We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in Rome (Marrakech)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Loula

Save Saved
You added Dar Loula to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dar Loula
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102, derb Sabaa | Quartier Berrima - Médina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #294 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“When in Rome (Marrakech)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

27-31 Jan 2013. Very Good value Riad. Clean, small, basic breakfast. Excellent position to explore Marrakech, close to the Old Palace Royal, 10-15 mins walk to the Square and the Souks. Some english spoken, Rooms are small ours had two singles, not a lot of storage and got very damp. You can get a small beer £3/4 approx. If you drink sprits take your own, alchol is very expensive everywhere in Marrakech, you cannot get alchol on the square. Don't pay more than 100 dirham for airport transfers. When you get of the plane, don't queue at the exchange in the baggage area there are 5 more in the arrivals lounge with no queues and the same rates. All currencies are changed, however I would advise Dirhams and Euro's are taken in hotels/Riads to pay bills with a good rate and no commission charges. Out and about, I didn't feel uncomfortable during the day wearing a sleeveless top, but did cover up at nights, there was girls who wore shorts and vests etc. We found the Max you should pay for a decent 2 course meal is approx 7.50 euro's (75 Dirhams approx.) but you can pay 45 euros for the same meal be carefull where you eat!. Near the raid (turn right when you get to the bottom of the alley from the Riad) keep going round the walls of the Palace Royal you will come to a small square on the right hand side, in there is the Kozy Bar, an excellent place to watch the Storks, but drinks and food expensive, walk upto the square and eat in one of the roof top restaurants check prices first! Try the food market at night, a bit like a cattle market but cheep, good food and a good experience, they will bring you food you haven't asked for make sure you tell them to take it away or you will pay! On your last night, the Riad will ask you for a Tourisum tax approx 5 euros per room per night! We had a great time, the Riad did the job, Marrekech was great, the people are friendly however you will be asked for a present just for looking!! It didn;t spoil our holiday, just be firm and say NO they get the message. ENJOY x

Room Tip: Put your towels/bath mat outside on the bannister to dry. Take your clothes in a dry cleaner bag to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in this little oasis, it is brilliant value for money, the room although small was lovely, it was very clean,had a/c and heating, constant hot water, the breakfast is basic but for the price you pay it is good (it is included) Wifi was available everywhere, the roof terrace was just lovely with stunning views, hassan the manager was very helpful, he even let us leave luggage with them while we went off to Casablanca.

Room Tip: Our room had a window that opened outside, some only open into the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

The riad is in Berrima which is only a short distance from the airport and you can easily walk to the main square within 10 minutes. Our twin room was small with very little storage but the beds were comfy and it was cleaned every day.
The breakfast was simple - an assortment of bread, fresh juice and tea or coffee.
We spent a lot of time on the terrace on the 2nd floor which has a jacuzzi but was not working as the hotel was undergoing extensive decorating whilst we were there.
What you got for your money was good value but don't expect luxury. Also brush up on a few French phrases as very little English was spoken but the staff were very pleasant. Rooms had air con - which was much needed - also take advantage of the hotel ordering a taxi back to the airport - at 150 Dh it was 100 less than the charge getting there straight out if the airport.

Marrakech in general was a bit disappointing. Endless harassment and being ripped off by locals wanting cash for the smallest of directions became very annoying. Being two women alone was at times nerve racking and one very unpleasant experience walking across a road when I was spat at by a man on a push bike was upsetting.

The bar & restaurant which was a haven and only 5 mins walk from the hotel was koseybar - not the cheapest but similar to a decent restaurant in the uk - would definitely recommend.

Another tip would be to have small denominations of notes if possible as you rarely get change in the restaurants!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

This is a sweet little riad with lots of unpretentious character. Beautiful courtyard and roof terrace with views across marrakesh and of the storks that nest on the royal palace a stone's throw away. They can't do enough for you here. The only minor issue (as with anything in marrakesh) is that they really want you to book your excursions through them rather than your operator and you find yourself almost sneaking around to go on excursions because they get a bit huffy.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

This place was amazing. We just got back two days ago and im suffering severly with the holiday blues. Morrocco esp. Marrakech was such a beautiful experience with friendly ppl, lovely views, beautiful culture and vibrant decor and our stay at the riad dar loula was the cherry on top. U just warm to the day time manager khadija, even though language was a barrier. Nothing was too much. Breakfast was simple and the same every day but when we bought our own fruit one day and asked her to serve that to us the next morning as well as the breakfast, it was no trouble. One day we also craved eggs so bought some on our way home one night and the next morning cooked it ourselves. On our last day, khadija surprised us with eggs with traditional fried bread and the eggs were made exactly the way we made them. This attention to detail really touched our hearts. The rooms and bathrooms were clean but as the walls were cement/plastered walls, the shower water left tide marks but, that doesnt mean it wasnt clean. We felt at times we were in our own house, thats how comfortable we were. The decor was traditional and charscteristic to morroccon living. We also made fruends with the friendly hairdressers at the corner and hassan the night shift staff was a wee bit grumpy sometimes but no hassle and looked after us well too. I want to go baaaaccckkkk - its a country iv fallen in love with. And i will b going back to the same riad, more so to catch up with the friends we made as well as to the riad.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Depends what you are looking for. We met a french woman working for the local university. For people who are interested in longer stay and want save the money like this woman is certainly a good choice. For us - one of the worst places we have ever stayed.

Dusty room

Breakfast - every day the same set: coffee, juice, 1 roll, 1 pancake, jam, honey. Do not expect even an egg for breakfast in any form ... What about people who do not eat sweet things? no comment

Jacuzzi on the roof with a cold water only
10 minutes walk distance from the main square
Very fond memories of the man from reception (worked in the evenings) - gave many helpful suggestions and helped us save money on trips

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Cannington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Really nice little Riad. Warm welcome and friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were clean and basic but for the money they were beyond excellent. Nice roof terrace to read and relax after a busy day in the city.
Owner organised taxi from the airport with a man waiting in arrivals with a sign for 150dh (approx £11 GBP) which I would say is a must as its not the easiest place to find.
Asked for an evening meal which surpassed expectations, having Chicken Tagine and vegetables along with bread and a dessert, was so much we couldnt eat it all !!
Nice breakfast of pancakes bread and cake, served with fresh orange juice and the choice of tea or coffee.
Rooms serviced daily.
Would definately return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Loula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Loula

Address: 102, derb Sabaa | Quartier Berrima - Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#116 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Loula 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dar Loula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Loula Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Loula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.