We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of tranquility after the madness of Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Loula

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Loula to your Saves list
Dar Loula
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102, derb Sabaa | Quartier Berrima - Médina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #288 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
Cannington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An Oasis of tranquility after the madness of Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Really nice little Riad. Warm welcome and friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were clean and basic but for the money they were beyond excellent. Nice roof terrace to read and relax after a busy day in the city.
Owner organised taxi from the airport with a man waiting in arrivals with a sign for 150dh (approx £11 GBP) which I would say is a must as its not the easiest place to find.
Asked for an evening meal which surpassed expectations, having Chicken Tagine and vegetables along with bread and a dessert, was so much we couldnt eat it all !!
Nice breakfast of pancakes bread and cake, served with fresh orange juice and the choice of tea or coffee.
Rooms serviced daily.
Would definately return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Dispite our taxi driver having trouble finding the place, once inside we knew we had found a real gem. This Riad is small and based round a small courtyard. The ground floor is mainly comfy seating around the courtyard and also where you have breakfast. (This is a simple afair of tea/coffe bread, cake and honey.) The first floor contains 5 of the 6 rooms, all facing into the courtyard. Our room was simple with a large bed, and the bathroom was quirky but fine. The 2nd floor is a roof terrace with sunloungers, hot tub and plenty of seating. It's a good place to watch the sunset and the storks on the palace walls. (We also could pick up next doors wifi up there!!)

All the staff were really helpfull, but only spoke french, greating us with mint tea on arrival and helping us with a taxi on departure.

I'd read the "nightmare" review on here before we went but saw none of those issues while there. It's not a modern 5* Hilton/Travel lodge, but then I wouldn't want it to be. Its a very authentic feeling small guest house with buckets of character.

Room Tip: Don't have the 1 room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed here for a few days. It was a great price, and the staff were so friendly. Breakfast was quite traditionally Moroccan and not huge, but just the right amount and always fresh. The room was a fair size and had everything we needed. The roof terrace was also lovely - a great place to watch the sun go down.
Marrakesh is a beautiful, lively city with loads to see and do - and some great food to try as well.

Room Tip: Try not to get the ground floor room - it doesn't have a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

When I first approached the Hotel in my taxi from the airport, I was suddenly filled with worry. Tucked away in an alley in the old (stranger) part of town I was expecting, to be honest, a hovel. Luckily the actual Hotel was the complete opposite!

The Riad is like staying in a friends house; the staff are friendly and happy, the rooms are cosy and homely and the breakfast is simple yet filling. As a group of two young girls (both under 21), the hotel felt safe and comfortable. The air conditioning was very lovely, and super strong, just what you need in a summer in Morocco. The rooms had lovely traditional furniture and fabrics and it felt authentic - which for me, was exactly what I was aiming for.

You are free to roam around the Riad whenever you like - there is a lovely selection of comfy nooks with sofas and a lovely roof terrace with sun loungers for all important tanning!
Some of the staff are a little strange, and mostly only speak french, but did their best to help us at all times.

I would definitely recommend for affordable, fun travelling!

Room Tip: While we were there we changed rooms twice and peaked into all of them. They are pretty much all of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Before we came to Marrakesh I was a little concerned about finding Dar Loula as different maps placed it in different locations - for those looking to book it, it's through the tinsmith's square, round the corner to the left from the entrance to the Badii Palace - but when we found it we were so glad we'd booked it despite this concern.

The guesthouse is an oasis of tranquillity in a hectic city (the only noise to wake you up is the birds) and it has a beautiful terrace garden which we had to ourselves for most of our stay. We loved our bedroom and large shower, and the hotel interior is magical. The staff are really accommodating too - when we didn't have a small note to pay for a drink we'd bought, the receptionist told us not to worry and to pay him when we got back.

It was so fab that we began to worry the price we'd paid (£200 for a double room for 7 nights) was just a deposit and we were expecting to be charged more when we left - however, the staff just waved us off, leaving us totally surprised! If we return to Marrakesh we will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

beautifully restored old riad, well located in Southern part of Medina. Quiet, beautiful terrace, average breakfast, handy travel service - email for airport taxi at 15 euros or 150 dirham. was dreading going after review of place on here as a "nightmare", but very pleased indeed - at £12.50 per night each for b and b - couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: we had safia room - small but well decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

I read the reviews for this Riad and was amazed so had no hesitation in booking it for a week on a B&B basis. I wasnt expecting the Ritz for these prices and I certainly didnt get the Ritz. We had upgraded to a superior room but my goodness it wasnt what we expected. The room was tiny, a small double bed, two bedside lockers that were stuck so they coulndnt be open without a struggle, a little wrought iron coffee table with chairs, a dressing table and a small wardrobe. If that wasnt enought the room was very dirty, the carpets had not been vacuumed in a long time, the dust on the bedstead was thick,and to cut a long story short everything was grubby and shabby. We werent sure if the bed had been changed the sheets were creased and had a few hairs in it, we ended up taking them off and shaking them and putting them back on upside down. Needless to say we didnt sleep very well (late arrival time so couldnt go elsewhere). It's not over folks........the shower had creeping black mould, the light fitting had bare wires and no shade, the towels were disgusting very very thin and hard with ground in dirt and the toilet....well I'll let you use your imagination.
We were offered another room but on inspection they were all the same. Dont know where the standard rooms were, we were taken to all but one of the rooms so if you do ignore this review dont pay for an upgrade there doesnt seem to be any.
please dont spoil your holiday by picking this place there are so many great riads in the medina.We lost a whole day getting somewhere else because everywhere was booked but eventually got a fantastic Riad but at a cost. Marrakech is AMAZING you just have to learn to say No thanks a lot of the time.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Dar Loula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Loula

Address: 102, derb Sabaa | Quartier Berrima - Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#121 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Loula 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Dar Loula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Loula Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Loula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.