We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mehdia

Save Saved
You added Riad Mehdia to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Mehdia
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   70 Douar Graoua | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #240 of 1,054 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Hawkhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my wife to be we're extremely pleased with our booking here. The staff were fantastic and soo helpful. The whole place was spotless and the cleaning staff were soo good, I wanted to take them home! Would highly recommend!! A very romantic and tranquil setting!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    13
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
48
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were a group of 4 friends travelling to Morocco for the first time, and we all loved our experience at Riad Mehdia. We opted for a transfer from the airport (as booking a taxi is notoriously difficult to do without getting ripped off!) which was super convenient and easy. The Riad itself is very pretty, with an open roof courtyard, sunbeds and tables on a roof terrace and small pool tucked away inside. The rooms were spacious, clean and very "Moroccan" which was exactly what we were looking for. The Riad also had two lovely pet tortoises and cats :)

Breakfast was delicious - fresh fruit, crepes, bread, honeys & jams, juices and coffee - and the Riad was just a five minute walk to the main square so super convenient to see the city.

What really makes this Riad special though is how amazing and lovely the staff all are! The manager gave us recommendations for dinner and tours and even offered to pick up some tickets for us on the other side of town when we were unable to. They also looked after our bags while we went on a three day tour to the Sahara, and when we returned for one more night our bags were already in our rooms. Amazing service, always delivered with a smile :)

Thoroughly recommended by all of us.

Room Tip: Only thing to note is the rooms facing the road can be a little noisier (donkeys, mopeds passing etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Everything in this riad is just perfect and the service is at the level of a 5* hotel. Beautifully decorated and clean rooms, and very quite at night, although not far from the main square, excellent staff, so helpful and friendly, breakfast is huge, varied everyday with different marmelades home- made by the owner. Several terraces with sun- chairs just to relax or take the sun. There is also a small pool and hammam in the riad.
They make you feel like at home, and we will go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

One of the most unique places I've stayed at.

Riad's are traditional Moroccan homes and I remember growing up in a similar one in Bahrain. It was a bit like stepping back in the past. The Moroccan architecture and interiors cast a spell over you. And the welcoming staff are more than helpful looking after you.

There is a sense of quietude that prevails all the way from having breakfast in the terrace with the heat of the sun still in it's ascendence. Breakfast consists of a delightful array of fresh local breads, jams, fresh orange juice and fruits. This sets you up quite well for what the rest of the day will offer as there's a lot to discover and eat in Marrakesh.

I read in one of the reviews before I left that it would be a 10 minute walk from where the taxi left us, which is what it was. It's only later I realised, the Riad could arrange for a pick up from the airport. This saves a lot of hassle with haggling with the taxi drivers out there.

But then, haggling is part of the Moroccan experience, and you either embrace it and enjoy it or, just get a tailored holiday.

Highly recommended. Thanks Alex & staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at Riad Mehdia from 13/4/13. The Riad is perfectly placed near the busy Medina and is quiet and tranquil inside. The Riad is very clean and well kept and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are decorated beautifully and the roof terrace is lovely. Breakfast was varied and included lots of tasty fruit. We also ate dinner here one night, which was some of the best food we ate on our trip. Most of all, this Riad has a luxury feel, with a backpackers price tag. It's the ideal place to stay in Marrakech!

Room Tip: The suite with the big gold bath is great and very unusual, it's upstairs and there's a love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I visited Marrakech several times and stayed in few different riads.
I believe Riad Mehdia has the only advantage of very good location in one of the widest street in medina and the car park is few yards away. Th riad has it is own private car and driver if you require one.
It is 5 minutes walk to Jema Fina square.
Food is average and breakfast similar to one you get in other riads. Staff are not particularly friendly but polite.
If you don't like cats then keep away as few would be joinning you for the meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, New Jersey
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night after reading the positive reviews on this and other sites.

After landing in Marrakech, we took a taxi (which by the way costs the same as the airport bus: 60dh) that dropped off at Djemaa el Fna and from there the riad is about a 10 minute walk. We had 4 pieces of luggage and it was possible to maneuver the way although you need to often make way for the countless motorcycles, bicycles, and scooters. To reach the riad, we walked straight down Rue des Banques and made a left turn onto the first main street (there are 2 restaurants at the beginning of that street).

The riad is nicely decorated with tasteful Moroccan furniture and many plants that brought a taste of nature away from the heavily polluted streets of Marrakech. It was also relatively quite inside the riad altough you are able to hear the motorcycles on the street.

We were greeted by I believe the owner, a nice French gentleman who spoke English. You need to fill out a short form that all the hotels and riads are required to gather and after you make your payment, you are free to go to your room. Our room was on the first floor and surprisingly was not noisy despite being close to the front door.

The room itself had a full sized bed, 2 chairs, and a coffee table. It was a decent size but a bit challenging to fit 4 pieces of luggage. The bathroom had an attractive mosaic sink and a lovely Moroccan style clay enclosed shower. There were no problems with getting enough water pressure or having hot enough water. The room was clean and the bed comfortable.

The included breakfast starts at 8:30am but the staff was able to prepare ours at 7:30am since we had a tour starting at 8am. The breakfast was pretty basic, with 2 kinds of breads, some spreads, coffee, and orange juice..nothing to compliment or complain about, it was enough to get the job done.

Overall, this is a good choice for the value, service, and location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Mehdia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mehdia

Address: 70 Douar Graoua | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 1,054 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Mehdia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mehdia Riad is a guest house in Marrakesh, in the heart of Medina (old town) Located between the Place Jjemma el Fna square, the souks (2mn) and the Bahia Palace, Dar Si Said museum (2mn) Completely restored, riad Mehdia is authentic and traditional home with all comfort. It is a magical place, in the land of a thousand and one night, you will live unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Riad Mehdia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mehdia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;