We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely memories...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Sidi Omar

Save Saved
You added Riad Sidi Omar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Sidi Omar
mouassine N 85, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #362 of 1,037 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely memories...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had a lovely time! Every day we started with birdsinging and a great Moroccan breakfast. Two times we enjoyed a dinner at the Riad, which what was very, very good! Omar and his family gave us a warm feeling the whole week and although we are at home now, they still do! We came as guests and left as friends! They gave us a great memory and we will certainly going back…..

Thanks again,
Math & Brigitte

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in this riad after it was recommended to us by our friends. It is in a great location, great riad, amazing breakfast and overall very friendly familiy that lives there which are very helpfull. Really recommend this place for families,couples and friends. In the heart of the medina and only at 10min walk to jema el fina the main square.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Me and my three friends stayed over at the Riad Sidi Omar in late December 2012. I was recommended this place by both of my brothers who stayed at this Riad a few years back. We all had an absolutely amazing and fantastic time! The breakfast consists of Omar's authentic Mint Tea which is delicious, bread, croissants, jam, butter and eggs. The Bathrooms are elegantly cleaned and neat, the beds are compfortable, the air-condition is top-notch fitted in your room for cold and hot nights. If you're planning on going to Marrakech, go and stay at this Riad!! An unforgettable and pleasant memories! Thanks Omar! :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Me and friend visited Morocco in mid July 2012. Of all the riads and Dars we had stayed, I can say Omar's is the best. This is a riad run by a Moroccan who was born and raised in Marrakech, Omar is more than happy to share his knowledge of the city and his homeland with you. You'll have the chance to meet his family and play with his adorable nephews and niece. This house is in all sense and purpose the "true" riad, not a restoration project, it is a place when generations of family lived and memories created, as a guest, me and my friend are honored to be part of this family and shared a place in their history.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We visited Riad Sidi Omar over New Years 2012 and had an absolutely wonderful time. Omar and his family (who have lived in the riad all their lives) made our stay absolutely first class and very memorable. We stayed in the room with the fireplace, and Omar made sure we had enough wood each night so we could make a fire. The room was clean, big and beautiful and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfasts in the morning were massive and very tasty--and prepared by Omar's lovely mother. They were happy for us to take our breakfast to-go when we had daytime excursions. Any questions we had and anything we needed, Omar was happy to help. I'd highly recommend staying here, and we'd definitely stay here again next time we're in Marrakech!

Room Tip: The larger deluxe room with the fireplace was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Riad Sidi Omar is a beautifully tranquil sanctuary from the excitement and 'circus-like' feel of the souks, medina and the famous busy Djemaa el Fna. Myself and my friend stayed here for 5 nights in October and I couldn't recommend anywhere better to stay if you want a truly authentic Moroccan experience. The Riad itself has been lovingly restored using traditional materials, methods and colours, with the result of a calming of the senses as soon as you enter the beautiful large doorway. As soon as you arrive you are made to feel like you are one of the family and Omar makes certain that your stay is the most comfortable and pleasurable. All of his family welcome you into their home and they are very cheerful, friendly and helpful. There is always someone around to help if you need something or just have a question. We experienced some daily life of Marrakech which included visiting the local hammam and seeing how authentic Moroccan dishes were prepared and cooked.... and eaten! (Yummmmy). The breakfasts are also amazing and huge - they keep you going all day!
The rooms are very comfortable and clean and beautifully furnished. The courtyard is wonderfully quiet and cool, with only the sounds of the birds in the morning (the fountain was turned off at night!). The roof terrace is an excellent place to relax and catch some sun, and there were also a couple of lounges that were very cosy to read a book in during the evenings. All in all I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Marrakech and highly recommend this riad for any type of traveller whether solo, friends, couple or family..... Ten out of Ten! Oh and the mint tea is fabulous!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Let me start of simply by just saying if we didn't meet Omar i can grantee are holiday would not have been as good. Omar literally put that cherry on top for our holiday making it truly amazing. I feel when people go to moroccan they forget the real reason why they are going. its not about the fancy hotel its about the people and riads. The traditional Moroccan houses. Omar's place is beautiful and im sure anyone who goes there will fall in love with it. Just have someone about to talk to and tell you where to go was amazing.

Dont even get me started on his breakfast plater. Even still now i dream of his breakfast, nothing has even come close to yet. Truly amazing platter for a great day to come.

To sum it all up Omar was the best reason why we enjoyed Moroccan, i can confirm this as others who have gone without a person like Omar felt Morocco wasn't so exciting. Plus just after i went i recommend my brother within months he went and loved it. He shared the same feeling I have with Omar, and excellent host but more importantly a great friend.

P.s just on personally note Omar Moroccan tea is amazing that alone would want you to come back for more.

To those who are reading this trust me Omar places is the jam stop looking and just trust us =D.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Sidi Omar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sidi Omar

Address: mouassine N 85, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 1,037 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bougainviller on the patio of the riad gives an added value to the beauty of the riad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Sidi Omar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Sidi Omar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.