We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the middle of nowhere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Utopia Suites & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Utopia Suites & Spa to your Saves list
Riad Utopia Suites & Spa
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   280 Derb sidi bouamar | Riad l'arousse medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An oasis in the middle of nowhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed here in August - WOW! This wasn't the easiest place to find (even the taxi driver had to ask directions), but once we got there we were delighted! The staff couldn't do enough for us, Aziz and Abdul were so friendly and helpful and made us feel really special. This is a beautiful, clean riad with all the facilities you could want. We booked in for a Hammam which was a fantastic experience. Food was good, service second to none, we were really looked after. We were only there for 4 days so Aziz recommended a day trip seeing the sights of Marrakech. This was our own personal driver/tour guide and definitely recommended for a short trip like ours. I really hope we can visit again some time!

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor next to the pool. It was the one right next to the kitchen entran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    43
    18
    12
    7
See reviews for
23
116
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed at this riad three nights in Sep 2011 and were very well taken cared of by mangagers Aziz and Adbel, who are very friendly and service minded. The this place is very clean and cosy and feels like an oasis in the otherwise so busy Marrakesh.

We very much enjoyed our stay and we would certainly recomment this to anyone looking for a riad in Marrakesh!

Tove Maria and Anna

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I just returned the Riad Utopia, we spent 15 days in this property.
I really wanted to share with you my impression of this 9 rooms’ small luxury hotel.
Reading the last reviews, I do not understand, they should not talk about the same place (the riad utopia ???).
During this trip we really had time to explore and enjoy Marrakesh as well in human terms as on the touristic ones (monuments, souks, trips, quads ...) and all thanks to the team of riad utopia.
I would therefore naturally encourage them to continue on the path they have chosen: perfection. Everything is done for our comfort, the rooms decorated with taste and spacious with nice big bathrooms; the sun terrace with sun canopy intimate; the pool very refreshing to remember; meals made by the stove are simply delicious; and the advice of staff and manager are very helpful ...
Marrakesh is rather special and amazing, so it's nice to have people who can inform us and guide us so that we can spend a fantastic holiday.
I therefore thank the whole team: Abdele, Azize, Lubna, Adele and Pauline.... I sincerely recommend this riad / hotel, you will not be disappointed. We will return in October with our children.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We went to Marrakech with friends for holidays and we stayed in the Riad Utopia.
It was a very good surprise to find this peace of Paradise based in the Médina.
We loved the design, the quality of service and the different services they propose to customers (spa, excursion, advices).
Since the first day until the end it was just PERFECT !!!!
We loved the food made by the Riad's cooker.
This is the first that time I book in a Riad and definitely it will not be the last.
It's so much convivial than a hotel.
A very big THANKs to the Riad's team

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We booked having read the glowing reviews. Airport transfer (as recommended in reviews) left us in small square where we were accosted by two young boys wanting to take us down dark alleys (it was 9pm at night) to the Utopia, we declined until others said it was deffinately down that way. They then asked for 200 dirams after taking us down tiny alleys ie 4ft wide and under lots of low arches! On arrival the guy on reception just laughed and smiled and didnt tell the boys to leave us alone (we did give them 50 dirahm the next day. We asked if we could have dinner in the hotel and he said yes, so we unpacked and went to have dinner, no dinner its Ramadam! OMG we had to o back into the darkness to find food, he recommended somewhere - it was shut!
DAy 1
We had an awful experience in the souks which ended in my husband being hit and then bricks picked up right by the hotel - yep right by the dark alleys local sawe him off and yes we paid him to walk us back to Utopia! On arrival back at the hotel in a state and shaking it took 3 attempts for me to get a drink to help calm us and ignored countless times. Thankfully we had a hamam booked (part of a a deal with a massage when booking) but didn't happen after nearly an hour of waiting and asking - told therapist sick having been told busy, with someone etc etc. Also didn't beleive us that we had it in our deal until he rang the boss to confirm it. Eventually another therapist did a massage for my very shaken hubby. We requested an escorted taxi out for dinner that evening they wanted 300 dirahms (30 each way is the maximum as quoted in Utopia book!) we eventually got it for 120, but they took another couple further away first, making us late and then on our return left us in the very square where the attack took place which is what we wanted to avoid at past 11 at night!
Day 2 juice off and so was milk!
Dune buggies booked for 10am 65euro each to pay when we left the hotel as we had checked when we booked. 10am no driver and he started ringing (Doubt it had even been booked!) told me he wanted to make me happy and no charge for buggies, i said i doubt he could make me happy given the previous days events. Guess what by past 11 we were finally on our way with the very driver that left us in the square high and dry! After nearly an hour into the dessert we arrived and company wanted 1200 dinahs each and cash! Thats nearly £100 each not what was agreed and we got taken back to the Utopia livid! Driver said talk to owner, he had already and that he would help us. Guess what apparently he doesnt speak english and the staff wouldn't let us speak to him!
We left and they still charged us for the next 2 nights that we didn't stay - oh and tried putting over 50 euro of bar bills on that we hadn't had!
Stayed in dearest room Night D'Arabie its next to bar & computer where they sit with music til gone midnight and woken by 7:30 as they set up breakfast as on ground floor.
The smile of one of the staff (which has been mentioned) is irratating when you are livid and it made us feel that he was just laughing at the whole situation.
Pool on ground floor (not at the top with loungers (which looked nice but were grubby dont lay on them in white clothes!) watched them trying to make pool clean and scratching their heads, it was certainly not inviting looking. Towels needed a good boil wash and were hard as were the robes. Oh and the 'portable' safe was hysterical - not even screwed to the cupboard and was very small easy enough to upt in a holdall and take away. Locks into our room (which ere different on the others) were ridiculous a great bolt holding two doors together, a door inside each door with boltseither side of the doorso if you wanted to just pull on the big door popyour hand inside and unlock bolt - as my husband did when i locked him in when I went to the pool by accident!

There are great restaurants in Marrakesh look at the trip advisor list, NEVER go into the souks without an official guide, stay outside the Medina (Hivernage is nice we went to the Dellarosa and got a REAL suite) Failing that go to another country where you can feel safe and not harrassed CONSTANTLY. NIGHTMRE of a so called break.

ps we are both streetwise and well travelled so not generally bothered by various cultures but Marrakesh was absoloutely awful!

Perhaps the boss might read this an actually contact us and ha ha refund the money they took from us given the total breakdown in our trust from his staff.

Room Tip: book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadutopia, Propriétaire at Riad Utopia Suites & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Dear guest,

On yearly vacation, this is with a hudge surprise that we read your comment ...
We are really sorry about what did happened to you during your stay. and be sure that drastic measures will be taken as soon as we will be back in Marrakesh !

in order to prove you our honesty, we offer you a free stay with us (good one this time) and we will do all our best to fit with your attempts ! let us know by e mail if you are interested and depending on availabilities we promise you a perfect stay in Riad Utopia !

Looking forward to read you back by e mail, and appologize for this incident and also for my poor english...

best regards

The direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Despite the bad start, being dropped off in the middle of the square with no idea of where to go next, a couple of local boys helped us find the utopia down some very dark and dingy alleyways and we were welcomed with friendly smiles from the staff. From there it started to deteriorate. Aziz, always smiling, explained that theyy were not serving food as it was Ramadan and they did not have any in and recommended Dar Fez . It was closed when we got there but we found another Riad and had some lovely food. We later found out that some other residents had eaten there the day before, again on recommendation, and the food was in their words disgusting. A lucky escape at that point. From then on everything we booked had a problem, doubled in price or halved in time thanks to the incompetent staff. no apologies and we left after 2 nights to go to a decent hotel. More to follow!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Fab little Riad just North of the Souks, in the heart of the Medina. The staff are superb, very friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely, very clean everything you need to relax. I would highly recommend the food, a three course meal is 25 euro a head, which may seem a lot but after a busy day in Marrakech, a quiet meal in a relaxing environment is always a good option.

The only downside to the hotel is that it is a 15-20 min walk to Jamal el fna which is the main square, and as a scaredy cat english person, just that little bit too far to walk at night, hence all of the meals in ha ha (I braved it once under the heavy influence of alcohol!)

Walking during the day is a completely different story. Its still busy and a bit bonkers watching out for scooters, bikes, donkeys and carts, but it is an easy stroll to the souks/ square/ koutobia. There is also a lovely little cafe on the way which has a pink door!

I would definitely recommend the Riad Utopia, the rooftop is lovely if you like to bask in the sun, the pool provides instant refreshment and the service is impeccable.

I would also recommend that you book airport transfers with The Riad, they may be a little bit more money but they will take the stress out of finding the Riad.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Utopia Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Utopia Suites & Spa

Address: 280 Derb sidi bouamar | Riad l'arousse medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Utopia Suites & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dans la tangente de la célèbre place Jamaa El Fna, vous serez accueilli dans l'art de la tradition marocaine : chaleureusement et respectueusement. Vous découvrirez la magie de l'Orient alliée au design et au calme d'Utopia Suites & Spa. Toujours à votre écoute et à votre service, notre équipe vous recevra avec les prestations d'un hôtel de luxe et fera du Riad votre demeure : senteurs fleuries, massages délicats, soins de beauté, mets aux mille et une épices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Utopia Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Utopia Hotel Marrakech
Riad Utopia Suites And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Utopia Suites & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.