We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Riad - Better Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alamir

Save Saved
You added Riad Alamir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Alamir
My Abdellah Ben Hsein | Ksour, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Riad - Better Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Stefan the owner was excellent and an incredibly genuine guy and the Riad was well kept, managed and clean. The Riad is excellently placed near to the medina, but still being quiet, however is a bit of a nightmare to find when you arrive, although this is probably the case with most of the riads in the medina area. Stefan will attempt to get you to eat for one night in the RIad at least, which you will find is expensive compared to the local area, however the food is excellent and highly recommended.

We arrived after staying at a beautiful Riad in the Atlas mountains where the staff were constantly out to try and exploit you. We experienced some more of this in Marrakech prior to our arrival so were incredibly jaded of Morocco and the general public. Stefan gave some great advice on places to visit and avoid and General scams that were around which we could have benefitted from on day 1.

If you are reading this on prior to going:
- Dont ask anyone for directions - they will hound you like a dog and attempt to charge you 20d for the pleasure, 90% of the time they will not know where to go.
- Taxi drivers do not know where you are going outside of the medina if they are a brown taxi - dont get in one unless they can answer questions about the area you are going to.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    60
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
66
127
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
world
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

It looks that the Riad will offer you a friendly and nice place... but you must take care about their conditions. They are some old equiments they haven´t have or remove. The place looks a lovely hotel and the workers are very good, but not the owner, who tried to sell all kind of services but more expensive as outside. Decide by yourself!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Stayed at the Riad Alamir with a group of friends in July/Aug 2011. The location was perfect, being just a short walk from the Medina. The owner Stefan was extremely knowledgeable and helpful, giving advice that enabled us to avoid some of the touristy pitfalls. The staff were wonderful, special mention to Rashid (nothing was too much trouble) and the cook Fatima, who showed us how to prepare a traditional Tagine dish. The room was extremely comfortable, although the bathroom being separated by just a curtain might not be for everyone! Breakfast was plentiful, freshly baked cakes, fruit, bread, jams, yoghurts with coffee/tea. The plunge pool was refreshing after a hot day sightseeing. I would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We only stayed in Riad Alamir for one night before flying out of Marrakech, however we would have happily stayed many more nights. The owner and the night porter (Rachid) were both very accommodating (especially as we were getting up at 5.30am for our flight!). The room was air conditioned and was tastefully decorated and the plunge pool was a great bonus after a long day's travelling from Essaouira.

One thing we would note is that, whilst the location of Riad Alamir is central and excellent for getting around, be sure to get a reliable taxi / airport pick-up if you do not know your way around, because we found some locals were trying to guide new visitors to their riad and then hassle for payment which was somewhat unpleasant. That being said, the staff in the Riad Alamir had no patience for this and were very helpful and insistent on them leaving so we would not hold it against them or the location of the Riad at all.

All in all, this was a great way to spend our last night, and we would have loved a few more!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stephane sat us down at the start and gave us great hints of what to do and not to do in Marrakech which made our stay very pleasant. We had dinner in the first night and their Tagine was one of the best we had in Morocco, the Moroccan red wine was also good. Their breakfast were great with freshly squeezed orange juice. The room was very comfy. They also supplied us with ice to make our G & T's in the evening

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The atmosphere in the ryad is very friendly. There is a ambiance crated by the owner - he makes an extra effort to give general advice about Marrakech - food, places to visit, safety and is well informed about the history of Morocco. The staff are very hospitable and would do anything to make you feel welcome. The mint tea is lovely and is a real treat after a long walk in the maze of the souks in the old town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Perfect location under ten minutes walk to Square but in a very quiet back lane. The owner arranged an efficient transfer from the airport, or you could take a taxi for about 80 Dirham. then a barrow man to guide you the last couple of minutes.
We were welcomed with mint tea and a brief introduction to the area, plus information on how to get to some places we wanted to go. The room was clean, had a bath, and the airconditioning worked (unlike many places advertised as having air conditioning) . Breakfast on the roof terrace was very good quality for Morocco and was accompanied by the owner chatting with everybody to check all was well.
The owner will arrange tours, cooking lessons etc if you want
There were no downsides for us

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Alamir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alamir

Address: My Abdellah Ben Hsein | Ksour, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#83 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#91 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Alamir is a place which we wanted quite at the same time intimate and friendly, close to the excitement of souks and far from the noise, easily accessible and nevertheless nested everything at the bottom of an alley of the Medina. Placed within one of its most prestigious districts, it is in two minutes of a taxi and in seven minutes on foot of the famous Place Jemaa El Fna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Alamir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Alamir Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Alamir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.