We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm in the heart of the Medina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Utopia Suites & Spa

Save Saved
You added Riad Utopia Suites & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Utopia Suites & Spa
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   280 Derb sidi bouamar | Riad l'arousse medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 185 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Calm in the heart of the Medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

It was our first visit to Marrakech and so were shocked when we first entered the Medina and thought "where have we come to". When you arrive at Riad Larouss (which is where you park) there was so much traffic and donkeys everywhere! After walking through very small alleys and pathways we arrived at Riad Utopia. It is instantly a place of calm and peace amongst the craziness of the Medina. It is decorated beautifully, traditional but still modern. The location is perfect as its a 10 minute walk into the heart of the Medina and the Souks. The pool is small and not used often , the roof terrace is great and has a shaded area to get out of the hot sun in the afternoon. The rooms are clean and again beautifully decorated, we had 3 of us in one room and was very spacious. The air con was perfect and wasn't noisy! The staff are all very helpful and recommended a great excursion to the Atlas Mountains that i would highly recommend to see something outside of the city. Getting taxis to and from the Riad is very easy. The breakfast lets it down slightly, although traditional it just consisted of breads and jams, needed some eggs or fruit etc just to mix it up.

We each had a massage in the Riad as it claims to have a Hammam Spa, this is not a traditional Hammam and wouldn't advise having treatments here, find somewhere more traditional. When i was having a massage you could hear the outside and there was a ticking clock on the wall!

One word of warning!! Prepare to pay in cash on check out as the card machine i was told on leaving "sometimes doesn't work in the Medina". We were not told anything about this on booking and caused frustration and hastle on check out as we couldn't pay so had to arrange a bank transfer once getting home!

Overall i would highly recommend staying in a Riad and the Utopia has a great balance of tradition and modernism which is great for a first visit to Marrakech as it can be a shock to the system at first.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper level as the ground level looks over the splash pool and tables where people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    40
    15
    11
    7
See reviews for
23
109
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was our first visit to Marrakech and whilst most people we spoke to had nothing but good to say about it we were all a little apprehensive especially about the accommodation. We usually go on beach holidays and stay in large hotels or villas but we wanted to experience Marrakech as close to it's natural state as possible!
This little Riad was absolutely perfect! It's location is right in the heart of the medina - down an alley way - but behind closed doors was a beautiful house and fabulous staff. Breakfast is a traditional Moroccan feast of breads and jams which sets you up nicely for the day.
The rooms are all different. We stayed in room 3 which was nice although a little smaller than the room our friends had (room 7) and the air conditioning in our room could have been a bit stronger. Our friends room was perfect - very cool/cold which is required at this time of year!
The staff were very helpful and did everything we asked of them.
One thing which comes up in all reviews is that there is no iron and that is a pain so I hope the hotel make some changes there as everyone needs to iron their clothes and we really don't want to be spending additional money for the hotel to do it. So take a travel iron!
Overall I would highly recommend this Riad for it's cleanliness, friendliness and helpfulness.
Thank you so much to all the staff who made our stay a pleasure!

Room Tip: First floor room and if you can get the Executive suite I would stay there. We were in a junior suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A great location within just a few minutes' walk from the souks and the main square. Getting taxis in and out is easy as everyone knows the nearby Riad Larouss. Nicely furnished, modern interior design and friendly staff. The splash pool is large enough for splashing, there is a nice terrace on top which is hardly used but works well for early morning yoga and am sun tanning. Good breakfast with tasty OJ, good coffee with warm milk and Moroccan break & pancakes but no fruit unfortunately. Would not recommend using the spa or treatments however - you get much better quality and value for money outside of the Riad. We also ended up enjoying our afternoon drinks by a bigger pool at another location but very much liked Riad Utopia including their hard mattresses ;-) It was a blessing to come to an A/C controlled room from the 45C heat.

Room Tip: Our room was called Doucer d'Orient, on the first floor overlooking the splash pool which was ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place for a little sweet escape! A-star service.From dawn to sunset everyone make you feel safe comfy:) we enjoyed our stay and felt all a guest stars..many thanks!!!!! We'll come back soon.xxxxx.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed in the suite called 'Sa Majesté la Rose' (room 5), which is the nicest room of this adorable riad. The interior design of that room is great. Absolute calm, even on the terrace. Very friendly staff. Some points for improvement: the matrasses on the bed are somewhat hard, there was no beer in the bar, no hot water the morning we left, and the breakfast is a bit spartan (no eggs, no fruit).

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Fantastic hotel - if you go to morrocco and want to stay in the old town then this hotel is a must. Perfect location 2 minute walk to the souks and lovely traditional feel. Would definately use this hotel again and would recommend to friends and family. The hotel was clean, staff were friendly and helpful. Overall experience was fantastic and very impressed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This place makes you wonder if half of the world is deaf.
Noisy is not the word, sleeping here (and I fear all other Riads except maybe The Sultana, for obvious reasons) is like sharing a little house with 5 other relatives. The kitchen doesnt even have a door so you can see 4 o 5 women chatting cooking or sitting on the floor gossiping the whole day. Some nice cleaning ladies are always wandering around, working a lot but being non efficient at all.
They make your bed sure but don't expect clean sheets, an if you tend to take out the bottom of your pijamas while sleeping like I do, don’t worry, it will stay there for the whole week.
The people were really kind and helpful but a few suggestions would make bug improvements:
1. Lose the reception with a door so people staying in the Riad don’t hear phone conversations (which can take place at 1am).
2. Choose better ambiance music (we all agree, Hip don’t lie but it is not the kind of song you would expect for a relaxing afternoon in Marrakesh) and stop it after 23.00 o’clock.
3. Don’t allow employees to put the table for breakfast at 24.00 or 6.00 am when everybody is trying to get some sleep.
4. If you allow your employees to park their bike INSIDE the kitchen at least hide it!!
5. Offer tea with breakfast, not just coffee, its Marrakesh! People is expect some sweet mint tea!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Utopia Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Utopia Suites & Spa

Address: 280 Derb sidi bouamar | Riad l'arousse medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 185 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Utopia Suites & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dans la tangente de la célèbre place Jamaa El Fna, vous serez accueilli dans l'art de la tradition marocaine : chaleureusement et respectueusement. Vous découvrirez la magie de l'Orient alliée au design et au calme d'Utopia Suites & Spa. Toujours à votre écoute et à votre service, notre équipe vous recevra avec les prestations d'un hôtel de luxe et fera du Riad votre demeure : senteurs fleuries, massages délicats, soins de beauté, mets aux mille et une épices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Utopia Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Utopia Suites And Spa
Riad Utopia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Utopia Suites & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.