We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Riad, Great Staff, Good Location,” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Utopia Suites & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Utopia Suites & Spa to your Saves list
Riad Utopia Suites & Spa
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   280 Derb sidi bouamar | Riad l'arousse medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Riad, Great Staff, Good Location,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Utopia is centrally located in the Medina of Marrakesh, about 15-20 minutes walking from the central square. Staff are extremely helpful and did everything to make us feel welcome and comfortable.

The rooms are clean and well-equipped. Room rates are good value for money (although breakfast could be a bit more substantial).

Extras (drinks and especially dinner) are heavily overpriced. A simple 3-course menu (moroccan salad, tajine, orange with cinnamon) costs 25 euros per person (+10% service charge, + 5% "extra" exchange rate). That's at least double what you would pay in a very nice restaurant outside, for the same quality.

In summary, I was not disappointed with Utopia - as long as you don't eat at the hotel or book a trip with Utopia, you will have a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor as the ground floor rooms, situated around the central pool and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    49
    18
    12
    7
See reviews for
26
132
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Found the staff and managment very difficult. Numerous times I had asked for lunch and they were very reluctant to cook something for us as it was during Ramadan. Even still they should always cater for guests. Also me and my girlfriend asked for 1 hour massages however they only went for 35 minutes and after arguing with the manager they were only 1/2 hour massages we were still charged in full. We also heard numerous other complaints during our stay. Very nice riad however a few things resulted in a difficult stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

As we got dropped off a little bit out of the riad (as the car could not go any further or closer to the entrance) we were a little bit lost in what looked to be Ghetto Marrakech. We were approached b a 14 year old local who seemed to be very helpful, carrying our luggage and guiding us to the entrance of the hotel. We had to go through little alley ways to get to the Riad. The boy then insisted we pay him! he then got told to leave us alone by our hotel staff who were AMAZING! As we walked in it looked like a really cute little oasis with traditional yet modern Moroccan interior - outside, rooms, roof top, etc. The staff took out bags upstairs, very relaxing stay.

Great service!!! The guys here are so nice and provide you with everything you need/want.

Beautiful interior and design. Antique look yet modern approach.

The 14 year old boy ended up finding us again in the streets and was really friendly and showed us around the city and told us the history and fun facts (don't be scared of them) however I wouldn't advise walking alone at night in the streets.

Riad offered great service, very very friendly staff!

The only bad thing I would have to say is the hamam and body massage I received, the lady insisted I must take my bra off which made me feel a little bit uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We booked to stay here a bit apprehensively after reading one negative review - so glad we ignored it this place is bliss.

The riad is a bit hard to find the first time ( £20 taxi ride from the airport and have some small notes to tip the boys that hang around near where the taxi drop you off that will offer to take you to the riad). It's about a 10 min walk to the main square ( blissfully far enough away) and to the souks.

The riad itself is gorgeous and modern Moroccan. The staff are excellent. The pool is big enough to get in for a swim on hot hot days ( we had a little pool party one afternoon with the other guests). The rooftop is awesome for sunbathing - shade and hats are even provided.

Air con is brilliant, flat screen tvs ( bring your own DVDs) no noise issues and on site spa and chef. Breakfast was lovely ( and western style).

I honestly could not find fault with a single thing - any negative reviews are mad in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

A little overpriced for a 3 star hotel. Staff were great. We were there 3 days and no one cleaned the pool. Bed was hard as a rock. Be ready for a little walk from where the taxi drops you off as it is down a couple of alleyways to get there. EVERYTHING is paid in Euros.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Utopia has the friendliest staff and best atmosphere!

We went with a small child and were very satisfied with everything. Beautifully decorated rooms and good food. Nice location. Very safe, you don´t even feel that you have to lock the door.

Many thanks to the friendly staff and especially to Abdel and Aziz! Hope to see you again!

Joanna, Elise and David

Room Tip: Rooms above ground floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights in early March. Like the previous writer, I was a bit annoyed when asked to pay for the whole stay at once. 5% is a bit steep and they even charged this for debit cards as well as credit cards.
The Riad itself was immaculate and well fitted out. Everything in the hotel room worked except for the electronic safe. So we just used a metal box with a lock which anyone could just pick up and walk off with. THe place felt fairly secure though.
Breakfasts were fairly average. One pot of coffee each (just warm) and it was tough to extract another pot from them.
The location wasn't too bad. We took the option of hotel transportation to and from the airport (€28 per couple), which is a bit steep but useful as the Riad is hard to find otherwise. Walking from the Riad to the center is a bit of a trek, either down a long busy road via the Koutoubia Mosque or down some narrow dark streets via the Souks. We preferred the latter during the day, and the former in the evening.
The owners themselves were nice enough but their English wasn't very good. Also beware that anything you buy there (drinks, hammam etc.) is subject to a further tax, 10% I think. Not only that, they charge for everything in Euros but when you come to pay, they will only take Euros in cash. If paying by card, it is converted by some mysterious rate to MAD. Seeing as it is not possible to take Euros out of an ATM here, you're kinda stuck unless you've brought a sack of Euros with you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech
Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech
#210 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Shama
Riad Shama
#216 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa El Arsa
Villa El Arsa
#2 of 205 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Pachavana
Riad Pachavana
#11 of 205 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Farhan
Riad Farhan
#6 of 205 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Smara
Riad Smara
#18 of 205 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Utopia Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Utopia Suites & Spa

Address: 280 Derb sidi bouamar | Riad l'arousse medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Utopia Suites & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dans la tangente de la célèbre place Jamaa El Fna, vous serez accueilli dans l'art de la tradition marocaine : chaleureusement et respectueusement. Vous découvrirez la magie de l'Orient alliée au design et au calme d'Utopia Suites & Spa. Toujours à votre écoute et à votre service, notre équipe vous recevra avec les prestations d'un hôtel de luxe et fera du Riad votre demeure : senteurs fleuries, massages délicats, soins de beauté, mets aux mille et une épices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Utopia Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Utopia Suites And Spa
Riad Utopia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Utopia Suites & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.