We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Andalla - Best value for money in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Andalla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Andalla to your Saves list
Riad Andalla
15 Derb Zaari | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Riad Andalla - Best value for money in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed here in April 2012. We were met at the airport, and taken to the Riad. Located right next to the main square, the location could not have been better - certainly very easy to find. The rooms were great, clean and well presented, and very quiet at night. No buzzing motorbikes or noise from kids in street, which has kept me awake at night in other riads.
The terrace was fantastic - the brilliant view over the square was a treat.
Hosts Christopher and Andre were so friendly and helpful, we really could not have wished for more. They arranged taxis, restaurants, day trip to waterfalls. The perfect hosts. (They even serve nice wine and local beer).
Having stayed in a number of riads in Marrakech, this one really stands out as the absolute best value for money.
Look no further, you wont find better for price/location/hospitality.
When next in Marrakech, I wont be staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, don't hesitate, just book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,321
    88
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
210
683
91
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We spent three nights at the Riad Andalla and cannot say how grateful we were for the wonderful atmosphere that Christophe and Andre have created in their Riad. They gave some fantastic tips for restaraunts and an indication of the best way to get around the city. Despite a mishap with the room Andre did his absolute best to make sure we were comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor with a view out to the Jamma el Fna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

My friend and I were travelling to Marrakech for the first time and spotted Riad Andalla on TripAdvisor - what a great find it was!

As soon as we arrived Christophe made us feel right at home. The tips he and Andre provided for sightseeing, food and generally keeping safe in Marrakech were spot on. Also as two girls on our own, Christophe really looked after us, making sure all the arrangements we made for the trips we had planned were in place and everyone knew where to be at what time. Our time in Morocco included a visit to Essaoiura; on our return to Riad Andalla, Andre gave us the best welcome back ; wanting to know all about our trip and providing more tips for our last night in Marrakech.

On a practical note both of the two rooms we stayed in were clean and extremely well appointed, providing everything we needed. The roof terrace was truly lovely with amazing views over the square - perfect for gazing over at breakfast (just right to set us up for the day) or for time out with a coffee in the afternoon.

All in all, we had a really fantastic time at Riad Andalla, it really was a home from home and definitely hope to return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We came in on May 19 2012 for 4 nights scattered in our 10 days in Marrakech. We took the transfer (15euros) to the riad because the riad is in the alleys we didnt want to waste time getting lost on the first day, but its actually easy to find. If you want to save 15 euros for the tansfer: take taxi to the jemma el fna (deal about 100 dirhams), ask to be dropped in front on cafe de france, if they cant do it (impossible in afternoon), walk all the way to cafe de france from the horse carriages where they will drop you. Cafe de france is big, has roof terreaces, red coca cola shades, u cant miss it. From taxi/horse carriage its not even 5 minutes walk. Once to cafe de france on the jemma el fna, turn right at the black "pepe nero" sign, ( the sign is at eye level, between restaurant chegrouni and cafe de france, cannot miss it), not even one minute later turn to your right into the alley BEFORE the shop "brins d'orient", in the alley you will see a restaurant sign, you are on the right way, take the first to your right again, at the end there is a door #17 with an arrow to the right, follow the arrow to your right, at the end of the alley, there is a brown door with a small inscription "REAL" turn left, and you are there, its a dead end, take the door on your left handside, there in a brass hand on top of the wood door written Riad Andalla. From the cafe de france to the riad it takes 2 minutes if you walk normally and u just saved a few euros: that much more to spend in the souks or to eat on the jemma.

The riad is very homey, nothing luxurious, but you feel welcomed with Christophe and André, 2 frenchmen holding the riad. We thought their service was excellent. For the price, you get to have free breakfast, a roof terrasse right over jemma el fna, close to cafe de france which is good because all the drivers from our excursions asked us to wait for them there for pick up early in the morning. There are no curfiew, the doorman stays at the door to make sure you are back before he closes the door. The ladies of the riad are very pleasant and the cook is very nice also.

We had total 3 different rooms during our stay, all of them simple basic, no tv, no phone, no windows to the outside world, but we didnt need it: theres a cool roof terrace with plenty of space to chill out. We had air conditioning which seemed to be set at 28 degres, it felt more like a fan but we slepts well, we were so tired, the beds were confortable, we had hot water. There was a smell in thebathroom in one of our rooms, i believe its because of the way they built the houses there. Nothing major, but we could have done without. The riad was clean, it felt safe: we left all our luggage and our purchases there while away for 2 days at a time to go to the desert and to essaouira.

Riad Andalla is a great spot for marrakech, close to everything. No mistakes staying here. We loved it.

Un grand MERCI Christophe, André, et toute votre equipe: Adbou, Saaida, Atika, Jmiya & Ibrahim.

Signé 2 vietnamiens du Canada au Maroc.

Room Tip: Fanidas room has stronger smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Riad Andalla is beautiful and impecably done, yet not formal or stuffy. The staff is friendly and helpful and everyone - even the other guests - makes you feel at home. Christphe greeted us and gave us insider tips and recommendations to have the best experience in Marrakech. The location next to Jamaa el Fna was extremely convenient.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Myself, my husband and two of our friends booked a trip to Marrakesh knowing nothing about it. We picked Riad Andalla because of it's proximity to the Djemma el Fna and the good reviews. We were not disappointed - not for a moment. From the easy pick-up at the airport (highly recommended) to the rooftop view overlooking the market; from the comfy bed to the AMAZING service - Christophe and Andre treated us like, not just guests, but friends . They imparted all their knowledge to us: from where to go swimming to where to get a good shave (from "the barbier"), to where to eat dinner (Pepe Nero!!) and which Hammam to try (couldn't get in cause it was so busy but looked gorgeous - Les Bains de Marrakesh). Their numerous recommendations took the guesswork out of planning our days and left us with plenty of time to explore the many wonders of the city. Our favorite part of everyday was coming back to our air-conditioned rooms, taking a luxurious shower and sipping drinks on the terrace while watching the sunset over the Medina. I knew nothing of Marrakesh before I arrived but feel like I had the trip of a lifetime in no small part to the Christophe, Andre and their lovely staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms are small but very well appointed and surprisingly quiet considering how close the Riad is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Everyone at the riad was exceptionally helpful and welcoming. Abdul was particularly superb, always available to assist us and very hard working. As other reviewers have noted, the location near the main square couldn't be better. Breakfast is included and is simple coffee and bread.
We ate at the riad the first night and it was OK. Don't stay here if you are claustrophobic because the rooms are very, very small and without outward looking windows.

Room Tip: I had read on TA that the rooms were small so we booked a "suite" which was actually just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#14 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#21 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Magellan
Riad Magellan
#90 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#7 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Sohane
Riad Dar Sohane
#173 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Princesse du Desert
Riad Princesse du Desert
#40 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Andalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Andalla

Address: 15 Derb Zaari | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional House, Riad Andalla, typically charming and full of Moroccan warm and friendly, is ideally situated on the famous, mythical and magical Djemaa el Fna, at the gates of the souks and the center of many historic monuments. Riad Andalla has 6 rooms and 2 suites decorated with passion and originality, and has the most beautiful terrace in Marrakech: Riad Andalla offers a unique view, unique and the Treasures of Marrakech, such as the Djemaa el Fna, the archetype of Islamic monuments, the Koutoubia and the majestic mountains of the Atlas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Andalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Andalla Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Andalla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.