We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 3 star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Utopia Suites & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Utopia Suites & Spa to your Saves list
Riad Utopia Suites & Spa
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   280 Derb sidi bouamar | Riad l'arousse medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 203 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good 3 star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

A little overpriced for a 3 star hotel. Staff were great. We were there 3 days and no one cleaned the pool. Bed was hard as a rock. Be ready for a little walk from where the taxi drops you off as it is down a couple of alleyways to get there. EVERYTHING is paid in Euros.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    46
    18
    12
    7
See reviews for
24
119
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Utopia has the friendliest staff and best atmosphere!

We went with a small child and were very satisfied with everything. Beautifully decorated rooms and good food. Nice location. Very safe, you don´t even feel that you have to lock the door.

Many thanks to the friendly staff and especially to Abdel and Aziz! Hope to see you again!

Joanna, Elise and David

Room Tip: Rooms above ground floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights in early March. Like the previous writer, I was a bit annoyed when asked to pay for the whole stay at once. 5% is a bit steep and they even charged this for debit cards as well as credit cards.
The Riad itself was immaculate and well fitted out. Everything in the hotel room worked except for the electronic safe. So we just used a metal box with a lock which anyone could just pick up and walk off with. THe place felt fairly secure though.
Breakfasts were fairly average. One pot of coffee each (just warm) and it was tough to extract another pot from them.
The location wasn't too bad. We took the option of hotel transportation to and from the airport (€28 per couple), which is a bit steep but useful as the Riad is hard to find otherwise. Walking from the Riad to the center is a bit of a trek, either down a long busy road via the Koutoubia Mosque or down some narrow dark streets via the Souks. We preferred the latter during the day, and the former in the evening.
The owners themselves were nice enough but their English wasn't very good. Also beware that anything you buy there (drinks, hammam etc.) is subject to a further tax, 10% I think. Not only that, they charge for everything in Euros but when you come to pay, they will only take Euros in cash. If paying by card, it is converted by some mysterious rate to MAD. Seeing as it is not possible to take Euros out of an ATM here, you're kinda stuck unless you've brought a sack of Euros with you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed five nights in this Riad and would not recommend it because it is poorly managed in so many ways. I'm not a complainer you can check my other reviews, but there are just too many problems with staying here.

We hired a driver from Fez to Marrakesh and along the way we tried numerous times to phone the riad to explain that we would be arriving around 8pm, but no one picked. Finally after probably trying ten times over two hours, someone did pick up.

When we arrived at the Riad we were told immediately upon check in that they wanted our five night stay for two rooms paid now in cash otherwise if paid by credit card there would be an additional 5% fee. There wasn’t anything noted when we booked this reservation and actually gave a credit card during the reservation process. I have never heard of anything like that. We paid at the end of our stay.

We hired a driver for a one day trip to go to Essaouira and requested a wake-up call at 6am. It never happened.

It was my mother in laws 80th birthday and asked the hotel to make a reservation at a specific restaurant. It never happened. Thankfully the manager at the restaurant understood the importance of fitting us in and did.

We booked a junior suite and a regular room. The junior suite they gave us didn’t look anything like the other junior suites on their web site. It had an extra bed that wasn’t requested and wasn’t appointed as nicely as the other ones.

Although they had flat screen TVs with cable it took three days to fix it in one of the rooms. One person said they would take care of it but didn’t.

The breakfasts were sometimes fresh and sometimes they seemed like they were microwaved from the day before.

The bathrooms had some mold on the ceiling because they weren’t ventilated at all and the towels wouldn’t get dry by the next day.

The hotel is a bit difficult to find initially, although it is rather centrally located – it takes about 15 minutes to walk to Jmaa El Fna and 15 minutes to walk to the Majorelle gardens.

Although the three gentlemen that are in charge are nice (two are brothers) they haven’t a clue about managing or running a hotel.

There are plenty of other options to stay in Marrakesh and would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

This is a lovely Riad not far from the Medina in Marrakech (about 10/15 mins walk). My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights, and as soon as we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and at home. Hassan was an absolutie saviour for us. Shortly after arriving and being shown to our room to get comfortable we were sat down and provided with a map, on which Hassan pointed out a route for us to get to the Medina and explained to us what places we should visit, with the amount of time we had. He gave us guidance on how much we should pay for a taxi around the city centre. He just gave us so much good advice!

The Riad in itself was lovely, and very peaceful, with a 24 hour bar, which for us was really nice when we'd had a very busy day in the hustle and bustle of the Medina, and we could return to the Riad and have a nice drink by the pool before bed. The breakfast was really nice too.

All in all we would deifinitely go back! A very big thanks to all of the staff at Riad Utopia that made it a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Take the last review with a pinch of salts - My wife & I stayed here at the same time & the experience we had was far from bad - we loved the place. Granted there was a hot water shortage at times but we found this to be only at peak demand times (i.e. just before breakfast). If you were to rise a little earlier there was more than enough piping hot water to fill the fabulous & cavernous bath that we had in our room. Ooops, perhaps we were the problem!

Again, a name check for the extremely helpful Hassan who truly is an asset to this lovely Rhiad. I, for one, have not been made to feel more welcome anywhere else in the world (even when ignoring price). Nothing is too much bother for Hassan & his advice on the locale is hugely valuable to first time visitors. As was the map he provided us with.

The location is good. It's a 10-15 minute walk to pretty much everything & the walk is a great experience in itself. The route to the main square takes you through part of the Souks. Many say it is easy to get lost here but with Hassan's help it really couldn't have been easier. After the first day we didn't need the map. Just trust your instinct & enjoy yourself.

Overall this is a fantastic Rhiad for the money (we paid about €80 per night) & I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

Thank you Hassan & thank you Rhiad Utopia for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I really wanted to love Riad Utopia but there were too many major issues to recommend anyone else stay here.

The first and most important issue being that for 2 of the 3 day stay, there was no hot water! On the first day we were told that the plumber was fixing an issue and "maybe" it would be fixed by tomorrow. An annoyance after a very long travel day but dealt with. The hot water was back the following morning. On the third and final day (which also happened to be New Years Eve) the hot water was gone again and we were told that it isn't broken - they just don't have enough to accomadate a full riad. WHAT??

Other issues were smaller but concerning. The first being the noise - we paid for an junior suite and were dismayed to find it on the ground floor right outside of the kitchen. Every single clink and clank that happens in the kitchen echos right into room making it difficult to sleep when one of the staff are preparing a middle of the night snack and impossible past the moment of the first guests breakfast. We also had some moisture issues - not terrible but a little bit damp and uncomfortable. In the bathroom, there seemed to be small spots where black mold was blooming on the ceiling. The television did not work properly (there was only one english channel, CNN, but it would come in and out so it was unwatchable.)

All of these things in combination put a damper on our trip so I would not stay here again or recommend it to anyone.

It wasn't all bad as there were some positive aspects as well.

It certainly feels authentic as you are lead through a maze of back alleys and have to duck down low beneath an archway to make it ot the front door. It would have been impossible for us to find if we hadn't arranged a hotel pick up that walked us to the door. Once we got familar with the location, we figured out the route to and from the main attractions (the main square is about a 10-15 minute walk away)

Secondly the staff are incredibly nice and helpful - particular thanks to Hassan for making us feel welcomed and going out of his way to show us to a local restaurant and to the closest main street.

Lastly the wifi connection worked well throughout our stay.

Overall, a mixed bag but the negative outweighed the positive by quite a bit. For the money I think we could have found a better option.

Room Tip: Do not choose the “Fleur d'Oranger” junior suite as its right outside the kitchen and you can he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Utopia Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Utopia Suites & Spa

Address: 280 Derb sidi bouamar | Riad l'arousse medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 203 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Utopia Suites & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dans la tangente de la célèbre place Jamaa El Fna, vous serez accueilli dans l'art de la tradition marocaine : chaleureusement et respectueusement. Vous découvrirez la magie de l'Orient alliée au design et au calme d'Utopia Suites & Spa. Toujours à votre écoute et à votre service, notre équipe vous recevra avec les prestations d'un hôtel de luxe et fera du Riad votre demeure : senteurs fleuries, massages délicats, soins de beauté, mets aux mille et une épices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Utopia Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Utopia Hotel Marrakech
Riad Utopia Suites And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Utopia Suites & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.