We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alamir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Riad Alamir to your Saves list
Riad Alamir
My Abdellah Ben Hsein | Ksour, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our biggest concerns going to Marrakech in July were good air conditioning and location. The air conditioning was great, the location is perfect, almost among the suks and a quick walk to the center square. Noise was never an issue, it is so tightly wrapped in the middle of the medina that you have zero street noise. The staff was amazing! So nice and helpful. They arranged transportation from the airport which was essential as everyone says. They also helped arrange two day trips, one to the Atlas Mountains and one to Essaouira. They were both fantastic and the driver, Abdul was great! The breakfast that is included is really impressive and the times that they offer it were flexible while we were there to allow us to leave early for our day trips. Granted this was the slow season during Ramadan. The bathroom door is a curtain, so stay with people you are comfortable with. Other than that, I would not have changed a thing about the stay, really a fantastic place. I would highly recommend it to friends, families or it would be great for a romantic getaway as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    60
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
67
129
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend with 2 girlfriends. Fantastic central location, close to the Medina and various local sites. The hotel was comfortable and fairly modern. The room was a good size and quiet. The only down side was the shower which flooded the bathroom each time but it wasnt a major issue. Also there is no bathroom door just a curtain, fine if you are close friends or a couple. Overall a fantastic trip and a great base. The staff were friendly and helpful, most of all Rashied who recommended an amazing local restaurant for us and various walking routes. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

After being traveling for 3 months I was getting tired of staying in hotels. As soon as I got at this Riad I just felt at home. The staff are just amazing. They definitely make you feel welcome. Beautiful breakfast and make sure you book a dinner there. It's totally worth. The location is perfect. Just a short walk to restaurants and the medina. I'd like to thanks to everyone from Riad Alamir. You guys made my stay in Marrakech really special.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Even though we hadn't actually booked this Riad (we'd booked another one, nearby, and there was some confusion around that initially), we adored everything about the Riad Alamir. The staff were incredibly helpful and welcoming - no one more than our absolute favourite person, Rachid: he was a constant source of advice and help and always welcomed us back to the Riad with a bright smile. My cousin and I stayed five nights and were so well taken care of, we felt we were in a boutique hotel. It's all the small touches that count in a place like this: delicious breakfast; perfect location near the Bab Ksour; beautiful, peaceful roof terrace; tranquil courtyard with pool; and a spotless, cool, cozy room. Superb all round.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

A fantastic riad, staying at the Alamir made our visit to Marrakech totally memorable! Beautifully decorated with a lovely plunge pool in the central courtyard. Perfect location, just a 5 minute walk to the Djemaa el Fna square, it also provided a perfect escape from all the hustle and bustle.
The staff were extremely helpful, Rashid in particular, and the breakfasts were delicious.
Our room was comfortable and clean but the bathroom a little basic. There was just a curtain to separate the bathroom from the bedroom and unfortunately we had a shower that sprayed water in every direction so we had to endure a little flooding after every shower. This is just a minor hitch, and I would definately return to the Alamir if I am lucky enough to visit Marrakech again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We arranged with the Raid to have a car collect us from the airport which was the best thing we did as we would never have found it, ever.. it was located down some narrow alley ways which were undergoing resurfacing, The staff were very welcoming with mint tea and gave us a map and pointed out all the points of interest, places to eat etc. Our room was located on the top floor, it was very pleasant with a four poster bed and was very bright as it overlooked the terrace. The shower area and toilet are seperated from the room by means of a curtain, so you can't be shy!! it is a very quiet and peaceful place which is a welcome relief from the hustle and bustle of the souks. The traditional breakfast was lovely and served on the terrace, which being just outside our bedroom window meant we had even less privacy, especially as the other guests ate breakfast there too. I used to put my IPOD on and have music playing whilst we were getting ready, in order to gain a little privacy! The Raid is ideally situated, only a few minutes walk away from the main market square Jemaa el-Fnaa. like a previous reviewer says, there is no lock on the door, but the chap on reception (can't remember his name!) gave us a padlock to use. it is a lovely riad and i would recommend it for couples, i can't comment on families as we didn't see any of the other rooms, but our was lovely if you can cope with limited privacy!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I am so so happy that we booked this beautiful Riad...it truly is a perfect retreat from the hustle and bustle of the medina in Marrakech! I booked the Riad for myself, my husband and sister-in-law based on the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We stayed here for 2 nights before we did a 5 day tour into the desert and then came back here for our final night before flying home. We all shared a room which was lovely and clean and there was plenty of space for all 3 of us and our luggage. The rest of the Riad really is stunning and a plunge pool in the reception area made the place look extra special. The staff were incredible...a special thank you to Rashid, the night guard who was extremely helpful and accommodating and to the kitchen staff who made super tasty breakfasts and mint tea.
It is a little difficult to find at first and we were pleased we took the offer from the Riad and were picked up from the airport. This cost us €15 and took away any stress of travelling there with all our luggage (although we organised our own taxi for the way back which we managed to barter down to €5). Rashid met us from where we were dropped off and escorted us to the Riad. He provided us with a map and pointed out the main areas we wanted to visit during our stay. The Riad is only a 7 minute walk to the main square which was useful as this is where all the amazing markets are and places to eat.
If I return to Marrakech, I will definitely come back to this Riad. For those travellers planning to stay here (and I recommend that you do!), please note that there was no lock on the door. There's a bolt lock on the inside and the outside but no key-lock. Luckily, we had brought a combination lock that we used for when we left the room so it wasn't an issue but keep this in mind when you come here. Other than that, there were no issues. It was very special place and I was sad to say goodbye when we left!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Alamir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alamir

Address: My Abdellah Ben Hsein | Ksour, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#82 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#89 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Alamir is a place which we wanted quite at the same time intimate and friendly, close to the excitement of souks and far from the noise, easily accessible and nevertheless nested everything at the bottom of an alley of the Medina. Placed within one of its most prestigious districts, it is in two minutes of a taxi and in seven minutes on foot of the famous Place Jemaa El Fna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Alamir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Alamir Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Alamir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.