We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciel d'Afrique Hot Air Ballooning

Ciel d'Afrique Hot Air Ballooning
Imm. Ali. Entree B, 2eme etage, Appt. 7 | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 524 43 28 43
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 529 Activities in Marrakech
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Morocco is a marvellous country. The Hot Air Ballooning is the average ideal to discover of it the secrecies and the heat of its inhabitants, Ciel d'Afrique Hot Air Ballooning over Morocco since 1990.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We did a trip with Ciel d'Afrique in September 2013. The crew were very professional, the pilot had a great sense of humour and we felt that we were in VERY good hands. All safety procedures were carefully explained. We were also accompanied by a new member to the Ciel d'Afrique team, a delightful lady who will be a great asset to the company. Going up to around 1000 metres gave a fantastic view of the area surrounding Marrakech, including the goat herders from the local village. The breakfast provided by the villagers was also lovely (and very welcome after an early start). We have been raving to our friends about this trip. Aine and Rob

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    6
    2
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A lovely way to see a different side of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Hot air ballooning gives another perspective on this hectic city, and is a great addition to a visit to Marrakech. Our flight was preceded by a memorable ride on probably the tamest camel in Morocco, and Captain Maurice kept us entertained during the flight with tales of ballooning adventures while all the time explaining what we were seeing on the ground. Ciel D'Afrique provided a highly professional and friendly service and our flight was a lovely contrast to the buzz of the city. There is only the small matter of a very early start!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great flight and awesome landing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We went balooning with Ciel d'Afrique for my boyfriends fortieth birthday. We found the service wonderful. They'd contacted our Riad before we arrived to ensure a good place to pick us up. We booked direct and didn't have to pay a cent until we were collected.

The pilot was great - he was clearly well trained and knew what he was doing.

A wonderful experience that I'll hopefully do again sometime.

I would recommend this comapny to anybody!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excellent morning. No extras added on, just an amazing hot air balloon, and a simple breakfast in a local house. No camel rides or tourist shops - just what we wanted. Would highly recommend.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience - Just Be Sure to Pay Ahead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our balloon ride was arranged by our Riad upon arrival in Marrakech. We were thrilled to know we could fly the very next day and tore ourselves out of bed at 4:30am to meet the driver.

We were shuttled out to the desert and watched the team inflate the huge balloon, entertained by the gorgeous rising sun and occasional sheep herd passing by.

Once ready, we lifted off and had a breathtaking ride. Our pilot, Daniel, was extremely professional and we felt incredibly safe in his care. After the ride, we were delighted to be invited to a local woman's home to enjoy mint tea and flat bread.

Our only difficulty: we were told they accepted credit cards. After the trip was over, we were told payment was due and we handed over our cards. With a quizzical look, Daniel said he "would try" and drove us to a nearby gas station to attempt to hook up his portable credit card machine. When it didn't seem to work, we were then driven to an ATM to withdraw cash.

Upon our return home, we realized the credit card charge HAD gone through and we'd paid double for the ride.

After several emails to both our Riad and Ciel d'Afrique, we finally were told we'd be issued a refund. As of yet, we've seen nothing, but we know this place to be reputable and trust a refund is soon to come.

Bottom line: I'd highly recommend this company for a once-in-a-lifetime experience, just be sure to either pay ahead of time or bring enough cash.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciel d'Afrique Hot Air Ballooning also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ciel d'Afrique Hot Air Ballooning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciel d'Afrique Hot Air Ballooning, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.