We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful room.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Loula

Save Saved
You added Dar Loula to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 7 more sites!
Dar Loula
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102, derb Sabaa | Quartier Berrima - Médina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #327 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Most beautiful room.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Being on a budget travelling you never know what your going to get hotel wise.
This place has surprised me by its simple beauty.
Cheap and 10 minutes from the square!
Because its away from the square it's very quite and almost a santuary from all the hot dusty travelling in morocco.
Keep a look out when you come by taxi from the train/bus station (40 dirham)as there is a little black sign on the left hanging that says hotel dar loula.
Also wifi in the room.
Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
1
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Riad is situated very close to the El Badi Palace and the top terrace is a great vantage point to see the storks nesting on the ramparts. It is about a 10-15 minute fairly straightforward walk to the Djemaa el fna square. My partner was on his motorbike and was able to park in a secured parking area very close to the Riad. We did not feel especially welcomed by the staff. Not sure if this is because the Riad is up for sale. We sussed this as on several occasions an estate agent was showing clients round and we spoke to the estate agent. We had a room at the front of Riad and found it quite noisy with sounds from nearby road (even with shutters closed) The hot tub was never used during the week we stayed. We were not offered a "free hot tub" as offered as an incentive to guests staying more than 4 days. We were asked to pay in cash even though the website said payment would be taken by credit card.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I booked this Riad by going on the reviews even if they were slightly mixed. The rooms seemed lovely with a Moroccan look. So thought what the hell and booked it for 3 nights for my other halfs fortieth and am so glad i did. They couldn't have been more helpful as soon as I had booked I received an email from them checking I was happy with the booking. I also contacted them to ask if a birthday cake could be organised as a surprise and immediately was emailed back to to say it was not a problem and they would arrange for it to be presented on the roof terrace on his birthday. They also arranged transfers to and from the hotel for 15 euros each way, not per person!
When we arrived our taxi was waiting with a sign and he was really lovely and helpful. As you walk into the Riad it opens into a cosy little seating area with the rooms upstairs and just made us feel at home straight away. We walked into a small room with a lovely wrought iron bed draped with material with a lovely moroccan feel to it. To be honest I really cant describe the room or Riad enough to do it justice, we just fell in love with the quaintness of it all! My only complaint was it did smell damp and felt a little damp but not so you would be worried about mold growing on your clothes. I think it was more to do with it being March and the roof being enclosed and not enough air being circulated through the Riad, the window in our room just looked out into the Riad, so you couldnt even get air in from outside but to be honest we hardly noticed it. There isnt much room to store clothes just a wardrobe and would advise, if you can, take some hangers with you! Apart from that we loved it, it was warm, dry and welcoming. Breakfast is basic with pancakes, assortment of rolls with jam and honey and tea or coffee with fresh squeezed orange juice, basic but we found it filling but be warned it is the same everyday!

The lady who was there in the mornings was lovely and so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The Saturday it rained so I booked a massage and within half hour of me asking she had the masseur turn up and perform a lovely relaxing massage, which was definitely needed after all the walking we had done!!
On the sunday it was my partners birthday and at 5pm the lovely lady had set up champagne glasses, we bought our own champagne, and produced this amazing fresh cream gateau that was to die for!!!!! She laid it all out on the terrace and even sang happy birthday with me!!!! With only us and 2 young lads staying it felt like our own place to just sit and relax after a long day in the Souks.
The Riad is about a 10 min brisk walk but be WARNED the roads are treacherous with on coming cars but mainly bikes and scooters, they dont stop for anyone and will ride into you if you don't move! When i say they don't stop I literally mean they don't stop and its even worse in the narrow alley's of the Medina and Souks! Walk on the right side and don't just look right and left when crossing a road or turning a corner , look front , back, right and left, you do literally need eyes in the back of your head!!
I would also advise you read up on other peoples blogs of Marrakesh as you can really be conned if you don't have some understanding of being a tourist in Morocco, the best information i came across was from http://wikitravel.org/en/Marrakech. I found this site sooooo helpful on expected prices and just general information that helped especially when we got conned going to see the tannery and got told it was 450 MAD to be shown around and photos, after they took us, I stood my ground told them I would pay 100 no more as I wasn't told of a cost and made my self look very confident, even though I was worried when others got involved. Look confident and dont be intimidated and just calmly walk off and if you can startt talking to other tourists they tend to leave you alone. They will try anything to get money off you including "guiding" you through the Souks telling you its one way or you are going the "wrong" way or that way is closed, its not they cant be closed off and if people are walking that way its definitely not closed!! They will guide you back the way you came, then another will appear and take you another way and this will go on and on then and some will demand money from you, tell them no and you will find your own way and just ignore them as they folllow you they soon get bored In the Souks it is signposted with green or red signs to take you back to the square, just follow them and you will get out by yourself even if they do take you round the houses!
This site also lets you know the sort of prices you should expect to pay on all sorts of things. Arm yourself with knowledge and common sense and you will be fine, I might of made it sound scary and even armed with info it was still scary on the first day but after the first day it was a doddle and great fun bartering and avoiding so call "guides"! If you are worried just hire 1 of the many licensed guides who will take you around for a small fee but haggle the price first!

Alcohol , it is a dry country and to find a bar with alcohol in is like looking for gold dust!! You know its there but its hard to find and expensive, bottles average 4-6 quid! We found one and it became our local and also for most of the other tourists we met! The food was amazing as well especially the beef tagine and we felt the prices pretty reasonable, its in the same road as the cinema nearly opposite Brokys shoe shop (sorry forgot the name of it but its the only in one that sells alcohol in that street). So I suggest you buy your own in duty free!

Also definitely try the street food in the Medina the food was amazing, sooo filling and so cheap! It is pretty mad and busy but so worth a try. I dont think we had a bad meal out there.

Most of the Moroccans we came across were very genuine and friendly so I hope I haven't put you off going by mentioning the downsides.

The upsides are its a very beautiful country with amazing places to visit and things to see and is a wonderful experience even if you never go back. Definitely visit the Medina and Souks, barter on all purchases and stick to your guns on price, go on a horse and carriage ride (barter the price), try the street food, be confident but calm when pestered or followed by a "guide", stay in a Riad even its just a few days and just sit and relax and enjoy the sights and sounds of Morroco!
I had booked our summer hols their before we had been and was a tad apprehensive but now after spending several memorable days there I cant wait to go back for 2 weeks and try the excursions and see more of the wonderful place!

Oh P.S if going in March take warm clothing as nights can be cold and days hot but also can be chilly or pouring with rain!!

Room Tip: Look at the photos and pick your room they are accurate
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

27-31 Jan 2013. Very Good value Riad. Clean, small, basic breakfast. Excellent position to explore Marrakech, close to the Old Palace Royal, 10-15 mins walk to the Square and the Souks. Some english spoken, Rooms are small ours had two singles, not a lot of storage and got very damp. You can get a small beer £3/4 approx. If you drink sprits take your own, alchol is very expensive everywhere in Marrakech, you cannot get alchol on the square. Don't pay more than 100 dirham for airport transfers. When you get of the plane, don't queue at the exchange in the baggage area there are 5 more in the arrivals lounge with no queues and the same rates. All currencies are changed, however I would advise Dirhams and Euro's are taken in hotels/Riads to pay bills with a good rate and no commission charges. Out and about, I didn't feel uncomfortable during the day wearing a sleeveless top, but did cover up at nights, there was girls who wore shorts and vests etc. We found the Max you should pay for a decent 2 course meal is approx 7.50 euro's (75 Dirhams approx.) but you can pay 45 euros for the same meal be carefull where you eat!. Near the raid (turn right when you get to the bottom of the alley from the Riad) keep going round the walls of the Palace Royal you will come to a small square on the right hand side, in there is the Kozy Bar, an excellent place to watch the Storks, but drinks and food expensive, walk upto the square and eat in one of the roof top restaurants check prices first! Try the food market at night, a bit like a cattle market but cheep, good food and a good experience, they will bring you food you haven't asked for make sure you tell them to take it away or you will pay! On your last night, the Riad will ask you for a Tourisum tax approx 5 euros per room per night! We had a great time, the Riad did the job, Marrekech was great, the people are friendly however you will be asked for a present just for looking!! It didn;t spoil our holiday, just be firm and say NO they get the message. ENJOY x

Room Tip: Put your towels/bath mat outside on the bannister to dry. Take your clothes in a dry cleaner bag to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in this little oasis, it is brilliant value for money, the room although small was lovely, it was very clean,had a/c and heating, constant hot water, the breakfast is basic but for the price you pay it is good (it is included) Wifi was available everywhere, the roof terrace was just lovely with stunning views, hassan the manager was very helpful, he even let us leave luggage with them while we went off to Casablanca.

Room Tip: Our room had a window that opened outside, some only open into the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

The riad is in Berrima which is only a short distance from the airport and you can easily walk to the main square within 10 minutes. Our twin room was small with very little storage but the beds were comfy and it was cleaned every day.
The breakfast was simple - an assortment of bread, fresh juice and tea or coffee.
We spent a lot of time on the terrace on the 2nd floor which has a jacuzzi but was not working as the hotel was undergoing extensive decorating whilst we were there.
What you got for your money was good value but don't expect luxury. Also brush up on a few French phrases as very little English was spoken but the staff were very pleasant. Rooms had air con - which was much needed - also take advantage of the hotel ordering a taxi back to the airport - at 150 Dh it was 100 less than the charge getting there straight out if the airport.

Marrakech in general was a bit disappointing. Endless harassment and being ripped off by locals wanting cash for the smallest of directions became very annoying. Being two women alone was at times nerve racking and one very unpleasant experience walking across a road when I was spat at by a man on a push bike was upsetting.

The bar & restaurant which was a haven and only 5 mins walk from the hotel was koseybar - not the cheapest but similar to a decent restaurant in the uk - would definitely recommend.

Another tip would be to have small denominations of notes if possible as you rarely get change in the restaurants!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

This is a sweet little riad with lots of unpretentious character. Beautiful courtyard and roof terrace with views across marrakesh and of the storks that nest on the royal palace a stone's throw away. They can't do enough for you here. The only minor issue (as with anything in marrakesh) is that they really want you to book your excursions through them rather than your operator and you find yourself almost sneaking around to go on excursions because they get a bit huffy.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Loula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Loula

Also Known As:
Dar Loula Hotel
Dar Loula Hotel Marrakech
Address: 102, derb Sabaa | Quartier Berrima - Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Loula 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Dar Loula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Loula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.