We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay, great location, friendly and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alamir

Save Saved
You added Riad Alamir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com
Riad Alamir
My Abdellah Ben Hsein | Ksour, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Berkshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay, great location, friendly and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is a lovely small hotel in the old city (Medina) of Marrakesh with lots of atmoshphere and in a very convenient location for exploring the city. Breakfast was plentiful, fresh and interesting and was served inside when cool or on the rooftop terrace when warmer. However, if you are a coffee lover, the coffee is not great. During the winter (we were there February) the pool is very very cold. The roof terrace has some nice views of other rooftops and there are nice areas to sit inside. The rooms are clean and well and interestingly decorated but not luxurious. The bathrooms are relatively basic but adequate. Staff are frindly and helpful and very informative about their city. We thoroughly enjoyed staying there and would stay there again. On a previous visit we stayed in a modern hotel in the new city and that wasn't anywhere as good or as convenient. We wouldn't stay in the new city again.

Room Tip: What you see on the website is what you get and all rooms are probably very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    57
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
63
126
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This is a place to stay in Marrakech. A wee bit difficult to find, but a lovely French couple helped us find it. It is difficult to navigate there anyway as street names are almost non existent, but luckily we got there. It is very near the Djemaa el Fna square you just need to find it. There is no name at the door but there is the number - 52. It is next to the El Fnenn Riad which is easier to find. The rooms are lovely, the staff are amazing - really warm and relaxed. The terrace is a lovely place to have your breakfast - crepes, yogurt, fruit, baguette, soft cheese, coffee, fresh orange juice. The owner offered a taxi pick up for 15 euros and dinner for 20 euros, which is a too expensive for what you generally pay in Marrakech. You can take bus 19 from the airport and get off the Djemaa el Fna stop which is the first stop and walk to the riad - 5min walk. On the way back it's the same bus stop. So be wise with your money. There are no doors to the bathroom, but I didn't think there is any problem with it, i.e. curbing one's privacy. It was also quiet and they have very comfortable beds so we slept really well. Go to the terrace at night to see the view of the minaret with the lights. On the whole, a great stay in a lovely place with great service!!!

Room Tip: See the photos, they show the rooms exactly as the rooms are
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed in Marrakesh for 3 days and chose this riad based on reviews and location and was very glad I did. Arranged to be picked up at airport (well worth it) and brought directly to riad which is at the end of one of the many narrow alleys you'll encounter. We never felt unsafe walking to and from attractions in the medina to the riad, even at night. The owner, Stephane, who spoke perfect English, took the time to welcome and brief us on the do's and dont's of life in Marrakesh which provided to be very, very helpful when negotiating for goods and services on our own and making the most of our trip .He also arranged a trip for us to Ourika Valley for the day which was adventurous and fun. Had Wi-Fi in the well decorated interior courtyard, which all rooms faced. Lovely third floor terrace to soak up some warm Moroccan sun, hear the call to prayer, and watch the neighborhood cats prowl around on top of adjacent walls. Delicious and filling traditional breakfast also served up here at the time of your choosing each morning.

Want to emphasize that staff, including Stephane, Rachid and Yassein, made us feel right at home and were always checking on us to see if we were in need of anything.Would recommend this place as it was a quite, welcoming oasis amongst the hustle and bustle of daily life in that city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Stefan the owner was excellent and an incredibly genuine guy and the Riad was well kept, managed and clean. The Riad is excellently placed near to the medina, but still being quiet, however is a bit of a nightmare to find when you arrive, although this is probably the case with most of the riads in the medina area. Stefan will attempt to get you to eat for one night in the RIad at least, which you will find is expensive compared to the local area, however the food is excellent and highly recommended.

We arrived after staying at a beautiful Riad in the Atlas mountains where the staff were constantly out to try and exploit you. We experienced some more of this in Marrakech prior to our arrival so were incredibly jaded of Morocco and the general public. Stefan gave some great advice on places to visit and avoid and General scams that were around which we could have benefitted from on day 1.

If you are reading this on prior to going:
- Dont ask anyone for directions - they will hound you like a dog and attempt to charge you 20d for the pleasure, 90% of the time they will not know where to go.
- Taxi drivers do not know where you are going outside of the medina if they are a brown taxi - dont get in one unless they can answer questions about the area you are going to.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

It looks that the Riad will offer you a friendly and nice place... but you must take care about their conditions. They are some old equiments they haven´t have or remove. The place looks a lovely hotel and the workers are very good, but not the owner, who tried to sell all kind of services but more expensive as outside. Decide by yourself!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Stayed at the Riad Alamir with a group of friends in July/Aug 2011. The location was perfect, being just a short walk from the Medina. The owner Stefan was extremely knowledgeable and helpful, giving advice that enabled us to avoid some of the touristy pitfalls. The staff were wonderful, special mention to Rashid (nothing was too much trouble) and the cook Fatima, who showed us how to prepare a traditional Tagine dish. The room was extremely comfortable, although the bathroom being separated by just a curtain might not be for everyone! Breakfast was plentiful, freshly baked cakes, fruit, bread, jams, yoghurts with coffee/tea. The plunge pool was refreshing after a hot day sightseeing. I would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We only stayed in Riad Alamir for one night before flying out of Marrakech, however we would have happily stayed many more nights. The owner and the night porter (Rachid) were both very accommodating (especially as we were getting up at 5.30am for our flight!). The room was air conditioned and was tastefully decorated and the plunge pool was a great bonus after a long day's travelling from Essaouira.

One thing we would note is that, whilst the location of Riad Alamir is central and excellent for getting around, be sure to get a reliable taxi / airport pick-up if you do not know your way around, because we found some locals were trying to guide new visitors to their riad and then hassle for payment which was somewhat unpleasant. That being said, the staff in the Riad Alamir had no patience for this and were very helpful and insistent on them leaving so we would not hold it against them or the location of the Riad at all.

All in all, this was a great way to spend our last night, and we would have loved a few more!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Alamir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alamir

Also Known As:
Riad Alamir Hotel
Riad Alamir Hotel Marrakech
Address: My Abdellah Ben Hsein | Ksour, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#82 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#88 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Alamir is a place which we wanted quite at the same time intimate and friendly, close to the excitement of souks and far from the noise, easily accessible and nevertheless nested everything at the bottom of an alley of the Medina. Placed within one of its most prestigious districts, it is in two minutes of a taxi and in seven minutes on foot of the famous Place Jemaa El Fna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Alamir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Alamir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.