and the souks. It stands just ten yards away from the historic Bab Doukala gate, and offers direct access to motor vehicles (attended parking available). With its inventive and delicate cuisine, this magical Riad is the ideal place to degustate the delicious flavours of Morocco. You can relax in the patio with the fountain sounds or on the terrace, and enjoy the unbeatable quietness of the Red City and the snow-covered Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Massin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Massin Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Massin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.