We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing... Not the ritz but why would u want that if u can experience traditional morrocco...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Loula

Save Saved
You added Dar Loula to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dar Loula
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102, derb Sabaa | Quartier Berrima - Médina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #299 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing... Not the ritz but why would u want that if u can experience traditional morrocco...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

This place was amazing. We just got back two days ago and im suffering severly with the holiday blues. Morrocco esp. Marrakech was such a beautiful experience with friendly ppl, lovely views, beautiful culture and vibrant decor and our stay at the riad dar loula was the cherry on top. U just warm to the day time manager khadija, even though language was a barrier. Nothing was too much. Breakfast was simple and the same every day but when we bought our own fruit one day and asked her to serve that to us the next morning as well as the breakfast, it was no trouble. One day we also craved eggs so bought some on our way home one night and the next morning cooked it ourselves. On our last day, khadija surprised us with eggs with traditional fried bread and the eggs were made exactly the way we made them. This attention to detail really touched our hearts. The rooms and bathrooms were clean but as the walls were cement/plastered walls, the shower water left tide marks but, that doesnt mean it wasnt clean. We felt at times we were in our own house, thats how comfortable we were. The decor was traditional and charscteristic to morroccon living. We also made fruends with the friendly hairdressers at the corner and hassan the night shift staff was a wee bit grumpy sometimes but no hassle and looked after us well too. I want to go baaaaccckkkk - its a country iv fallen in love with. And i will b going back to the same riad, more so to catch up with the friends we made as well as to the riad.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Depends what you are looking for. We met a french woman working for the local university. For people who are interested in longer stay and want save the money like this woman is certainly a good choice. For us - one of the worst places we have ever stayed.

Dusty room

Breakfast - every day the same set: coffee, juice, 1 roll, 1 pancake, jam, honey. Do not expect even an egg for breakfast in any form ... What about people who do not eat sweet things? no comment

Jacuzzi on the roof with a cold water only
10 minutes walk distance from the main square
Very fond memories of the man from reception (worked in the evenings) - gave many helpful suggestions and helped us save money on trips

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Really nice little Riad. Warm welcome and friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were clean and basic but for the money they were beyond excellent. Nice roof terrace to read and relax after a busy day in the city.
Owner organised taxi from the airport with a man waiting in arrivals with a sign for 150dh (approx £11 GBP) which I would say is a must as its not the easiest place to find.
Asked for an evening meal which surpassed expectations, having Chicken Tagine and vegetables along with bread and a dessert, was so much we couldnt eat it all !!
Nice breakfast of pancakes bread and cake, served with fresh orange juice and the choice of tea or coffee.
Rooms serviced daily.
Would definately return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Dispite our taxi driver having trouble finding the place, once inside we knew we had found a real gem. This Riad is small and based round a small courtyard. The ground floor is mainly comfy seating around the courtyard and also where you have breakfast. (This is a simple afair of tea/coffe bread, cake and honey.) The first floor contains 5 of the 6 rooms, all facing into the courtyard. Our room was simple with a large bed, and the bathroom was quirky but fine. The 2nd floor is a roof terrace with sunloungers, hot tub and plenty of seating. It's a good place to watch the sunset and the storks on the palace walls. (We also could pick up next doors wifi up there!!)

All the staff were really helpfull, but only spoke french, greating us with mint tea on arrival and helping us with a taxi on departure.

I'd read the "nightmare" review on here before we went but saw none of those issues while there. It's not a modern 5* Hilton/Travel lodge, but then I wouldn't want it to be. Its a very authentic feeling small guest house with buckets of character.

Room Tip: Don't have the 1 room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed here for a few days. It was a great price, and the staff were so friendly. Breakfast was quite traditionally Moroccan and not huge, but just the right amount and always fresh. The room was a fair size and had everything we needed. The roof terrace was also lovely - a great place to watch the sun go down.
Marrakesh is a beautiful, lively city with loads to see and do - and some great food to try as well.

Room Tip: Try not to get the ground floor room - it doesn't have a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

When I first approached the Hotel in my taxi from the airport, I was suddenly filled with worry. Tucked away in an alley in the old (stranger) part of town I was expecting, to be honest, a hovel. Luckily the actual Hotel was the complete opposite!

The Riad is like staying in a friends house; the staff are friendly and happy, the rooms are cosy and homely and the breakfast is simple yet filling. As a group of two young girls (both under 21), the hotel felt safe and comfortable. The air conditioning was very lovely, and super strong, just what you need in a summer in Morocco. The rooms had lovely traditional furniture and fabrics and it felt authentic - which for me, was exactly what I was aiming for.

You are free to roam around the Riad whenever you like - there is a lovely selection of comfy nooks with sofas and a lovely roof terrace with sun loungers for all important tanning!
Some of the staff are a little strange, and mostly only speak french, but did their best to help us at all times.

I would definitely recommend for affordable, fun travelling!

Room Tip: While we were there we changed rooms twice and peaked into all of them. They are pretty much all of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Before we came to Marrakesh I was a little concerned about finding Dar Loula as different maps placed it in different locations - for those looking to book it, it's through the tinsmith's square, round the corner to the left from the entrance to the Badii Palace - but when we found it we were so glad we'd booked it despite this concern.

The guesthouse is an oasis of tranquillity in a hectic city (the only noise to wake you up is the birds) and it has a beautiful terrace garden which we had to ourselves for most of our stay. We loved our bedroom and large shower, and the hotel interior is magical. The staff are really accommodating too - when we didn't have a small note to pay for a drink we'd bought, the receptionist told us not to worry and to pay him when we got back.

It was so fab that we began to worry the price we'd paid (£200 for a double room for 7 nights) was just a deposit and we were expecting to be charged more when we left - however, the staff just waved us off, leaving us totally surprised! If we return to Marrakesh we will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Loula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Loula

Address: 102, derb Sabaa | Quartier Berrima - Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#116 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Loula 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dar Loula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Loula Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Loula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.