We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Les Jardins de l'Agdal Mid August 2014” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Jardins de l'Agdal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Les Jardins de l'Agdal to your Saves list
Hotel Les Jardins de l'Agdal
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Mohammed VI | Zone touristique de l'Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #286 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
1 review
“Hotel Les Jardins de l'Agdal Mid August 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The hotel is overall nice and clean. Staff are helpful but English is not spoken by all staff. Some minor problems we found and when reported they were looked at and replaced. Safe did not work – maintenance came twice and still left with non-working safe – gave up. Fridge was not working and a replacement fridge was setup in the room. Lift is a bit touch and go – sometimes the button to call the lift did not respond.

We found exchanging money at hotel gave better rates than some places in town. There is a small number of taxis parked opposite the hotel and reasonable price. To get to main town area new city or medina around 50 MAD.

Breakfast – reasonable selection of usual food stuff. No real wow factor here. Basic choice and typical things available. For 5 Star bit let down by this. A few cats stroll around dining area outside but nothing to worry about.

Evening entertainment – one man on keyboard and a lady singer. What else can I say – 5 star?
Swimming pool area – clean and huge pool area. Staff very helpful and assist with moving parasols and bring towels. Lots of sun loungers available no need to get up at 5am and claim your lounger.

Spa – yes. Nothing is free and even have to pay for gym which looks like it has never been used since day one.

Shuttle service – available only at certain times. Last pick up is around 6.30pm. You would expect at least last pickup to hotel to be around 10pm pickup. We used it once only as we found that the driver takes you to a taxis stand near the Medina area. Walk to nearest place in hot sun is like 15 minutes so not ideal drop off point. When they could drop you off at a much more convenient locations very close to shops and restaurants. Bit of a scam, really. You end up getting a taxi and paying the same as you would from the hotel. Also be aware taxis drives may try and take you to certain areas or shops where they are no doubt on commission. Know your destination and be firm as to where you want to go. Negotiate price before you sit in taxi. Nothing to worry about – things a safe and you are not in danger or feel threatened.

There is a small shopping centre nearby but to get to it via shortest route takes you through a disused open space next to the 555 club. Once you are in the shopping complex there are the usual shops and Carrefour. Also you have food court with reasonable selection of takeaways and there are tables and chairs to sit and eat.

Overall – nice hotel not quite your 5 star perhaps more 4 star. Had a very nice time at Marrakech, lovey friendly people.

Room Tip: Not worth paying extra for pool side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    211
    89
    53
    33
See reviews for
200
240
31
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Advertised as a 5 stars, not so sure about that as there isn't an iron in our room and no bottled water left daily as you would expect. After reading a review from Charlotte B... Things being stolen from there room, I was suspicious so as always I locked all valuables in the room safe. We are still staying here for another 4 nights and the 2nd day my wife went to shower and all her bottles of Pantene shampoo and conditioner and body wash bottles were half emptied out by the cleaning staff/house keeping. Approached management, nothing!!! I see the house keeping daily and I know they did it, but very disappointed, VERY!!! Breakfast , same thing every day. Nothing special, usual Moroccan foods and some fresh baked croissant. Pool area was busy with children on Fri and Sat, today is Sunday and the noise levels havw dropped. I've stayed in a lot of hotels and whilst we got a very cheap deal with Expedia I can't complain. It's clean. WiFi is poor in rooms so having to use it like all other guest in the lobby. I rate this place at least a 3 star.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Stayed here for 4 night as it was a good stay the room was a good size with a nice bathroom and seperate toilet, A/C was working very well and the lady that cleaned the room did so to a high standard. The pool was brilliant but very cold and it was fustrating to get beds as some guest would wake up early and reserve them and then not turn up for ages - something that is really annoying and the hotel should look into. The reason I say it's not a 5 star hotel is because it lacks some things to take it to level, like the hotel room did not even have an iron! Every 5 star hotel I have been been to has an iron. When I ordered one it took almost am hour to receive after chasing it twice. When it did come the guy said I only had 30min to use before he came and collected for another guest. The iron he gave was in poor condition all tapes up. Also the room does not give complimentary water I mean what's that all about?!?! That should be standard! Other gripes was general service was slow, ordering food/drinks at the pool took at least 30/40min at a time to receive that's after you spend ages looking for that ONE guy who takes the order. Breakfast is a joke! They do not cater very well for vegetarians and the rubbish they had was not very tasty anyway. So it was fruit and bread every morning for us. Be careful of the cheeky tax they add on each night you at ethereal which is not in the price you pay originally. The shuttle service isn't that great in terms of timings and also the lack of English means nothing is explained like pick up Times and locations. Also WiFi is poor, only available in the reception so the place is alway busy with guests making it noisy. The staff generally do not know anything outside the hotel so if you want to head out do your own research. Taxis to town should not cost more than 40dhs so do not get hustled. Not sure I would stay here again...unless improvements made to service

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Whilst the hotel itself was lovely, the staff were extremely rude and ignored us a lot. We had money, argon oil and cigarettes stolen from our room which management refused to do anything about. The staff were extremely suspicious of everything we did which was very upsetting. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We booked a holiday earlier this year with Booking.com labelled as an adult only holiday

The destination was a secret destination and after confirming the booking it was disclosed that it was hotel les Jardins d'Agdal

The hotel lies in the tourist area of Marrakech which is on the outskirts of Marrakech quite close to the airport

On arrival the hotel was beautifully lit and we were warmly welcomed. I requested a poolside room as we had been allocated a Garden view (thanks other trip advisers)

As we had half board we ate most evenings in the buffet restaurant and the food was excellent, with ample provision for all tastes


Food prices for lunch are not unreasonable for a hotel of this quality but be aware that a 1.5 litre bottle costs 20 MAD and it can be easier and cheaper to get your own from the supermarket nearby (Carrefor) for 3 MAD also a useful way of getting loose change for tips and toilets etc

In all, the staff, surroundings and location were fantastic and worthy of 5 stars... But...

On Friday and Saturday there was a very large influx of people with large families from all over Morocco. They generally stayed 1 night or 2 and the poolside became a heaving morass of people with many small children. At one point there were more that 40 children under 10 in the pool. I also discovered that some 'guests' came for the day and used the pool as a public swimming bath just having lunch in the pool bar.

I have no objection to children being parents ourselves but the numbers of unsupervised pre teens screaming around the poolside made the experience uncomfortable to say the least especially as the holiday had been sold as an adult holiday

The rowdiness continued into the evening and into the excellent bar area and despite the best efforts by bar staff to manage the unruly children.

We also found that previously mentioned families would stay up and go to bed well after midnight and allow children to careen up and down the corridor when going to bed

The hotel is beautiful and staff exceptional but was let down by the short term visitors who made our stay disappointing






Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Don't get me wrong, this is a wonderful hotel. Just out of the center of Marrakech so you'll get a quiet room, to an extent. Either you're pool-side and you are awoken by the children screaming in the morning, or you are road-side. The rooms are wonderful, the breakfast is continental with a bit of Moroccan, although the orange juice seems to face demand far higher than the supply.

If you like western nightlife, this is your location. Next to pacha, La Churascaria (a great brazilian steakhouse), and a number of nightclubs, this is surely your next stop.

Room Tip: Just depends what you prefer, pool-side or road-side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My partner and I got back a little over a week ago after an 8 night stay!
I was nervous when it came to travelling to this hotel as we had gotten such amazing rates it seemed too good the be true, and some reviews were less than complimentary; but the hotel exceeded our expectations!...
The hotel was clean, beautifully built and decorated, staff were amazing, despite the language barrier they made every effort they could to speak English, us doing the same in French which was appreciated I think by them. There was one lady who worked at reception who spoke very good English and she was lovely and helpful. The staff at breakfast were also lovely; very attentive.
Our room was just a standard one, but was spacious and cleaned to a pristine standard every day; a huge bed, cove with seating, beautiful bathroom and separate toilet, beautiful decoration. Our view wasn't amazing, but we hadn't booked a room with a good one, and who comes to Marrakesh to sit on their balcony...
Breakfast was great, a huge selection of fruits, pastries, cakes, cereals, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and meats. they made pancakes and eggs however you wanted.
The pool are was beautiful, the hotel being quite quiet for most of our stay we didn't have any issues getting the sunbeds we wanted; we always got two doubles in a corner with an umbrella with no problem. Everything was clean and in good condition; you got towels brought to you by the pool attendant, or if he was busy you could go and help yourself.
We didn't eat at the hotel, as there was so much to experience in the Medina and in the city of Marrakech, so I can't comment on the restaurants at the hotel, however another couple we spoke to said it was a set menu and was quite dear.
We got taxis to the Medina each evening, do not pay more than 50Dh there or back!!!!
on our last day the hotel were so accommodating to us; we had to check out by 12 but our flight wasn't until 9 that evening, so they gave us an extra hour in our room, looked after our suitcases so we could spend the day at the pool, and then gave us access to an unused room so we could shower and prepare to travel home! they were fantastic!
my partner also made use of the free gym while we were here; he does free weights and strength training and said it was great. I had a massage at the sap which was lovely and not too expensive!
overall i would urge you to stay here!!!

Room Tip: if you're worried about the view and spend a lot of time on the balcony pick a pool view room, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Les Jardins de l'Agdal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Jardins de l'Agdal

Address: Avenue Mohammed VI | Zone touristique de l'Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Les Jardins de l'Agdal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beautiful Avenue Mohamed VI, a few minutes from the center of Marrakech and the jemaa El Fna square, The Jardins De l’Agdal Hotel & Spa has 17 suites and 241 rooms Comfort, space, luxury and modernity are provided in each room and suite, allowing some Families to end up in complete privacy :Direct telephone, Internet, flat screen satellite TV, minibar, safe deposit box without charge, air conditioning sum up the basic equipment. The hotel has 04 restaurants, 02 bars, a SPA, 02 pools ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Les Jardins de l'Agdal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Jardins de l'Agdal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.