We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Basma - great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Basma

Save Saved
You added Riad Basma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Basma
Dabachi, Derb Jamaa 22, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Feldkirch, Austria
1 review
“Riad Basma - great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Everything was alright. One little exception: german users, when reviewing the "final page" directly prior booking, the statements about the taxes are incorrect. As stated in the description of the Riad, those are not included in the price and have to be paid on arrival, contradictory to what you read on that summary page before booking.

We can highly recommend this Riad! The staff is friendly and helpful and the location is also perfect, close to the main square and to the souqs - still quiet and calm on the roof terrace and the inside during evening and night. Everything was clean and tidy, there was just one odd thing we noticed: a strange smell in the bathroom (other travellers have also told about that). Since you most probably won't find the Riad by yourself, we can recommend the airport pickup service. The breakfast was also good. Definately a good choice if you are looking for a nice place close to the tremendously fast-beating heart of Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here. Airport pick up and meeting us in Place Djeema El Fna was really appreciated. The only reason I've marked it down for cleanliness was that our room had an unpleasant damp smell which was noticeable in other parts of the Riad too. When we got to our next destination it had got into my clothes, which was not so nice. The room was also very dark and a bit stuffy. Overall we were happy though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penzance
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Highly recommend this Riad, Great value for money, clean and comfortable. Very friendly and helpful owners. Right in the middle of the Souk but quiet and peaceful. Lovely roof terrace to sunbathe and relax. There was a plastic bag stuffed down the shower plug hole when we arrived, which we thought was strange so removed it. However soon worked out that this is the best way to avoid the " funky smell" as mentioned in previous review. Very good Hammam (spa/steam bath) just as you turn left out of the alley way definately an experience not to be missed!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This riad was lovely and a great value for the price. The bathroom in our room had a funky smell but I am giving 5 stars because of the kindness of the staff. I was violently ill in the middle of the night and ran out of water and the guy went out at 4:30am to get me water. Nothing was open and he woke up a guy to open up his store (my boyfriend went with him and said he also put a blanket over a homeless man in the street). If you get sick in Marrakech, this is the kind of place that will look out for you. A+ service

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in December 2010 to celebrate my 40th Birthday.

The location is superb, just a few minutes walk from the main square down a winding alley. Despite being so near the square the riad is quiet and tranquil, which is a relief after the hustle and bustle of the city.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, a basic knowledge of French is very useful as the day staff have very limited English.

The manager, Hasna, was very helpful and we particularly appreciated her help after we were stranded in Marrakech when our flights home were cancelled due to an air traffic controllers' strike in Spain. The bonus was that we got to spend a few more days in this fascinating city.

You will see lots of riads which are more swanky, but this riad is excellent value for money

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

Very nice Dar. Although its called a Riad, its actually more a Dar as its not large enough or with a garden to be officially a Riad. Great location about 5 minutes walk from main square, but on a quiet street so nice and peaceful. Nice rooftop terrace for a drink or breakfast. Room was comfortable & clean although shower drain wasnt great so couldnt shower for more than a few mins before it nearly overflowed. Breakfast was simple but comparable to other Dars we stayed in. The manager was fantastic & spoke English, French, Spanish and was incredibly helpful about anything we asked. Only downside was room wasnt cleaned on 2nd day. Maybe that was normal in Morocco, but not everywhere we stayed. But would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

This riad is truely beautiful. We booked through Ryan air. It was a reasonable price,breakfast was substantial with lots of different breads. The Riad was run by the daughter in law of the owner who is an artist. The Riad had a lot of his work which was truely fabulous,the whole place had the touch of an artist. our room had a beautifully ornate ceiling with a lovely lantern.the bathroom was amazing with a copper basin.The water came out of a spout in an ornate face.I loved the whole look of the place. The staff were lovely and helpful. The roof terrace was lovely to sit on and sunbath you could have coffee and breakfast up there.The Riad was also spotleslly clean.To make it perfect it was just a few minuits from the square...near enough for my husband who hates to walk!
i would however put one word of caution on Riads children need absolute supervision as the middle space is open from the top story to the tiled floors below.There is just a small rail or a wall as protection from falling.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Basma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Basma

Address: Dabachi, Derb Jamaa 22, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Basma is a nice and relaxing place, placed in the medina of Marrakech a few minutes walking only from the main square Jemaa el Fnaa and the souks (markets)The Riad is composed of 5 double rooms (Iris, Perla, Ambar, Agata and Zafiro) each one equipped of an en-suite bathroom, a central Patio decorated with Moorish furniture, a nice living room with TV and DVD player and an open air living room corner cool in summer time and very cosy during winter season.The Riad also has a nice terrace where to enjoy breakfast under the Berber tent or simply sunbathing and drinking a refreshing cold-hot Mint tea.The typical Moroccan style that has been used for the details and furniture gives to this Properties a real Moroccan soul.We are located close to the main square Jemaa el Fnaa about 3 minutes walking, once you are on the square ask for derb Dabachi and count 3 small streets (derbs) on the right turn right and keep on until nr. 22. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Basma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Basma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.