We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad, fantastic location, perfect hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Andalla

Save Saved
You added Riad Andalla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Andalla
15 Derb Zaari | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 1,055 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful riad, fantastic location, perfect hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My fiance and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at Riad Andalla and had an excellent time.

Firstly, Christophe is brilliant; charming, welcoming and friendly. He really makes you feel at home.

The location is perfect, just on the edge of the square so you can go from the cool, quiet of the riad to the madness of life in Marrakech in no time. For me this was ideal; it was super hot and of course very busy, so it was nice to be able to nip back to the riad, cool down, have a drink, calm down....and then head back out again.

All of the staff were lovely, from Christophe and Andre, Younes (sorry about spelling!) who was a brilliant waiter and very friendly, to the ladies maintaining the rooms, which were always spotless.

We ate at the riad 1 night and the food was very good. A tasty 3 course meal with the option of wine also, on the rooftop.

The staff are happy to advise you on where to eat, what to see, how much to expect to pay for things, how to get to places, but this does not impact on your own discovery of the city, just enhances it.

All in all Andalla felt like a home from home, like you were visiting friends at their beautiful house, exactly what we wanted from our stay in Marrakech.

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite Chems which was very well appointed and more than large enough with good faciliti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,087
    71
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
168
578
76
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I am a big fan of researching a property prior to travel on tripadvisor and I know some people can moan about the tiniest things. But Riad Andalla was no exception. Not only were the reviews 100% correct, but I was so thankful to have booked this Riad in such an amazing location, It was perfect for us.

Location 10/10 - Bang on the square plus the views from the terrace mean you can watch the hustle and bustle from a distance when you are tired!

Service/Hospitality 10/10 - All staff I met were so polite, helpful, friendly and there isn't even a lock on your door so it shows how safe and secure you will feel. Christophe the owner was superb at recommending where to go, questions etc.. Really nice guy!

Breakfast - Simple, what you need to keep you going till lunch and the bread selection differed from day to day.

Room 10/10 - Really cute. It is small but what more do you need? Immaculately cleaned daily, hot water on tap and beautifully decorated with a co-ordinating fez!

It is for the money, spot on. Really happy!

I truly recommend this property to anyone :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed at the Riad Andalla as a 50th birthday surprise and, at the end of a day of surprises it was a crowning achievement. The riad is 'traditional chic', basic but pleasantly relaxing and Christophe and his staff are helpful and attentive without being obtrusive.

My partner was in email contact with Christophe for weeks before our arrival and was able to arrange taxi pickup from the airport - this is a convenient arrangement and one which I would recommend for any first-time visitor. Once there, Christophe is always on hand to recommend, suggest or arrange anything from restaurants, museums, excursions or places of interest.

All in all I would not hesitate to visit the Andalla again.

Room Tip: Be prepared for a small room with en-suite. You shall also be aware that there a no locks on the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much at Riad Andalla. Thank you Christophe for such a warm and friendly welcoming!! Loved the renovated Riad, the food and staff were all wonderful. We felt very safe comfortable. Christophe gave us great advice about where to eat, where and what NOT to eat, and also directions to get around and back to the hotel. The location is great and we enjoyed breakfast from the top of the Riad where you can overlook the Jemaa el-Fnaa square (also amazing to see at night from here - we were there on a weekend night). We would highly recommend Riad Andalla and would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We got off the plane and a driver was waiting to take us to Riad Andalla where, after winding our way through a maze of alleys, we were warmly greeted Christophe and staff with mint tea, cookies and an extremely helpful and entertaining orientation of Marrakech. Dinner on the rooftop terrace overlooking Djemma El Fna, was our best meal on Marrakech! The Riad is charming, comfortable and in a perfect location, and the whole team graciously took care of us. Christophe has a wealth of knowledge about the area, and is a great resource. We enjoyed our day trip to the Atlas Mountains too. If you are lucky enough to visit Marrakech, this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Me and my mother stayed here for 3 brilliant nights on may/2013.
Since the moment we set foot on Riad Andalla from the moment we left, we were treated like members of the family.
Christophe, Andre and their lovely crew were more than happy to provide us with first class service and arrange everything we needed.
The location is perfect, really close do Djemaa El Fna (you can see it from their terrace, which I understand is something unique for a riad in Marrakech), but not so much that the noise bothers you, we slept like babies every night.
I strongly recommend their dinner service, which was one of the best meals we had in Marrakech. Do not miss it.
All in all, a great experience which I hope to repeat soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights with my girlfriend last June, and it couldn't be a better choice. Location is spot on, just close to Djemaa El Fna right at the center of the Medina. Some might argue and complain about the noise that comes from the streets at night, but I think that's just part of the experience. The view from the terrace is incredible, on of the best sunsets in Marrakech's and the terrace itself is a great place to chill out in the afternoon, sipping a mint tea and resting the bones after a day in Souqs, or just to enjoy breakfast (which is included) and getting ready for the day. The staff is extremely helpful and gave us a very warm welcoming. Christophe, the owner, and the guys (Andrea, Younes did I get the names right?) were always available to help us out giving us information and all sorts of tips about restaurants, places to visit, transportation, etc. that were essential for us to enjoy even more our trip to Marrakech.
You can book a transfer straight from the airport to the Riad, we were also able to book a tour to Ourika Valley and visit the waterfalls with a driver and guide included during our stay.
The rooms are very clean and beautifully decorated (as the entire Riad, by the way). We stayed at a kind of small one but there are bigger ones on the other floors, and we really didn't mind the space as it was very confortable.
Totally recommend Riad Andalla, specially for couples who seek a romantic escape. Perfect location, excellent staff, clean and confortable rooms and a typical Moroccan ambience for a very considerable price. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Andalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Andalla

Address: 15 Derb Zaari | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 1,055 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional House, Riad Andalla, typically charming and full of Moroccan warm and friendly, is ideally situated on the famous, mythical and magical Djemaa el Fna, at the gates of the souks and the center of many historic monuments. Riad Andalla has 6 rooms and 2 suites decorated with passion and originality, and has the most beautiful terrace in Marrakech: Riad Andalla offers a unique view, unique and the Treasures of Marrakech, such as the Djemaa el Fna, the archetype of Islamic monuments, the Koutoubia and the majestic mountains of the Atlas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Andalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Andalla Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Andalla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.