We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay in atmospheric, prime location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Andalla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Andalla to your Saves list
Riad Andalla
15 Derb Zaari | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Memorable stay in atmospheric, prime location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in late February for two nights. Christophe was very helpful and welcoming and the Riad is beautifully furnished and comfortable. We felt very at home and found Christophe exceedingly useful with tips for eating etc. What made the trip for us was the location of the Riad - it is so central and the roof terrace has a great view of the main square, which is really special. It's lovely to be so close to such a buzzy area and breakfasting while watching the square wake up was a real treat. That said, the Riad was calm and quiet and I had no trouble sleeping. Our room was fairly small and could get chilly (the heater didn't work but we didn't complain as it wasn't v cold) but happy to have a smaller room as we were so central and, as Londoners, we were used to it anyway. I would recommend the Riad to anyone who was visiting for a short stay as it means you are right in the action, while very comfy and well looked after!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,323
    88
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
210
684
91
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
119 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Pros: People (Christophe, Younis and Andre) were all great as well as all the staff and location - very central and close to all the main attractions. Cons: very, very small damp room with a tiny bathroom and uncomfortable bed - quite cramped and the Riad is down a little alley (which did not feel safe at night). This is basic accommodation and you are paying the price for the location and hospitality. We only stayed one night but could not have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Trust the good reviews.
I've stayed here 3 times now, and every time it gets better.
Christophe and Andre are the perfect hosts, at the Riad every morning and evening, more than willing to help with whatever you need - from shopping for slippers to arranging a trip to the Sahara. I followed their recommendation to Pepe Nero restaurant, and have now dined there 4 times. The rest of the staff are very polite and helpful, nothing too much trouble, nice genuine people.
The location is so very easy from the main square, and in a safe area. Absolutely perfect, with the big bonus of a view over the square from the rooftop terrace. (watch the chaos with a glass of wine in your hand).
To try and give a balanced review, I've racked my brains trying to think of a downside. The only downside I can think of is the rooms are a little small, but considering your location in Marrakech and the view from the terrace, it represents outstanding value for money. The downstairs patio and lounge are nice areas to relax in, so you wouldn't want to be in your room anyway. Typical Riads have small bedrooms, and this is a typical Marrakech Riad.
The quality of sleep is great, no traffic or street noise at all. Always hot water. air con if you need it.
Really, unless you want the 'marble palace' style riad, don't hesitate to book this - It's super friendly helpful staff will really help you get whatever you want from your visit, and it wont cost the earth.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Fun place, fun owners and ideal location. The Riad is just behind cafe de France, off the Jema el Fina square and the noicefactor! From the roof terrace the view is highly entertaining and in the mornings when the excellent breakfast is served, a haven of peace and quiet.
The rooms, relatively small but colorful and comfortable are very reasonably priced and there is parking (and porters) just accross the square.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My family and I have just returned from a very enjoyable stay at the Riad Andalla (my wife and I plus my parents). I can only echo what the other favourable reviews have said. The Riad is excellently located and the rooftop terrace not only enjoys great views but is a comfortable and relaxing place to escape the medina. The rooms are cosy and really well decorated and the communal areas are very nicely done. Breakfasts are good (pancakes, breads and the same great orange juice you can find in the Jemaa el fna). The recommedations and contacts for food and trips are also well worth listening too (we had a very enjoyable trip into the Atlas mountains). Best of all though are Christophe, Andre, Younis and the rest of the staff. They are always cheerful, enthuiastic and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they go the extra mile to make sure your stay is special. They also respond very quickly to email questions prior to our trip. In short, they have done a fastastic job turning this Riad into a 'must stay' place in Marrakech and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others as we would stay here again the next time we visit this great city.

Matt and family (UK)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordes-sur-Ciel, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

For great hospitality and an ideal situation, it's hard to beat this stylish riad in the centre of Marrakesh, with its roof terrace overlooking the Jema el Fnaa. The welcome from the owners, André and Christophe, immediately made us feel at home, as we stepped in from the winding alleyways into the Riad Andalla. Breakfast in the roof terrace was the ideal way to start the day in this hectic and fascinating city, and our beautifully decorated room was just the place to relax and recover after a foray out into the streets. If you want to experience the real Marrakesh, give the 5-star hotels a miss, and come to this great riad in the city's vibrant heart.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I´ve never been to Marrakech before, and my stay started with a mint tea at this riad. I must say that I was received very well by the people in Riad Andalla. My room was in excellent condition and it was a very nice room, decorated in Morocco style. The breakfast is another great stuff from this Riad. You enjoy it with a great view from square Jemaa al Fna. Christophe gave me excellent tips from Marrakech to make my trip better. The location of this Riad is privileged. I'll be back to this Riad as soon as I can.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#13 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#21 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#7 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Magellan
Riad Magellan
#90 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 878 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Princesse du Desert
Riad Princesse du Desert
#41 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Sohane
Riad Dar Sohane
#169 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Andalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Andalla

Address: 15 Derb Zaari | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional House, Riad Andalla, typically charming and full of Moroccan warm and friendly, is ideally situated on the famous, mythical and magical Djemaa el Fna, at the gates of the souks and the center of many historic monuments. Riad Andalla has 6 rooms and 2 suites decorated with passion and originality, and has the most beautiful terrace in Marrakech: Riad Andalla offers a unique view, unique and the Treasures of Marrakech, such as the Djemaa el Fna, the archetype of Islamic monuments, the Koutoubia and the majestic mountains of the Atlas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Andalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Andalla Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Andalla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.