We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chillout at the new riad massin 2” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Massin

Save Saved
You added Riad Massin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Massin
48 Derb Sidi Mohammed El Haj | Bab Doukala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 182 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Chillout at the new riad massin 2”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Allocated next door to riad Massin , The new added section Riad Massin 2 is worth checking out . Very light , airy , very quiet . The magnificient grand entrance is a jaw dropping experience. Extreme grandiose Moroccan wooden handcrafted designs are flowing throughout the riad , the foyer impressive size chandelier is simply the center point with a large swimming pool with enough chilllout space for the extreme heated summer months.
The riad has air conditioning , free wifi including access to a laptop, all bedrooms are superbly ensuite bathroom with clean towels and bedding including locker cabinet ,wardrobe, air conditioning. Its quiet , allowing a good night sleep .
A very large salon with an oversize fireplace , oppulent lanterns , seating and resting area is perfect for enjoying a lush mint the or simply reading a book. The riad has a dinner , a kitchen and a superb terrace overviewing Marrakech , plenty of little corners , loungers and a delightful shower with a shower head the size of a plate .
Available : Laundry facility / Trips organised by Moroccanview ask the manager .
Riad massin is a great place and i feel very safe there . Thank you again to all at riad massin

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    18
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
4
6
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

The hostel has a really unsafe location, it takes 20 minutes to reach the main square and me and my friend had all the time people following us. Even the police told us that after 22:00 it was dangerous to be there, that we needed to get a taxi, the only problem is that even the taxi can’t reach the hostel, you have to walk through really narrow and dark streets. The other problem is the rooms, there is a living room and the rooms are around it, so you can’t sleep (And I went to bed at 2:00). Early in the morning people have breakfast so again the same problem. It’s the first time in my life that after the first night I decide to go somewhere else!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

A taste of Riad feeling with a nice courtyard in a convenient location. Very friendly staff; you are greeted with a chat and a mint tea, which makes you feel very welcome. Good value, definitely recommendable, although the dorm rooms could be a bit more spacious for my taste. The lockers are also not large enough to fit a backpack, or anything above a purse, for that matter. Also make sure to get directions, the place is a bit hard to find on your own, and don't be bullied by tauts, who can be a serious pest upon entering the medina.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I just wanted to express my gratitude for all the staff at the Riad Massin. i just wish I could have spent more time there. The location is cool and the staff are excellent. It was a great experience overall.

A special thanks to brendan, who was great and assisted me long after I left Morocco. Its a long story that turned out well. If i return to Marrakech, i will definitely stop by the Riad Massin.

Happy new Year to all.

pd

Room Tip: chose if you can upstairs, a little more quiet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly English girl who told us about Marrakesh and offered us a map and easy directions to the medina. We were given mint tea to drink while they prepared our rooms.

The rooms were small but pleasant and though the air conditioning was not strong, it was enough for the heat of Marrakesh.
They helped us whenever we need assistance and the staff were very friendly and hospitable. The Riad was well kept and clean.

The showers are pretty basic but no complaints.

I would recommend this Riad to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

The annex is better next door. The staff is friendly and the tea they brought us when we arrived was a nice touch. The rooms are clean enough in the main hostel but our air conditioner didn't work(which is unbearable) right and the bathroom that we were to use had a stopped up drain that was horrible not to mention only running cold water.

And it's very noisy if people are talking during bedtime. The voices carry from the common area. ARGH!!!!

Again, the staff was really nice though. We went on a one night/2 day desert trip and they kept our stuff for us (Free of charge) and when we got back they moved us over to the "annex" (same owner) which was AWESOME. It's really affordable to stay here so I would recommend it BUT request a room in the annex.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

This is a hostel so expect some noise at night, not that it stopped me from sleeping thankfully! The breakfast was really really cheap and very nice. There was only a small locker to put valuables into and they are a bit rickety so my advice would be don't take anything you would be devastated to get pinched, not that I had any worries about the other people in the room with me, but you never can tell when staying somewhere like this. The Moroccan guys that worked in the hostel where great, very helpful.... However the English girl that greeted us upon arrival was frankly bizarre! She was very very hard to talk to, in fact at times she completely ignored direct questions asked of her... She was very very strange indeed. Also if your a fan of your privacy this is not the place for you, there was no lock at all on the bathroom door and ineffectual locks on the bedroom doors, only one of the two windows had a curtain. Great location though, much easier to find compared with other riads we stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Massin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Massin

Address: 48 Derb Sidi Mohammed El Haj | Bab Doukala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 182 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Massin is a magnificent 19th-century Riad, it stands alongside the ramparts (historical wall surrounding Medina) of Marrakech. Our beautiful Riad is located just a few minutes away from the famous Jamae alfnae square and the souks. It stands just ten yards away from the historic Bab Doukala gate, and offers direct access to motor vehicles (attended parking available). With its inventive and delicate cuisine, this magical Riad is the ideal place to degustate the delicious flavours of Morocco. You can relax in the patio with the fountain sounds or on the terrace, and enjoy the unbeatable quietness of the Red City and the snow-covered Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Massin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Massin Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Massin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.