We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff!! Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa Del Sol, Marrakech, Morocco

Save Saved
You added La Casa Del Sol, Marrakech, Morocco to your Saves list
La Casa Del Sol, Marrakech, Morocco
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa Del Sol, Marrakech, Morocco
No 03 Derb Tijani/Mouassine, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 182 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great staff!! Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights and loved our experience. The airport transport is worth much more than the €15 price. The staff is friendly and provides free hookah and mint tea. Great location near the main square. Very authentic feel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
4
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

La Casa Del Sol is a riad in the center of the soaq in the Medina at Marrakech. Phone the hostel and yr host will meet you at the Argana Cafe in the medina to show you the way to the hostel. Accomadation styles are varied and some with ensuite. Being riad it was a good refuge during the heat of the Marrakech day. Hostel is clean, safe, good staff and a continental breakfast is 25 dh. Being in the Medina you are close to the activities that are going during the day and late into the night.

Room Tip: Hostel is very quiet so all rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in July 2009, Very central, you might need local help to find it if you have just arrived in the city as the souk's can be a bit maze like and intimidating, but you get used to it quick and its a very interesting place. The Riad is lovely with an entrance off the main street so its quiet and feels safe. Staff where very friendly and helpful, you can have all the mint tea you can drink and smoke a hooka if you wish up on the lovely roof terrace. No air conditioning which is tough if your not used to the heat but plenty of fans, and its worth the sweat to stay somewhere that feels like an authentic Moroccan accommodation. They do a great breakfast with fresh orange juice, sweet breads, teas and jam. Would definitely return if I ever make it back to Morocco.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Central location in the medina, but I had a few difficulties finding it in the first place, there are no signs that guide and lead you towards the hostel. My single room was very clean and staff was welcoming. Unfortunately the wifi was not working with my device (iPhone) and I couldn't make use of it. Furthermore, it was freezing cold at night (no heater) and the room is badly soundproofed. I pretty much woke up every time a door opened/closed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Situated in the Souk just 3 mins from the main square, this small riad is in an ideal location.
Ring the bell for entry gives that bit more security.
The staff are friendly, helpful and speak good English.
The room was small but clean, which suited my needs as I wasn't there to spend all holiday in my room!
As a solo female traveller I felt safe in this location.
Highly recommended .
Thank you to all who work there.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barce
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Are you looking for a place to stay in Marrakech? That's the place!

A cozy, clean and quite place in the middle of the Soho.

The staff is really nice and friendly, not just a person behind the desk. They help you in all you need and you can have good conversations with them sharing a shisha and a cup of moroccan tea. Excellent hosts!

It is clean and all the rooms has air conditioned, very important during the warm summer. Moreover, it is inside the Marrakech's Medina, at a few meters from the main square, but at the same time, in a very quite street.

Doubtlessly, one of the best places to stay in Marrakech. We had booked just 2 nights and after a couple of nights there, we decided to book for more nights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guciap
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed there only one night when we were in Marrakesh but the place is pretty nice!
Its well situated just next to the famous marrakesh square jam el fna, like 4 minutes walking.
the place is nice decorated, you have shower and toilet downstairs to your disposition.
staff was nice and very helpful , giving you map and all informations that you need. reception is open 24h per day and they let us leave our baggage for all day without any extra cost.
the riad is clean and very nice.
breakfast offered for only 220dirhams was very tastful and fresh.
there is wifi and sheeshe for free every day.
it has also very beautiful roof tarrace.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Casa Del Sol, Marrakech, Morocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Del Sol, Marrakech, Morocco

Address: No 03 Derb Tijani/Mouassine, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 182 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your La Casa Del Sol, Marrakech, Morocco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Sol, Marrakech, Morocco Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa Del Sol, Marrakech, Morocco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.