We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A traditional Moroccan experience in beautiful surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Utopia Suites & Spa

Save Saved
You added Riad Utopia Suites & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Utopia Suites & Spa
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   280 Derb sidi bouamar | Riad l'arousse medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 188 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A traditional Moroccan experience in beautiful surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We booked the taxi transfer the day before we arrived (28 euros return) and the friendly taxi driver was waiting patiently for us even though we were over an hour delayed (due to snow at Manchester!)

Upon arriving at the car park as the taxi cannot take you to the door of the riad we made our way down what seemed like several windy dark, cobbled passage ways and eventually arrived at the Riad. This was unnerving at first however upon entering Utopia the initial reservations disappeared, the Riad itself is stunning, the staff were very attentive and even gave us a larger room when we asked as the first room was a little small - and did not charge us any extra for this, as the riad was nowhere near full.

We decided to venture out to get something to eat and Aziz at reception told us where to go (Terrace Ben Yousseff) and by the time we got to the bottom of the street he had a lovely young man (Suffiyan) waiting for us. The staff at the riad obviously appreciate that the walk to and from the riad must be daunting for their guests at first.

After a lovely meal we returned accompanied by the young gentleman and safely deposited into Utopia.

The Riad is immaculate and rooms are cleaned on a daily basis with fresh towels and toiletries.

Breakfasts - included in our price was the traditional Moroccan breakfast which for those of you who don't know, is bread, pancakes and another form of bread.....so basically bread! Coffee and orange juice along with freshly pulped strawberry and orange preserves were also part of the deal.

My husband and i asked for eggs on the first day and even though this was not part of the breakfast, the staff kindly obliged everyday - we did get charged extra for this at the end of the holiday so be careful of extras as something you may think is included, is not. That being said, the eggs were beautiful.

As i am a tea'aholic my constant requests for Lipton tea throughout the afternoon/evening were also met with no problem and they didn't even mind my entering the kitchen to turn the kettle back on again!

The only thing missing at the Riad was an IRON so please take a travel iron as even though the staff are more than happy to take your clothes and have them pressed, which are then returned folded and wrapped in tissue paper, the ironing is done using a large industrial pressing machine so our clothes actually came back worse off than when we sent them LOL! We did suggest to Abdel about the Riad investing in an iron and hope they will do so.

During our stay i decided to book my husband and i a Hammam and massage package costing approx 75 euros. All i will say is if you do not know what a Hammam is then please find out before having this done as we both found it quite uncomfortable as it wasn't what we expected. So this was our fault rather than the staff at Utopia.

Now to the staff themselves..... what a lovely bunch of people, Abdel, Aziz, their beautiful sister (whose name escapes us!) and the rest of the team, made our stay at Utopia even more enjoyable. They had great knowledge of the area and offered numerous suggestions when we pestered them for places to eat, sights to see and routes to take etc.

Aziz and Abdel.......ignore my husbands advice about getting married at 40, he knows nothing!!!

It was a pleasure to meet these guys and we hope to one day return to Utopia.

Lastly a word of advice about the area..... please be advised that even though you are in the heart of traditional Marrakech, we found the area very safe, even at night and the locals very friendly, however there is a lot of poverty and you will be approached and/or witness a lot of begging and homelessness which can be particularly sad especially when there are children or older people involved....this is a part of Marrakech and will either annoy you or make you appreciate what you have.

Enjoy Utopia and enjoy Marrakech, they are both beautiful and magical and will make you want to go back for more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    41
    15
    11
    7
See reviews for
23
110
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were really looking forward to our stay here but were disappointed with a few things. Room was lovely but very noisy. There was a courtyard which meant that guests staying up past 11pm into the early hours kept us awake even though we had ear plugs. We did tell staff and they would turn the music off at 11pm but this didn't stop the noise from people arriving late and staying up late. Restaurant and breakfast had limted variety and dull. Internet was sketchy, TV didn't have many channels...I wouldn't stay here again unless I came on a stag do / up for a party and would be causing all the noise! One other point, after travelling around morocco and returning to marrakech, we decided to go chain and stay in the meridien which was a great improvement!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

The two stand out qualities of this riad are the staff and the design of the riad. The rooms, pool area and sun deck are very comfortable areas and relaxing. The Moroccan staff were brilliant - friendly, helpful, efficient and personable. This riad is almost faultless - the only downsides are prices of food and drinks. The owners of this riad could improve the service by providing better priced meals and drinks that will entice clients to stay at the riad during meals times or for a drink that will be complemented by the excellent service of the staff!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agadir, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was a little treat at the end of our stay in Morocco. There is a pool and a lovely roof terrace. The rooms have air conditioning and are well looked after. Breakfast was lovely and the staff were really friendly and helpful..The palce was a little hard to find, but was fine once we got used to it...(if you are going into Jemaa El-Fnaa then be aware that the route back through the Souks is difficult at night as they close the easy routes at around 11pm) The The riad feels very luxurious, but not too corporate as the staff make the palce feel like a friendly Riad. It is perfect if you want to escape the heat and madness of Marrakesh. We had to wait for a 7pm flight back to London and the staff kindly let us stay in the Riad until 5pm, although they seemed to not mind when we left (thank you so much for that.) It is quite expesive in contrast to some other Riads, but if you are looking for affordable luxury then it is perfect. So in general really friendly and a little bit of luxury in the middle of a bustling, often stressful hub.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I arrived at the Riad Utopia feeling very stressed after having been totally ripped off by a taxi driver from the airport and then a 'guide' showing me the way to the hotel from where the taxi stopped (cars can't get right to the hotel) but this changed when I stepped through the door! The riad is lovely, very calming with all of the rooms overlooking a small pool in the central courtyard. My room was really nice and comfortable, if a little on the small side, and decorated in a traditional Moroccan way and the air conditioning was very welcome in the heat. I found the manager/waiter/receptionist (one man did almost everything) very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

I agree with other reviewers about the dinner - I enjoyed what I had and it was included in my booking for the first night, but it was definitely not worth 25euros and I also agree about the breakfast - nice but could be more substantial. I didn't find the drinks particularly expensive for Morocco - a beer was 3.50euros.

The sun terrace was lovely and there was usually a nice breeze making it bearable and the pool, although small, was very nice after a day's sightseeing.

The hotel arranged a return transfer to the airport for me in a clean, comfortable, well driven minibus for the same price I'd paid in a filthy taxi seemingly driven by a madman when I arrived!

Although I am not keen ever to return to Marrakech, I would definitely recommend the Riad Utopia as a place to stay.

Room Tip: A general tip - contact the hotel in advance and get them to pick you up at the airport. You'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Utopia is centrally located in the Medina of Marrakesh, about 15-20 minutes walking from the central square. Staff are extremely helpful and did everything to make us feel welcome and comfortable.

The rooms are clean and well-equipped. Room rates are good value for money (although breakfast could be a bit more substantial).

Extras (drinks and especially dinner) are heavily overpriced. A simple 3-course menu (moroccan salad, tajine, orange with cinnamon) costs 25 euros per person (+10% service charge, + 5% "extra" exchange rate). That's at least double what you would pay in a very nice restaurant outside, for the same quality.

In summary, I was not disappointed with Utopia - as long as you don't eat at the hotel or book a trip with Utopia, you will have a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor as the ground floor rooms, situated around the central pool and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Found the staff and managment very difficult. Numerous times I had asked for lunch and they were very reluctant to cook something for us as it was during Ramadan. Even still they should always cater for guests. Also me and my girlfriend asked for 1 hour massages however they only went for 35 minutes and after arguing with the manager they were only 1/2 hour massages we were still charged in full. We also heard numerous other complaints during our stay. Very nice riad however a few things resulted in a difficult stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Utopia Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Utopia Suites & Spa

Address: 280 Derb sidi bouamar | Riad l'arousse medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 188 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Utopia Suites & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dans la tangente de la célèbre place Jamaa El Fna, vous serez accueilli dans l'art de la tradition marocaine : chaleureusement et respectueusement. Vous découvrirez la magie de l'Orient alliée au design et au calme d'Utopia Suites & Spa. Toujours à votre écoute et à votre service, notre équipe vous recevra avec les prestations d'un hôtel de luxe et fera du Riad votre demeure : senteurs fleuries, massages délicats, soins de beauté, mets aux mille et une épices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Riad Utopia Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Utopia Suites And Spa
Riad Utopia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Utopia Suites & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.