We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Utopia Suites & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Utopia Suites & Spa to your Saves list
Riad Utopia Suites & Spa
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   280 Derb sidi bouamar | Riad l'arousse medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Me and my boyfriend LOVED our stay at Riad Utopia, the rooms were lovely, HUGE bathroom, the staff were very friendly (especially the guy that served breakfast and worked at night), yummy breakfast, AMAZING dinner (the best we had whilst in Marrakesh by far).
The whole Riad is very pretty and is decorated very nicely, everywhere is lit up with candles at night and looks lovely!
On arrival a member of staff who I presume was the manager brought us mint tea, biscuits and a map and sat down with us to point out places of interest on the map which was very helpful.

The Riad was a little too far away from Jemaa el Fna for our liking! Some other reviews say 10 minutes, I'm not sure why, as it takes 20-30 minutes to walk. We tried walking a couple of different routes but it still takes this long.

Watch out for the guys that hang around the car park where taxis drop you of for the Riad, especially if you have just arrived from the airport, they will walk you to the Riad door (even if you say you know where you are going!) and then want paying for this! We told the guy we didn't need any help but when he wouldn't leave us, my boyfriend handed over about 5 euro for this "service" but the guy insisted that we pay him 30 euro!!! ..we weren't sure how safe the area was so had to pay this, but stand your ground and say no the max you should pay for this is 20-30 Dirham (2-3 euro)! ...this isn't any fault of Riad Utopia just thought I would point it out so that future guests can learn from our mistakes! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    43
    18
    12
    7
See reviews for
23
116
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Thanks to a Living Social voucher, my wife and I, for the first times in our lives, traveled outside our European comfort zone and visited Marrakech, Morocco. The voucher was for three nights at Riad Utopia Suites and Spa, a quiet retreat hidden away in the old walled city, or medina, of Marrakech. The package included a transfer from the airport to the hotel—and back to the airport after our stay. Our driver awaited in the greeting area and within 20 minutes or so, we were at Riad Utopia. Interestingly, the shuttle parked in a common parking area within this densely inhabited city, and the driver rolled our luggage some distance to the hotel entrance tucked back within several twisting and turning alleyways, a common feature in old Marrakech, not unlike Venice. The hotel staff welcomed us with a tray of hot sweet mint tea and were friendly, attentive, and helpful from the moment we arrived to our departure. Their English was good enough for us to get by, but some fluency in French or Arabic would be a definite advantage for visitors. They offered good suggestions for newbies such as ourselves and arranged for a marvelous walking-tour guide to spend an afternoon with us (for a reasonable charge), a high point of our stay in Marrakech. Our private guided walk with Khalid was a real eye-opener and an immensely fascinating and informative experience. Breakfasts, included in the package, were similar to a traditional European continental breakfast: Moroccan breads, kefir (a delicious yogurt drink), coffee, juice, jams, honey, olive oil, and a coarse sweet corn cake. One dinner was included, although we chose to have all our dinners there, so good were they and so inviting was the interior of the hotel—a open-air courtyard built around an attractive tiled pool with three levels of rooms rising up on four sides around the central space. The set dinners varied and were always delicious and ample, with tender lamb, couscous, vegetables, and other tagine dishes (a cooking method in North African countries using a conical clay vessel) standing out in my mind. Light desserts capped every meal. The two meals we elected to pay for were on the expensive side, but given how satisfactory the overall accommodations were, we didn't mind. Our room was comfortable and private with a spacious layout, a lovely bath and shower, and just cool enough with its air conditioning to help us cope with Morocco’s hot desert environment. The hotel was sheltered enough within the old city so that it was very quiet at all times. How moving it was to hear in the distance the faithful being called to prayer several times each day. Riad Utopia Suites and Spa was a good base from which we could begin to get a glimpse into life among a predominantly Islamic culture and an ancient civilization to boot. It was a revelation, a good one, and our friendly home far away from home was a welcome retreat on this journey of discovery, a discovery of how much bigger and richer and different the world is than the familiar slices of it that usually surround us.

Room Tip: Request a second or third floor room for more privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night after our Moroccoan tour and it completely changed our perspective on Marrakech. Whilst hidden within the medina, the staff were helpful and friendly and the Riad itself was stunning. From the cool courtyard to the beautifully designed rooms and the roof terrace, I couldn't fault our stay. I would recommend anyone looking for an escape from the madness of Marrakech (but still close enough to just walk into it!) to stay at Riad Utopia Spa & Suites.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

It was our first visit to Marrakech and so were shocked when we first entered the Medina and thought "where have we come to". When you arrive at Riad Larouss (which is where you park) there was so much traffic and donkeys everywhere! After walking through very small alleys and pathways we arrived at Riad Utopia. It is instantly a place of calm and peace amongst the craziness of the Medina. It is decorated beautifully, traditional but still modern. The location is perfect as its a 10 minute walk into the heart of the Medina and the Souks. The pool is small and not used often , the roof terrace is great and has a shaded area to get out of the hot sun in the afternoon. The rooms are clean and again beautifully decorated, we had 3 of us in one room and was very spacious. The air con was perfect and wasn't noisy! The staff are all very helpful and recommended a great excursion to the Atlas Mountains that i would highly recommend to see something outside of the city. Getting taxis to and from the Riad is very easy. The breakfast lets it down slightly, although traditional it just consisted of breads and jams, needed some eggs or fruit etc just to mix it up.

We each had a massage in the Riad as it claims to have a Hammam Spa, this is not a traditional Hammam and wouldn't advise having treatments here, find somewhere more traditional. When i was having a massage you could hear the outside and there was a ticking clock on the wall!

One word of warning!! Prepare to pay in cash on check out as the card machine i was told on leaving "sometimes doesn't work in the Medina". We were not told anything about this on booking and caused frustration and hastle on check out as we couldn't pay so had to arrange a bank transfer once getting home!

Overall i would highly recommend staying in a Riad and the Utopia has a great balance of tradition and modernism which is great for a first visit to Marrakech as it can be a shock to the system at first.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper level as the ground level looks over the splash pool and tables where people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was our first visit to Marrakech and whilst most people we spoke to had nothing but good to say about it we were all a little apprehensive especially about the accommodation. We usually go on beach holidays and stay in large hotels or villas but we wanted to experience Marrakech as close to it's natural state as possible!
This little Riad was absolutely perfect! It's location is right in the heart of the medina - down an alley way - but behind closed doors was a beautiful house and fabulous staff. Breakfast is a traditional Moroccan feast of breads and jams which sets you up nicely for the day.
The rooms are all different. We stayed in room 3 which was nice although a little smaller than the room our friends had (room 7) and the air conditioning in our room could have been a bit stronger. Our friends room was perfect - very cool/cold which is required at this time of year!
The staff were very helpful and did everything we asked of them.
One thing which comes up in all reviews is that there is no iron and that is a pain so I hope the hotel make some changes there as everyone needs to iron their clothes and we really don't want to be spending additional money for the hotel to do it. So take a travel iron!
Overall I would highly recommend this Riad for it's cleanliness, friendliness and helpfulness.
Thank you so much to all the staff who made our stay a pleasure!

Room Tip: First floor room and if you can get the Executive suite I would stay there. We were in a junior suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A great location within just a few minutes' walk from the souks and the main square. Getting taxis in and out is easy as everyone knows the nearby Riad Larouss. Nicely furnished, modern interior design and friendly staff. The splash pool is large enough for splashing, there is a nice terrace on top which is hardly used but works well for early morning yoga and am sun tanning. Good breakfast with tasty OJ, good coffee with warm milk and Moroccan break & pancakes but no fruit unfortunately. Would not recommend using the spa or treatments however - you get much better quality and value for money outside of the Riad. We also ended up enjoying our afternoon drinks by a bigger pool at another location but very much liked Riad Utopia including their hard mattresses ;-) It was a blessing to come to an A/C controlled room from the 45C heat.

Room Tip: Our room was called Doucer d'Orient, on the first floor overlooking the splash pool which was ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place for a little sweet escape! A-star service.From dawn to sunset everyone make you feel safe comfy:) we enjoyed our stay and felt all a guest stars..many thanks!!!!! We'll come back soon.xxxxx.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Utopia Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Utopia Suites & Spa

Address: 280 Derb sidi bouamar | Riad l'arousse medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Utopia Suites & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dans la tangente de la célèbre place Jamaa El Fna, vous serez accueilli dans l'art de la tradition marocaine : chaleureusement et respectueusement. Vous découvrirez la magie de l'Orient alliée au design et au calme d'Utopia Suites & Spa. Toujours à votre écoute et à votre service, notre équipe vous recevra avec les prestations d'un hôtel de luxe et fera du Riad votre demeure : senteurs fleuries, massages délicats, soins de beauté, mets aux mille et une épices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Utopia Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Utopia Hotel Marrakech
Riad Utopia Suites And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Utopia Suites & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.