We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern Riad set in mysterious Marrakech, with some observations...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Olema & Spa

Save Saved
You added Riad Olema & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Olema & Spa
31-32, Derb Sidi Ahmed ou Moussa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Nice modern Riad set in mysterious Marrakech, with some observations...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

We chose this Riad because of the reviews here and some french sites. We stayed in the Suite Histoire d'O for 4 nights and paid 220 Euros a night. In retrospect we found this quite prizey, compared to other Riads and hotels. For instance you have the marvellous La Maison Arabe, 2 minutes walk away, with 20 - 30 rooms of different styles, three restaurants, a lovely pianobar, swimmingpool, outdoor sittingareas, a wonderful Spa, and complimentary shuttle and access to their closeby Golf Club - all very authentic and high quality, and secluded within a quite large space very close by, - and you are not paying much more for any more for all those services and rooms than for the rooms in the Riad Olema basically. Some rooms were even cheaper.

Although they served nice breakfast, you had to book dinner at lunchtime since the kitchen otherwise was closed in the evenings... They had a Jacuzzi on the roof that seemed nice, but that was out of order when we stayed there - also the Jacuzzi was right above our Suite, - and you could hear the motor going at times unfortunately. They had a tiny cute pool in the patio, but the owner bathed there sometimes so we felt we would intrude his privacy so we did'nt bother since he also had the room next to the pool when we stayed there...... (no further comments)

Also there was a small Hammam and some rooms for beautytreatments that you could order. I did, and was very content, but again you can get the same treatments at approx. the same prizelevel at more exclusive Riadhotels like the La Maison Arabe for instance.

I do have to give some extraordinary compliments though to Sandy (the directrise) and the service of the staff that was really wonderful! She helped us in every possible way with bookings, recommendations ecc. ecc. and was ever so serviceminded - so that made it special for us!

Other than that; nicely situated with walking distance to main sites: the Djmnaa el Fna (10 - 15 min), the Souks (10 min), Cafe Arabe (10 min), Jardin Majorelle (15 - 20 minutes) ecc ecc.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    30
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
120
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

Stayed in Olema for a week in July and absolutely loved it! The professionality of the staff , the quality of the food together with the luxurious surrounding ( What a spa!) made our stay all so memorable! Will definitely go back with friends and family !

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssyMP
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

Riad Olema is right in the middle of Marrakech down a little alleyway but once you open the door you are in a bright airy hotel that wouldn't look out of place in Paris or a design magazine. We arrived late but had ordered our food over the phone and we were served, unrushed, a delicious meal by charming staff (Ziad). Afterwards we went up to the beautiful roof terrace and soaked up the sounds of Marrakech with a good bottle of wine.
The weather was boiling and so Olema was the perfect place to come back, relax and cool down in the small pool or roof top jacuzzi.
Breakfast was great beautiful fresh orange juice and crepes. The atmosphere was very relaxed and the staff went out of their way to be friendly. Ziad went for miles to find us a taxi when we left.
The only critism I'd have was our meeting with Sandy the owner, perhaps we got her on a bad day but she was hyper defensive when we asked about the 5% surcharge for credit cards, we were not refusing to pay just checking through the bill. Everyone has their off days but she was the only person to make us feel uncomfortable and it slightly spoiled our experience right at the end of our stay which was a shame. I would like to return as it was probably just a once off.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

A really lovely hotel. Excellent service with such friendly staff.
We felt like VIP's throughout our stay.
Beautiful decoration and comfort!
We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centre
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Now this Riad is really something else. Comfort, quiet, superb spa for relaxing after a day out. The staff are friendly and helpful and this is one riad it is worth going out of one's way for! The restoration is also very interesting, for anybody interested in restoring old buildings, the Olema has an interesting book retracing the way between "then" and now.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Stayed here in May 2009. Sandy, Phillippe and all the staff made us feel very welcome, especially as it was our first time in the city. After the hustle and bustle of walking in Marrakech this place was a tranquil haven with relaxing spa facilities. The upstairs terrace a great spot to catch the sun. We also ate here on a couple of evenings, the homemade food was delicious and they have a good selection of wine. An extra plus we had very early flights returning to London and they happily gave us a very early breakfast. Would definitely go back - they were completing the jacuzzi on the terrace when we stayed so it would be great to see this finished!

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

We visited this riad for lunch on the charming roof terrace, but would certainly return to stay. The French-owned Olema has been been cleverly designed and beautifully decorated, providing spacious and airy rooms, top of the range facilities and professional and attentive staff. Having visited Marrakech 6-7 times over that past few years I must say that the meal we had at Riad Olema was amongst the best - perhaps the best - we've eaten at an riad, hotel or restaurant in a city where food and service can be patchy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Olema & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Olema & Spa

Address: 31-32, Derb Sidi Ahmed ou Moussa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Olema & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Olema & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.