We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for the Marrakech experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Andalla

Save Saved
You added Riad Andalla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Andalla
15 Derb Zaari | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #31 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location for the Marrakech experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I had booked a long weekend stay at the Riad Andalla as a surprise 50th birthday for my partner. I had visited Marrakech 10 years ago and I wanted to show him the unique flavour and experience of Marrakech that had ‘wowed’ me all those years ago, in the short time that we had. For this reason I wanted an authentic Moroccan Riad, (rather than a hotel) with a view over the Djemaa el Fna Square at the heart of Marrakech where all the ‘action’ was. Riad Andalla ticked all of those boxes and more.

Communication with Christophe, the proprietor, was always prompt and efficient throughout the booking process and he was the perfect host when we arrived, taking time to orientate us with maps and directions to places of interest and also advising on a variety of places to eat. This was valuable advice and in a chaotic city such a Marrakech, really did put us at our ease and gave us the confidence to just get out there and enjoy it!

The Riad itself was completely charming and the staff always friendly and helpful. The rooms might be considered a little small in comparison to some European hotels, but remember, this is a Riad (guesthouse) in a fantastic location and we found it perfectly adequate for our needs. The linen and towels were very clean and we had terrific hot showers.

We ate on the roof top terrace for our first evening meal (complete with birthday candle!) and for breakfasts which were simple but delicious; bread, pancakes and jams, fresh orange juice and coffee. The closeness of the Riad to Djemaa el Fna was not just great for the views over the square from the roof top terrace but also on more than one occasion we were grateful to be able to nip back to our ’bolt hole’ to draw breath after the ‘souk experience’ before venturing out again.

In summary, the combination of the ambiance, the location and Chistophe’s hospitality made this the perfect weekend that I had hoped for and I would have no hesitation in recommending Riad Andalla to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,076
    70
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
168
572
76
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

After being to one too many impersonal big-chain hotels, it was a wonderful change to stay at Riad Andalla. It was exactly what we wanted. More than the location, which is amazing (1 block away from Djema-el-Fnaa square,a two minute walk), the very clean rooms and the affordable price, what we liked the most about this riad was enjoying the company of Cristophe and Andre. For absolutely everything we wanted to do they either took care of it personally or gave us the best advice. We were a large party and had to do some last-minute changes to our reservation (add and extra bed, take one night off) which they helped us with very diligently. Each morning Andre helped us shape our itinerary and gave us excellent dining tips. In such a hectic place as Marrakech having their orientation made our experience a million times better. DO NOT dare purchase anything without asking their opinion first. If Andre says you are being asked too much, trust us, you are. During our stay in Morocco we ate a lot of typical moroccan food (tagine, couscous) but the best couscous definitly was Andre's.
Even though it is just near the main square, once you make the first turn into a little alley that leads to the Riad, it gets very quiet, and so the rooms are very quiet (except very early in the morning the first call to prayer is very loudly heard). We stayed at suite Chems which was incredible. It's the one with more light of the rooms we saw. The beds are very comfortable and the everything is nice and clean.
Breakfast was served in the terrace. Even though it was very cold in the mornings, you do get some sun and have a great view of the square were you can see all the action begin once again. The breakfast was very good also (coffee/ tea/ chocolate milk, orange juice and two different types of bread which were different each day). We particularly loved the one that was like a vanilla spongecake and regretted later in the day not having eaten it all.
Also, we travelled with our 7 year old daughter and we can say that this is definitely a child-friendly riad. She felt right at home. Everyone was very nice to her and made her feel great!
Do not hesitate to book this lovely Riad.
Thanks again to Andre, Christophe, and all the staff from Riad Andalla!

Room Tip: Suite Chems is the best room (Window with view to the square) but be prepared for call to prayer at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Everything has been said already, but two main things are very worth being
repeated. First, the riad is absolutely nice, clean and in an ideal position to
live the best of Marrakech. of course if you are ready to pay 3-4times as much
you might get more space or more luxurious rooms...but this is quite normal i
think. Everywhere!
Second thing: every person working in the riad is absolutely nice and super
kind. On top, in a country where each time you ask a direction in the street 10
people try to bring you to their cousin or neighbour and to sell you something
at a crazy price, the suggestions and recommendations Christophe gives you with
NO second interest, allowing you to get the best out of a couple of days in
town, are totally priceless!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at Riad Andalla for our December holiday based on reviews from Tripadvisor and we were not dissapointed! Christophe, Andre & the rest of the team were very accomodating & helpful and we really enjoyed our stay there. The location of the Riad is also great as almost everything we wanted to see and do was within walking distance of the Riad. The view of the market and snow capped Atlas mountains was also incredible!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I don't know why people have ranked this a 5. It's not a 5. The rooms are small, old and dirty, the food is OK, the staff are nice. I would suggest that this is a hotel to stay in if you are on a tight budget. If you have more money spend it on the more luxurious places which maybe are not ranked as highly, but are exceedingly superior to this place in terms, service, luxury, cleanliness, quiet and food. Location is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadandalla, Propriétaire at Riad Andalla, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
I'm surprised by this review written in January 2013 for a stay in August 2012. In addition, thank you for your good review about the staff, the food and the location.
Moreover, note that Riad Andalla not claim to be a 5 star, but only a guesthouse, classified "excellent" by 700 reviews.
It would have been preferable that you chose a luxury hotel or a palace corresponding to your expectations.
Best regards
Christophe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manotick, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This beautiful riad is in the perfect location next to Djemaa el Fna. We were made to feel very welcome by Christophe & André who were attentive to our every need, tour guide, great food, plugs! etc…... Also when we had had rental car problems Christophe helped us sort out the issue.

Looking forward to another visit one day soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
224 hotel reviews
Reviews in 198 cities Reviews in 198 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I've twice stayed in Riads in Marrakech - they have been lovely but difficult to get to and from. Riad Andalla is in a different ball game: tucked behind the Cafe De Paris 5 minutes from the Djemma down narrow but lit alleys. We stayed in a junior suite on the 1st floor - a long narrow room with double bed and a red divan. The bed was very comfy. There was no table but a closet - and the floor was carpetted. There was a good strong shower and a toilet behind a curtain. It had heating. There were no locks to the room or a safe - everything was on trust. There was a large communal area and seats on each floor. The Wifi was good but only worked downstairs. Breakfast was on the roof, three stories up with brilliant views of the Square. Breakfast itself was average: the first day we were given deep fried donuts - my cholesterol count went through the roof just looking at them. On the other days there were Moroccan crepes. Great orange juice but weak coffee. We never ate in the Riad but did visit the expensive but lovely restaurant on the way to the Riad in the first alley. Overall a great place to stay but you are paying for the location

Room Tip: If you are not very fit go for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Andalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Andalla

Address: 15 Derb Zaari | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional House, Riad Andalla, typically charming and full of Moroccan warm and friendly, is ideally situated on the famous, mythical and magical Djemaa el Fna, at the gates of the souks and the center of many historic monuments. Riad Andalla has 6 rooms and 2 suites decorated with passion and originality, and has the most beautiful terrace in Marrakech: Riad Andalla offers a unique view, unique and the Treasures of Marrakech, such as the Djemaa el Fna, the archetype of Islamic monuments, the Koutoubia and the majestic mountains of the Atlas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Andalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Andalla Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Andalla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.