We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed by the food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Jardins de l'Agdal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Les Jardins de l'Agdal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Les Jardins de l'Agdal
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Mohammed VI | Zone touristique de l'Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #254 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Impressed by the food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed here in October 2012 for 4 nights and I truly enjoyed it. I checked in before the actual check-in time, there were no problems. The room was brilliant, I absolutely loved the shower and the bathroom. Pool area, gym, restaurants, entertainment - all excellent! The only problem is that staff doesnt really speak english (most people in Marrakech dont really speak english...) so it was quite hard trying to explain myself. And the only english channel you get is a news channel. The hotel has a free shuttle which can save you a lot of money eventually.
I would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    159
    64
    39
    21
See reviews for
162
184
27
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

The initial impressions of the hotel are fantastic - beautiful water features and detailing in the Moroccan zellige on the floor. The reception was a friendly but not overly quick to understand some booking issues we had.
The room was nicely decorated, with separate loo. The mini bar was empty, the pillows and duvet a bit lumpy, the rail for hanging clothes in the cupboard kept falling out with an almighty clatter. The television didn't work - only sound and no picture except for intermittent flashes. Friends in another room said their loo ran all night. Our key didn't work at the end of the day and we had to make 2 trips back to the reception who eventually sent us someone who opened the garden door and let us in that way.
At breakfast there was a good spread, but things that should have been hot were all cold and the wait to have eggs freshly cooked seemed interminable, not beacause there were too many guests but because the cook wasn't there initially and then could only deal with one order at a time.
Having said all that, we were there to attend a wedding. The meal, service and decorations at this private function were very good.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
4,509 helpful votes 4,509 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel we stayed in is fab. The staff are absolutely wonderful and extremely helpful - warm and friendly too except for one female worker in Indigo who seems to have a bad attitude but that didn't spoil our stay in this hotel. They have a few restaurants in the complex which are good although pricey but for a quick snack try the poolside Indigo restaurant (opens at 12.30pm) which serves pizzas, tagines, burgers, pastas, spaghetti bolognese etc..at affordable prices. The swimming pool is nice and clean, the rooms are a bit dated and needs a bit of renovation but they are very clean, which is the most important thing for me. There is the Pacha complex nearby which has a few restaurants there like Red Sun (Chinese), Jana (French-Moroccan) and Crystals (international).
It's a 10 minute drive from the Airport and it's only 10 minutes to the main square by taxi (only 50 MAD).
This hotel is dominated by French tourists and barely any English tourists here (while I was staying there). Some staff here can speak a bit of English (but majority can't even speak English at all) and only 2 or 3 who can speak decent English. This has posed a bit of a communication problem on a few occasions. So anyone from England who are going to book into this hotel needs to brush up their French OR the staff members from this hotel need to improve on their English if they are inviting English tourists to this hotel.
Having said that, the staff are very polite and very helpful especially at the reception and the waiters in all of the restaurants in the hotel complex so I would like to thank them for their help and support. Mr Cherkaoui (The Sales Manager) was very helpful and I contacted him on numerous occasions via email before I came to Marrakech and he answered many questions for me. .
You can also change your British Sterlings here with Moroccan Dirhams at a good rate at the reception desk instead of trying to find a exchange bureau in and around Marrakech. Excluding a few minor issues that I've addressed I'm giving this hotel a 5-star rating for it's friendliness and cleansiness.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Gorgeous hotel, friendly staff and great food. This is the second time we go there this year. We didn't have the best rooms this time around, regardless, they were spotless. The staff do their best to keep everyone happy and the pool is well maintained. One of the major pluses has to be the food, as there's a lot to choose from and it's quite tasty. We quickly swung by their club as well and it's simply gorgeous. Probably only fills with tourists and hotel clientele, but a very nice one.

There's a few things to improve like service at the bar, but this hotel is by far one of the best we've been to in Marrakech and Morocco.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I just come back from an 8 night stay in this hotel and am impressed by the quality of the services provided.The place is beautiful, the architecture typically of Moroccan style and the amenities are well tailored for nice holidays. The food is delicious and the staff very professional and caring. Everybody makes his best to ensure your staying a memorable one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

My partner and I originally booked to stay in a different hotel (Kenzi Club Agdal Medina) in Marrakech but were sent to Les Jardins on arrival due to a double booking. We stayed here for 3 nights before moving back to the Kenzi. The hotel itself is beautiful, very authentically Moroccan and we couldn't fault the level of cleanliness. The staff, on the other hand, were just awful.

It was very obvious to us that we were an inconvenience because they had to provide food and drinks on an all inclusive basis as this is what we had booked at the Kenzi (the hotel normally only includes a breakfast buffet). For some reason we have yet to work out, they set up a makeshift bar for all inclusive guests of the Kenzi, which was basically a fold-out table with a few spirits and juice cartons on it, rather than just serving us drinks from behind the normal bar. It made us feel really cheap and uncomfortable because it made us stand out from the other guests as if we didn't belong there or couldn't afford to pay for proper drinks!

On our second night, we turned up at the restaurant - my partner was wearing longish shorts and flip-flops. The man spoke only a little English and we did out best to communicate with him using our limited French vocabulary. He pointed to my partner's shoes and told him they were not allowed in the restaurant. We were quite shocked that only he had to change them because I was wearing flip-flops too - apparently the rules are different for men and women! Although it was inconvenient because our room was quite far away from the restaurant, we made the effort and went back so he could change his shoes. We returned to the same man who was then happy to let us in and he showed us to a table outside on the patio where the temperature was still very high. After being served drinks we stood up to go to the buffet when the man who had let us in and another (who spoke better English) rushed over and told us we had to leave again because it was actually shorts that are not allowed and not flip-flops. We were pretty outraged because the man had seen quite clearly that my partner was still wearing shorts and he had let us in with a smile and without saying anything. Furthermore, there were at least three other men already sat down eating who were wearing shorts too!! We would have been happy to accept the rule and that it was a misunderstanding if the 'no shorts' policy was actually enforced and if the staff were nice about it - or if there had been a sign up stating the rule. The two men who challenged us (very loudly in front of the whole restaurant) were very rude and tactless - saying it was our fault for not understanding at the beginning. It seemed pretty obvious to us that if someone points at your feet and says "you must change", they mean you must change your shoes. The whole thing was handled terribly - they should have apologised for the miscommunication rather than getting incredibly defensive about it and saying it was our fault. They clearly saw that we had made the effort the first time and perhaps the second time should have just said "there's been a misunderstanding but tomorrow please wear shorts" rather than kicking us out again. It was almost like the original man thought the policy was 'no flip-flops' and was now covering his back with his boss because he had got it wrong. The other male guests who had been wearing shorts were all French - we really think that we were being unfairly treated because we are English and also because we are young (early-mid 20s). When I pointed out a man wearing shorts, they said they would tell him to change too. We didn't stay long enough to find out if this was true - to be honest I doubt it. Because of the mix-up with the double booking, the Kenzi offered a free shuttle on demand between the hotels. We left the restaurant and went to the Kenzi straight away. From then on, we only slept at Les Jardins, spending all of our awake time either out and about or at the Kenzi (which was superior in every way).

We went on a day trip to Cascades d'Ouzoud after our 3rd night at Les Jardins for which we had to leave the hotel at 8am. On our way out to the reception I quickly popped into the breakfast buffet to grab a croissant to go and to get a bottle of water. When I asked a member of staff for a bottle of water he said I had to pay for it. He didn't know I was not sitting down for breakfast. When I told him I had paid for all inclusive he said water was not included at breakfast - even if you are sitting down! Refusing someone a bottle of water - the most basic of drinks - I have never heard anything so ridiculous!

We returned to the hotel at 7pm after a very long day trip, looking forward to a nice cold shower after being in the 37 degree heat all day. As soon as we walked through the doors of the lobby, the receptionist ran over and said we had to leave and go back to the Kenzi right away. We said we would need an hour or so to freshen up and pack our suitcases and he exclaimed "one hour?!" as if I had just told him we were planning on staying forever! He told us we had to leave right away and gave us 10 minutes to get back to our room, pack and get back to the lobby to be taken to the other hotel. Bearing in mind, our room was about a 3 minute walk each way, it was going to be pretty impossible for us to be back in 10 minutes. After we had been gone for 15 minutes, there was a knock on our room door. It was the porter who had been sent to bring us down and help with our luggage. We were almost ready anyway but were shocked that they wanted us out so quickly they sent someone to get us rather than just wait for us to come down. Despite being told at check in that we could stay at Les Jardins for all 7 nights of our holiday if we wanted to, it felt like they couldn't wait to get rid of us. The feeling was very mutual - we couldn't wait to leave!!

Despite being authentic and beautiful, the hotel had no atmosphere. It felt like we were constantly being watched as if the staff were waiting for us to do something or ask for something. There's nothing wrong with attentive staff but when they are watching you like a hawk and waiting to swoop in straight away when you want something, it is very off-putting and made us feel very uncomfortable. It's not even like they were attentive and friendly - it seemed as though they were attentive and resentful.

If you like being made to feel unwelcome and unworthy - this is the hotel for you!! But if you like friendly staff, a nice atmosphere and a huge selection of food then go to the Kenzi Club Agdal Medina. Despite double-booking us (which was very annoying!), we can't fault the Kenzi. In a strange way, we are quite glad we experienced such awful treatment by the staff at Les Jardins because it has made us appreciate and love the Kenzi so much more.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel!! (or failing that, a room with a pool view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beziers, France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

If you enjoy excellent food I can highly recommend this recently opened Hotel .Freshly squeezed orange ,carrot,tomato & beetroot juices for breakfast . Homemade argan oil,honey & almond icecream ,fresh seafoods & daily BBQ's -too many delights to mention all.
The hotel itself was also excellent though situated quite a distance from the town center ; however there is a free courtesy bus every half hour or so provided by the hotel.This hotel merits its 5 star rating .

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Les Jardins de l'Agdal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Jardins de l'Agdal

Address: Avenue Mohammed VI | Zone touristique de l'Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Les Jardins de l'Agdal 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beautiful Avenue Mohamed VI, a few minutes from the center of Marrakech and the jemaa El Fna square, The Jardins De l’Agdal Hotel & Spa has 17 suites and 241 rooms Comfort, space, luxury and modernity are provided in each room and suite, allowing some Families to end up in complete privacy :Direct telephone, Internet, flat screen satellite TV, minibar, safe deposit box without charge, air conditioning sum up the basic equipment. The hotel has 04 restaurants, 02 bars, a SPA, 02 pools ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Les Jardins de l'Agdal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Jardins de l'Agdal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.