We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic traditional and peaceful Riad retreat close to Jamaa Elf Na” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Basma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Basma to your Saves list
Riad Basma
Dabachi, Derb Jamaa 22, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #200 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic traditional and peaceful Riad retreat close to Jamaa Elf Na”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I had a really great stay at Riad Basma. Run by Hasna and her sister, there is nothing they won't do to accommodate you. Organised, professional and efficient. They sorted my airport transfer and an early breakfast for me and for another couple even though it was before normal breakfast hours. It was also amazing! The food just kept coming! And very tasty.
The room I stayed in was spacious, more like a small apartment and was filled with vibrant colours and had so much detail to it. I loved the stain glass window that opened on to my balcony overlooking the courtyard. The Riad is down a quiet alley but 5mins from Jamaa Elf Na, offering a quiet, clean and safe haven for a good price after a day out in the busy Moroccan streets.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    22
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I really loved it here. The staff were extremely friendly. Location was great right in the souks and near the main medina, but so quiet and peaceful.

Rooms were gorgeous and the breakfasts were great. Wifi was fantastic.

I've noticed a few people have mentioned the drain smell, I've been to Morocco before and its extremely hard to avoid this smell in any riad, unfortunately its very common. We just kept the plug in the shower and the toilet seat down and it was fine.

I'm definitely heading back to Morocco and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feldkirch, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Everything was alright. One little exception: german users, when reviewing the "final page" directly prior booking, the statements about the taxes are incorrect. As stated in the description of the Riad, those are not included in the price and have to be paid on arrival, contradictory to what you read on that summary page before booking.

We can highly recommend this Riad! The staff is friendly and helpful and the location is also perfect, close to the main square and to the souqs - still quiet and calm on the roof terrace and the inside during evening and night. Everything was clean and tidy, there was just one odd thing we noticed: a strange smell in the bathroom (other travellers have also told about that). Since you most probably won't find the Riad by yourself, we can recommend the airport pickup service. The breakfast was also good. Definately a good choice if you are looking for a nice place close to the tremendously fast-beating heart of Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here. Airport pick up and meeting us in Place Djeema El Fna was really appreciated. The only reason I've marked it down for cleanliness was that our room had an unpleasant damp smell which was noticeable in other parts of the Riad too. When we got to our next destination it had got into my clothes, which was not so nice. The room was also very dark and a bit stuffy. Overall we were happy though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penzance
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Highly recommend this Riad, Great value for money, clean and comfortable. Very friendly and helpful owners. Right in the middle of the Souk but quiet and peaceful. Lovely roof terrace to sunbathe and relax. There was a plastic bag stuffed down the shower plug hole when we arrived, which we thought was strange so removed it. However soon worked out that this is the best way to avoid the " funky smell" as mentioned in previous review. Very good Hammam (spa/steam bath) just as you turn left out of the alley way definately an experience not to be missed!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This riad was lovely and a great value for the price. The bathroom in our room had a funky smell but I am giving 5 stars because of the kindness of the staff. I was violently ill in the middle of the night and ran out of water and the guy went out at 4:30am to get me water. Nothing was open and he woke up a guy to open up his store (my boyfriend went with him and said he also put a blanket over a homeless man in the street). If you get sick in Marrakech, this is the kind of place that will look out for you. A+ service

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in December 2010 to celebrate my 40th Birthday.

The location is superb, just a few minutes walk from the main square down a winding alley. Despite being so near the square the riad is quiet and tranquil, which is a relief after the hustle and bustle of the city.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, a basic knowledge of French is very useful as the day staff have very limited English.

The manager, Hasna, was very helpful and we particularly appreciated her help after we were stranded in Marrakech when our flights home were cancelled due to an air traffic controllers' strike in Spain. The bonus was that we got to spend a few more days in this fascinating city.

You will see lots of riads which are more swanky, but this riad is excellent value for money

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#123 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#199 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#110 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#59 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Islane
Hotel Islane
#192 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Jomana
Riad Jomana
#143 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Basma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Basma

Address: Dabachi, Derb Jamaa 22, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Basma is a nice and relaxing place, placed in the medina of Marrakech a few minutes walking only from the main square Jemaa el Fnaa and the souks (markets)The Riad is composed of 5 double rooms (Iris, Perla, Ambar, Agata and Zafiro) each one equipped of an en-suite bathroom, a central Patio decorated with Moorish furniture, a nice living room with TV and DVD player and an open air living room corner cool in summer time and very cosy during winter season.The Riad also has a nice terrace where to enjoy breakfast under the Berber tent or simply sunbathing and drinking a refreshing cold-hot Mint tea.The typical Moroccan style that has been used for the details and furniture gives to this Properties a real Moroccan soul.We are located close to the main square Jemaa el Fnaa about 3 minutes walking, once you are on the square ask for derb Dabachi and count 3 small streets (derbs) on the right turn right and keep on until nr. 22. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Basma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Basma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.