We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fabulous... the best hosts ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Andalla

Save Saved
You added Riad Andalla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Andalla
15 Derb Zaari | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #21 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Portsmouth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just fabulous... the best hosts ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were delighted with our room which was quite magical in opulent textures of reds and gold. Having stayed in four different riads, I can say that Riad Andalla had the most comfortable bed of all. But what really strikes you is the generosity and love for their guests bestowed by the hosts Christophe and Andre - you could not be made to feel more welcomed - it is as if you are the guests of your oldest and dearest friends who are absolutely thrilled to see you again and share in their delightful home. It is worth staying at least one night in this fabulous riad just to experience their kindness. In such a bustling and sometimes overwhelming city, it is wonderful to have such friends at hand - you are made to feel that they would do anything for you to ensure your visit was perfect. We shall never forget them and their colourful riad. We must also mention Yunis who served us delicious mint tea and pastries on arrival, and is a real asset and compliment to the staff, who were all kind and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,073
    70
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
165
568
73
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The best thing about this Riad is its superb location a few seconds walk from the main square. My daughters and I had a triple room which was nice enough though quite small. Breakfast comprised bread and jam and pancakes which were ok. I have nothing to complain about this place, it,s just that it,s not anything particularly special. We later moved to a different Riad which was!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Great place with lovely roof terrace overlooking the main square. Very friendly staff. Had booked one room for me and my young family, but they kindly gave us a second room for free. They Even gave us a great breakfast in spite of having to leave hotel for airport at 7 am

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were welcomed with a nice mint tee and received very helpful and friendly advice from Christophe about where to go and what to see in Marrakech. Our room was charmingly decorated and clean. Another highlight was the terrasse and the nice breakfast we enjoyed there. The location of the riad is also extremely convenient. Altogether we had a great stay and would definitely come back to this great riad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I'd love to give this riad a 3.5, but since I can't I'll give it a 3/5.

Christophe and crew are really great and communicate all the info you need. With all riads in Morocco, get directions to where you are going or have someone come and meet you. We arranged a transfer from the airport with the riad, and the driver was waiting as expected.

Because the riad is in the medina near the square, you have to walk the last bit or have your bags taken by chariot.

The room was a bit dark (it was a blue one) but the shower was good, the decor exotic, and the staff were very attentive. There are no locks on any of the doors, and no safes, so if you have something very expensive, you might want to leave it with Christophe. It did feel very safe though because there are always people about.

The thing that makes this place special are the owners. They give good information on the area, and are always available to help. Breakfasts are good as well. On our final night with Riad Andalla, a really lovely dinner was organized, probably the best we had in Morocco.

I would recommend Riad Andalla in spite of its small imperfections.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in late February for two nights. Christophe was very helpful and welcoming and the Riad is beautifully furnished and comfortable. We felt very at home and found Christophe exceedingly useful with tips for eating etc. What made the trip for us was the location of the Riad - it is so central and the roof terrace has a great view of the main square, which is really special. It's lovely to be so close to such a buzzy area and breakfasting while watching the square wake up was a real treat. That said, the Riad was calm and quiet and I had no trouble sleeping. Our room was fairly small and could get chilly (the heater didn't work but we didn't complain as it wasn't v cold) but happy to have a smaller room as we were so central and, as Londoners, we were used to it anyway. I would recommend the Riad to anyone who was visiting for a short stay as it means you are right in the action, while very comfy and well looked after!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Pros: People (Christophe, Younis and Andre) were all great as well as all the staff and location - very central and close to all the main attractions. Cons: very, very small damp room with a tiny bathroom and uncomfortable bed - quite cramped and the Riad is down a little alley (which did not feel safe at night). This is basic accommodation and you are paying the price for the location and hospitality. We only stayed one night but could not have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Andalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Andalla

Address: 15 Derb Zaari | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional House, Riad Andalla, typically charming and full of Moroccan warm and friendly, is ideally situated on the famous, mythical and magical Djemaa el Fna, at the gates of the souks and the center of many historic monuments. Riad Andalla has 6 rooms and 2 suites decorated with passion and originality, and has the most beautiful terrace in Marrakech: Riad Andalla offers a unique view, unique and the Treasures of Marrakech, such as the Djemaa el Fna, the archetype of Islamic monuments, the Koutoubia and the majestic mountains of the Atlas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Andalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Andalla Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Andalla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.