We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary from the square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Andalla

Save Saved
You added Riad Andalla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Andalla
15 Derb Zaari | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #20 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sanctuary from the square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

If you are looking to stay close to all the action of Marrakech medina then I would highly recommend a stay at Riad Andalla. We were made to feel very welcome during our stay here, from before we had even arrived!

Before we arrived we emailed Christophe, the owner, to ask for directions to the riad (although it is located next to the square, the entrance was down a few alleyways) and we also made dinner reservations as well. Christophe replied promptly and was ready to greet us when we arrived at the riad. He provided us with mint tea on the rooftop terrace and gave us a map and told us some information of places to visit and recommended some restaurants to have lunch later that day.

Our room was one of the suites and had beautiful traditional decor and although the riad is on the square and you can hear the sounds of the snake charmers and drummers during the day, there is no disturbance at night, so we slept very well.

Dinner was served downstairs in the patio lounge, by the fountain. It was a little too quiet for my liking but the food was pretty tasty. Breakfast was included in the price and served up on the rooftop terrace with views over the Djemma el fna square. The views from the terrace were what attracted us to this riad in particular and it was nice to see the action of the square from a viewpoint.

Although our stay at Riad Andalla was brief, I would definitely recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Check out the riad's website to see images and descriptions of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,075
    70
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
168
570
76
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I had the chance to visit Marakech in November 2012 ... I went to Riad Andalla, first "by hazard", now it will be for sure the " spot to be " for ever !!! it's a fantastic and wonderfull Riad. I did discover a warm and sweet Riad, so wonderfull, so clean and delicious. As example : the room (suite Bachahamou) is so beautifull and delicious, warm ambiance. the breakfast is fantastic : each day a new cake, new taste, new marmelate, and fresh orange juice ... after 5 days still surprise. You can also take place at the Riad to enjoy a delicious couscous cooked only for you on the penthouse of the Riad !!! Riad Andalla is real dream for any one who want to appreciate life ... The price is incredible as so low with a high level of services like a 4stars hotel in Paris or in London. Thanks so much for this AMAZING RIAD !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edegem, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Perfect location, right next to 'la place'. The riad has a fantastic sunroof with a view of 'la place', the roofs of Marrakech and the High Atlas mountain range in the far distance. Breakfast on the sunroof with a view of the mountains every morning... what a way to start to day! And last but not least, André and Christophe are excellent hosts with a lot of good 'insider' tips for Marrakech. I stayed in 3 riads during my stay in Marrakech; if I would visit again, this would definitely my number 1 pick.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

With it's discreet but very central location and rooftop overlooking the lights of the biggest market square in Marrakech it was an ideal location for our first visit to Morocco. The staff we're very welcoming and treated us as guests in their home, giving us freedom to roam and helping us with every aspect of our stay: places to eat, things to do, things to see and made our experience ideal. It's also within very short walking distance of a lot of other markets and a 10 minute (and very cheap) cab ride to the new town with all the modern, less traditional things to do and see. The rooms are cosy and very traditional, truly making you feel like you are a guest in someone's home, the breakfast was nice and moroccan, very accommodating, allowing us to make requests for what we wanted. We really warmed to all the staff there and we're sad to have left them but will always remember our experience and will definitely return there whenever next we are in Morocco!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you are looking for a centrally located place to stay in the Marrakech Medina, you should absolutely book Riad Andalla. The Riad is hosted by Christophe who makes the most to ensure a pleasant stay in a friendly atmosphere.
The view from the terrasse over the Djema al-Fna square is stunning but make sure you also spend a couple of hours on the square during the night where the square really comes alive with Berber music, local trader and food stand.
Finally a thanks to the staff who got up before dawn to make me breakfast on the day I left. That really made my day.
Overall a very pleasant stay and if you are looking to stay in a traditional Riad centrally located in Marrakech this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Sometimes I read reviews and think it may be too good to be true. Not here! Every positive review is well deserved and true.
Fabulous location - very close to main square, but the noise doesn't carry. The Riad is very peaceful! Terrace at night looking onto the square is amazing!
Would advise that you take up their airport/bus station transfer, as it is easy to find once you have be shown, but you may struggle otherwise.
Hosts are fantastic! Very, very helpful! Nothing seem like too much effort for them! Christophe even managed to get us booked in for a Morrocan spa treatment when the baths were otherwise full!
Great advise re places to visit/places to eat!
Fantastic Riad! Thanks to everyone there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Me and my husband have just returned from our second visit to Marrakech. It was the first time we had stayed at Riad Andalla but it certainly won't be our last! From the very minute we entered the Riad we were made to feel very welcome and at home. Our room was beautiful with wonderful decor as was the whole Riad. It was very clean. The staff were very friendly and helfpul, and we felt really looked after during our stay. Christophe (the owner) was a real star, recommending a fantastic romantic restaurant one night (even organising a table and a guide to the restaurant) and giving us lots of advice. He certainly made our stay a perfect one, and we loved his humour. The Riad itself was in a brilliant location, just a short walk from the main square and it was lovely to come back to the piece and quiet of the Riad and sit on the roof terrace (which had fantastic views) away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We had an evening meal in the Riad on our first night and this was delicious, would highly recommend this. We met some wonderful people and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Riad Andalla.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Andalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Andalla

Address: 15 Derb Zaari | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional House, Riad Andalla, typically charming and full of Moroccan warm and friendly, is ideally situated on the famous, mythical and magical Djemaa el Fna, at the gates of the souks and the center of many historic monuments. Riad Andalla has 6 rooms and 2 suites decorated with passion and originality, and has the most beautiful terrace in Marrakech: Riad Andalla offers a unique view, unique and the Treasures of Marrakech, such as the Djemaa el Fna, the archetype of Islamic monuments, the Koutoubia and the majestic mountains of the Atlas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Andalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Andalla Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Andalla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.