We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously...one of the best riads in all of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Maison Nomade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad La Maison Nomade to your Saves list
Riad La Maison Nomade
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Sidi Benslimane, Kaa Sour, Derb Sidi Ahmed | El Barje No. 94, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #572 of 1,071 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Seriously...one of the best riads in all of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

(30 yr old male) Traveled there with my (German) girlfriend by her recommendation. Herbert, the owner, was more than we could ask for. Not only was his riad beautiful on the inside (esp the rooms) and exceptionally clean, the service was perfect. He provided options to eat dinner (authentic cuisine) each night and a unique breakfast each day. He has guides that will help plan whichever excursions you like (e.g.- Our driver Muhammed - trip to Merzourga dunes for camel rides) at very reasonable prices, as well as guides through the souks (much needed). Prices are very reasonable and the whole experience was very relaxing/quiet (away from the Jemaa El Fna, yet just a short walk). Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    22
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
68
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

My wiife and I stayed 7 nights at Riad La Maison Nomade and are looking forward to revisit. The riad is located in the northern part of the Medina which we found very calm and authentic. The Riad itself is run by a very helpfull and likeable staff which willingly shared their enthusiasm for Marrakech and Morocco. In addition to this La Maison Nomade serves the best morrocan food you can get! We definitely had a lot of fun during our stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duesseldorf
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

We had spent a few days there a couple of months ago and since then had come back to Marrakech several times. This allows a more balanced and comperative judgement and seriously relativates the first impression.
Despite the description the riad is really located in a very remote part of the Medina which can be scary, especially after sunset. Going out for dinner after a long days walk thru the Medina takes an extra effort - which helps the inhouse restaurant of the Maison that offers meals at European rather than local prices. If you go for the Pastilla make sure it's freshly made - ours apparently was made the day before and a serious disappointment.
Before signing up for a trip around better compare the different options yourself. We were "sold" a rental car trip with chauffeur to Essaouira for over 120€ a day rather than pointing us at the Suprabus tour for 13€ per person.
The local staff in the riad was very friendly and dedicated. However, the German owner frequently raised disputes with his people in public. Those loudly controversies were disturbing, embarrassing for those around and created a climate of discomfort.
The riad is nicely renovated and has rich decoration. However, since the patio was permanently covered by a plastic panel despite the moderate temperatures it was overall dark.
As there are many choices of riads in Marrakech there is no need to select the Maison Nomade again, though.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

Although a frequent traveller I have never taken the time to write a review of places I have stayed, until now. But this time I wanted to as this riad is a little gem. I came here for a birthday treat with my niece. Herbert the owner (unfortuantely I did not get to meet his wife Touria) is wonderful - a charming, welcoming and generous host. I found this place by recommendation from another riad when the dates of my trip were double-booked. I don't think I would have found it otherwise, as being German, Herbert's guests tend to be from there or Switzerland. But what a loss for us Brits!
The riad itself is beautiful - very tastefully furnished and decorated and also very quiet. As with all places in the Medina, it is an experience to find but very do-able. People may find being in the Medina a little overwhelming, but for me, I would not stay anywhere else. It is a way of truly experiencing the real Marrakesh and enjoying its beauty and culture. I felt I had stepped back into medieval times. And this riad was no harder to find than others in this area. And as a woman (blonde as well!) I felt perfectly safe walking back at night, even in the early hours after a rather wild night out on the town!
Within a short space of time, La Maison Nomade felt like home. Sweet Caltomb is an excellent cook - she cooked the best Morrocan food we found in Marrakech and happily catered for us two vegetarians- and a kind and gentle soul to have around. And Herbert, as I say was excellent company, a good laugh and an affable host. The trips we organised through him were well worth doing and pretty good value for money. And the added bonus was that he could understand our English sense of humour! I felt quite sad saying goodbye to my new found friends!
Don't hesitate in your choice...this is a place well recommended! I would definitely stay here again. It's a shame it doesn't have a higher rating on Trip Advisor. But I think this is because Germans tend to use other sites for recommendations rather than Trip Advisor.
Trust me...you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teulada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

A beautiful Riad with exceptional decor, friendly and helpful staff and good food

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worb
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

If you have the chance to be guest in this wonderful place, there will be no need to buy any souvenirs. I'm still at a loss for words for what I experienced. By travelling around the world I never experienced such a heartfelt host. Whatever this staff is doing, they don't do a job, they rather live for what they do.
Owner Herbert & Touria: Congratulations for what you made out of this place and for the choice of the excellent staff.
Manager Karim: Thanks for being with us, you might know what we felt when we had to leave....
Assistant Aalaoui: I just say: the king of moroccan tea! No matter what we needed, Aalaoui somehow knew it before we did.
Cook Kaltoum: Nowhere all over Marrakech we had traditional food in such a high level quality. Only a good soul is able to cook that way!
Kaltoum's daughter: Thanks for keeping the house as well as our rooms allways clean!
The most precious souvenirs from Marrakech are kept in our heart and mind, not in the cabin luggage!

P.S. Just one tiny thing: Beakfast has some potential left in regards of variety (e.g. eggs, fruit, müesli, or so...)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

The riad was beautiful, the room was clean and had charming Moroccan decor, and the manager was very kind and helpful. He came to the airport to pick us up, walked us all the way to Jamaa el Fna to show the way, and when we were back at the riad in the night opened the rooftop deck for us to sit and relax no matter what time. Room was air-conditioned, which was a nice plus in summer.

The only downside we found was the location - it took us good 20 to 30 minutes to go back to the hotel from the center of medina, Jamaa el Fna. The riad was a bit hard to find, the roads around the riad were dark, and there were many local guys willing to guide you to the riad for small tip. The area was not un-safe, but we (both female) felt almost uncomfortable being talked to and followed by these guys every few steps.

All said, still think this is a pretty good choice because of the comfort, value for price and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad La Maison Nomade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Maison Nomade

Address: Sidi Benslimane, Kaa Sour, Derb Sidi Ahmed | El Barje No. 94, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #572 of 1,071 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad La Maison Nomade 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Riad La Maison Nomade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Maison Nomade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.