We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Riad, but difficult to find” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Olema & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Olema & Spa to your Saves list
Riad Olema & Spa
31-32, Derb Sidi Ahmed ou Moussa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 1,079 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Jacksonville, FL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice Riad, but difficult to find”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

In January, my husband and I stayed at the Riad Olema in Marrakech. It was so nice and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. They have a nice rooftop area to sit and have drinks, or in warm weather, perhaps dinner. We had a nice dinner of tajine that was very welcome after our nightmare of trying to find the place. We drove to Marrakech from Casablanca, and had an extremely difficult time finding the Riad. If you are arriving by plane or train, someone will meet you and escort you there, but my advice if you are driving... stay somewhere else. There is an obscure little parking lot in which you leave your car, then about a five minute walk to the hotel. It was nice, but not worth the hassle.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadolema, Propriétaire at Riad Olema & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
I'm extremely disapointed by your feedback.

You are rating us 3 star ie Average rating only because you were not able to find the riad easely. This is one of the worst rating we have received since our opening more than 4 years ago.

You are mentioning that the staff is great as well as the food , and you are giving us 5 star for cleanness .

We did send you a plan from the medina Where Riad Olemaspa is clearly indicated .
All riads in the heart of the medina (old town )are located in small streets. Some streets are so narrow that a car can not park at the front door.

All riads are difficult to find when you are on your own especially when you do not speak the language and when street names are rarely indicated.

I also wondering why you did not park your car at the parking in front of the Bab Doukkala Mosque which less than 3 min from our riad and is a safe area.

Our clients very rarely drive a car and in 99% of the cases they are collected by our driver from the airport at Marrakech or Casablanca. The cost of renting a car from Casabalanca is equivalent to a car pick up by our driver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    33
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
122
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I staied at the Riad Olema with my wife and my 8-months baby for 4 days during the Easter holday at the Riad Olema and I have to say that Sandy and her staff made our holiday even more pleasant. The hotel is very well located (inside the Medina), the accomodations were complete and clean, the solarium is worth to spend a whole afternoon and the spa is a must-go to have at least the simple massage. The staff was very kind and attencious to my family and the food was delightful.

Definitely, the Riad Olema is a place to stay in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

From the moment we arrived at Marrakech airport until we left the team at the Riad Olema Spa made our stay amazing. The airport transfer was simple and professional. When we arrived, Sandy welcomed us with a morrocan tradition of mint tea then asked us what we wanted from our trip. She gave us all the local tips and places to visit. She arranged our restaurants for the evenings and was always available and helpful. The Riad is exactly like the photo's and is perfectly placed for ever eventuality. I would happily reccommend this Riad as the best place to stay in Marrakech.

Room Tip: We had the Oriental room and it was amazing and just like the photos. To be fair, all the rooms were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We spent 4 days here at the end of May and had an excellent experience. Before we arrived Philippe was happy to answer all my queries and even telephoned me in Ireland to make further suggestions. We were met at the airport by a really nice driver who took us to the mosque nearest the riad where he handed us over directly to one of the charming staff and we were escorted on the 3 minute walk to this charming place. We were met by the Manager who arranged mint tea and nibbles and even though it was late, arranged to have a meal prepared for us. I think I can safely say that it was in fact the nicest meal we had thoughout our stay, and we had no complaints anywhere else. I recommend the chicken tagine, delicious. The room was just beside the pool, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was a great way to start the day and there was far too much to eat, with a fabulous array. We received great advice as to what to see and do and how best to take care of ourselves. A car was arranged to take us on a day trip, again with an extremely nice driver who was full of interesting cultural information. The staff were efficient but relaxed and friendly. My advice is to have at least one meal there and to take the airport transfers, particularly if this is your first visit. My only complaint was that the trip was too short. I'm looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We booked the full Riad for 8 people, as we had a conference in Marrakesh. it was the perfect place to get a rest after a long day. Very quite place with nice, pleasant staff, that took care of us during the stay.
Very clean with great bathrooms. I can only recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Only 8 rooms. Very nicely decorated and very nice staff. Great food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

my husband and I spend 4 days/ 3 nights in this fab riad!! from the very first moment we arrived, all was made by the staff and the owners in order to make our staying relaxing and confortable. We had a welcome mint tea with refreshing towels at our arrival, and a very tasty dinner in the relaxing patio of the riad . the room was tiny but charming and cosy, provided with everything. We left Marrakech for a "one day excursion" on an early sunday morning and there were no problems to have early (6.15) breakfast served . on the day we left Marrakech we had a late flight and had the possibility to have the use of our room until our departure, at 17,00 where as normally the check out is at 12,00.
All the staff was helpfull but never pressing, just like the owner, Mrs. Sandy, very cheerish and nice. Thank you so much for the lovely time, we are surely coming back, Morocco is wonderful!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Olema & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Olema & Spa

Address: 31-32, Derb Sidi Ahmed ou Moussa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 1,079 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Prestigia so you can book your Riad Olema & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Olema & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.