We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect introduction to Morocco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Andalla

Save Saved
You added Riad Andalla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Andalla
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15 Derb Zaari | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect introduction to Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

With it's discreet but very central location and rooftop overlooking the lights of the biggest market square in Marrakech it was an ideal location for our first visit to Morocco. The staff we're very welcoming and treated us as guests in their home, giving us freedom to roam and helping us with every aspect of our stay: places to eat, things to do, things to see and made our experience ideal. It's also within very short walking distance of a lot of other markets and a 10 minute (and very cheap) cab ride to the new town with all the modern, less traditional things to do and see. The rooms are cosy and very traditional, truly making you feel like you are a guest in someone's home, the breakfast was nice and moroccan, very accommodating, allowing us to make requests for what we wanted. We really warmed to all the staff there and we're sad to have left them but will always remember our experience and will definitely return there whenever next we are in Morocco!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,023
    70
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
158
541
70
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you are looking for a centrally located place to stay in the Marrakech Medina, you should absolutely book Riad Andalla. The Riad is hosted by Christophe who makes the most to ensure a pleasant stay in a friendly atmosphere.
The view from the terrasse over the Djema al-Fna square is stunning but make sure you also spend a couple of hours on the square during the night where the square really comes alive with Berber music, local trader and food stand.
Finally a thanks to the staff who got up before dawn to make me breakfast on the day I left. That really made my day.
Overall a very pleasant stay and if you are looking to stay in a traditional Riad centrally located in Marrakech this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Sometimes I read reviews and think it may be too good to be true. Not here! Every positive review is well deserved and true.
Fabulous location - very close to main square, but the noise doesn't carry. The Riad is very peaceful! Terrace at night looking onto the square is amazing!
Would advise that you take up their airport/bus station transfer, as it is easy to find once you have be shown, but you may struggle otherwise.
Hosts are fantastic! Very, very helpful! Nothing seem like too much effort for them! Christophe even managed to get us booked in for a Morrocan spa treatment when the baths were otherwise full!
Great advise re places to visit/places to eat!
Fantastic Riad! Thanks to everyone there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Me and my husband have just returned from our second visit to Marrakech. It was the first time we had stayed at Riad Andalla but it certainly won't be our last! From the very minute we entered the Riad we were made to feel very welcome and at home. Our room was beautiful with wonderful decor as was the whole Riad. It was very clean. The staff were very friendly and helfpul, and we felt really looked after during our stay. Christophe (the owner) was a real star, recommending a fantastic romantic restaurant one night (even organising a table and a guide to the restaurant) and giving us lots of advice. He certainly made our stay a perfect one, and we loved his humour. The Riad itself was in a brilliant location, just a short walk from the main square and it was lovely to come back to the piece and quiet of the Riad and sit on the roof terrace (which had fantastic views) away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We had an evening meal in the Riad on our first night and this was delicious, would highly recommend this. We met some wonderful people and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Riad Andalla.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Arriving in Marrakech from Casablanca in late October, we realised our Moroccan adventure was only just beginning! Marrakech is truly magical, please do submerge in it's culture and get lost in its maze of souqs. But the most enchanting experience for us was our stay at the Riad Andalla. We are a couple accustomed to staying in big 4star hotels across Europe, Asia and America. So imagine our pleasure when we arrived at the Andalla with its warm reception, unique Moroccan decor, pristine rooms and friendly, attentive staff. Recommended to us by our good French friends who had stayed there previously, our stay was truly magnificent. The French owners, Christophe and Andre are excellent, hilarious hosts and made our stay complete. Do trust their local knowledge and recommendations and u will not be disappointed! Make sure you have a home cooked evening meal at the Andalla and local wine on the roof top terrace with unrivalled views of the Djemaa Al Fna. We were romanced by this secluded, candlelit encounter enjoying a truly fine evening with excellent food that typifies Moroccan cuisine. With 2 French owners how could you go wrong?! Seduced by the charm of the pristine Riad Andalla and the fantastic hospitality of Christophe, Andre and their lovely staff, we will definitely return in the near future. To make your stay in Marrakech complete, make sure you stay at the Riad Andalla. Christophe, Andre merci beaucoup. Mark and Ceri, West Midlands, UK.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our first trip to Marrakesh we had a decision to either stay in a standard hotel outside the Medina or choose a riad in the medina for a more authentic experience. We took a risk and opted for a Riad in the Medina. Turned out there was no risk.
I have never felt more at home and relaxed than when staying in this Riad.....and to think it is located in the heart of one of the most intimidating cities in the World.
Just 50 meteres from the main square. We stayed in the Chems suit. We didn't experience any bad smells from the shower drain. With ears plugs I was not woke up by the early morning call from the Mosque.( and I am a light sleeper)...the power shower was great with hot water within seconds...the air con was a great plus ...the breakfast was fresh produce everyday..
the biggest asset you have in a stay at this Riad, is its owner Christoph...to have an honest local spend 45 minutes with you covering all the highlights of the city for you and most importantly the pitfalls to avoid was simply invaluable...
I look forward to out next stay and thank you so much Christoph for making our stay wonderfull
Congratulations on this Gem you have created.

Room Tip: choose the Chems suit and you get a view of the atlas mountains from your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I had a lovely time at this accommodation. The host (Christophe) was fantastic and he treated us like royalty from minute one. The hotel is ideally located and his initial briefing was very thorough and informative. The room was quaint but perfectly adequate for our three day stay. Clean and a nice breakfast on the terrace every morning was a joy. Just stay here you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Andalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Andalla

Also Known As:
Riad Andalla Hotel Marrakech
Riad Andalla Hotel
Address: 15 Derb Zaari | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Andalla 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional House, Riad Andalla, typically charming and full of Moroccan warm and friendly, is ideally situated on the famous, mythical and magical Djemaa el Fna, at the gates of the souks and the center of many historic monuments. Riad Andalla has 6 rooms and 2 suites decorated with passion and originality, and has the most beautiful terrace in Marrakech: Riad Andalla offers a unique view, unique and the Treasures of Marrakech, such as the Djemaa el Fna, the archetype of Islamic monuments, the Koutoubia and the majestic mountains of the Atlas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Andalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Andalla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.