We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved it, Absolutely recommend it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Sidi Omar

Save Saved
You added Riad Sidi Omar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Sidi Omar
mouassine N 85, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #357 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved it, Absolutely recommend it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This was my first time in Marrakech and Omar and his family made us feel very welcome and actually part of the family. The riad is beautiful, typical Morrocan and the food is amazing! Omar and his family has given us all the tips we needed to get around and the riad is very well situated so it's easy to get back to. I would recommend this place to anyone who is planning a trip to Marrakech as Omar will make sure you experience the real vibe of the city and have a fantastic time!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

The Riad Sidi Omar family have really nailed a wonderful travel experience. You are made to feel welcome and comfortable from the moment of arriving. It's the perfect balance of beautiful, attentive service, sincere friendliness, loads of information and assistance available at any time of the day or night and the best food we had in Morocco cooked by the matriarch of the house. I have been traveling for 14 years and would have to honestly say this is one of the best accommodation experiences I have ever had. Marrakech was made a very special place for us because of this wonderful family. It was particularly brilliant staying with a Moroccan family - every experience I had in Morocco of staying with an ex-pat owner was just not the same and no where near as wonderful. Not only would I highly recommend this Riad I hope to get back there again very soon!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

My friends and I had a nice stay in Marrakesh and we owe a lot of that to the Riad Sidi Omar. They were very nice hosts who always offered to help us out with planing day trips and our itinerary in Marrakesh. We got to know the true moroccan hospitality and were always greeted with a smile.
The location is central, close tot the heart of the old city. The breakfast was delicious even at very early hours of the morning and I strongly recommend the house cooked traditional dinner. The rooms are very nicely decorated and you get to sleep in a traditional moroccan house. The atmosphere is relaxing and authentic. As a guest you feel nothing like a stranger but more like visiting a friend.

Many thanks again to Omar and his family for everything!

Irina Fronescu

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for our birthdays and we couldn't have wished for a better time. A very relaxing place to stay, a paradise inside the city. It is run by a Moroccan family so you get a truly authentic experience. Omar will help you if you want to find anything. This is the best value for money place I have ever stayed in. Such a warm vibe and the breakfast was lovely. They even bought my boyfriend a cake for his birthday! I whole-heartedly recommend this Riad

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

If you are after a very authentic, low cost riad then this is a good option. Omar and his family are incredibly kind and helpful and will go out of their way to make your stay with them good.

The Riad is in a central location near the main square and the souks, it is a bit difficult to find at first, but after that it is pretty easy.

The rooms are authentic and the bathroom basic, but does enough. The breakfast is phenomenal and it would never be possible to eat it all!

Overall the service is what makes this place so good.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

We very much enjoyed our few days staying at the Riad owned and run by Omar and his family. The atmosphere was peaceful and a welcome relief after a day wandering around the medina. Our room was comortable and beautifully decorated with doors that open onto the patio where we savoured the delicious breakfast in the shade of the orange trees. We were made to feel extremely welcome and were only sorry that we were unable to return. Another time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

Riad Sidi Omar definately lived up to the reviews we'd read on Trip Advisor. Omar was an excellent host and welcomed us from the moment we arrived. After settling into our lovely room Omar invited us to a welcome drink. He told us how important it was to him and his family that our stay in his family home was to be special and they would do anything to help we only had to ask.This was such a pleasant way to start our first visit to Marrakesh. Within a few hours we were made to feel so comfortable and relaxed it was a wonderful start to our holiday. Omar's family are a delightful bunch and always so cheery. Omar's mother was a wonderful lady and although we could not communicate with words we managed to exchange so much more with body language causing smiles all round. A word of warning though her breakfast's were rather large and we did feel very guilty that we could not finish such a feast everyday. If you feel like a change from the mint tea try the coffee it is delicious. We had organised a trip to Essaouira for a couple of days and Omar arranged for our luggage to stored until we returned. The surprise we received when we came back for our last night will stay with us for a long time. THANK YOU Omar!! The location of the Riad was very central and on our first night Omar walked us to Jemaa El Fna through the labyrinth of alley ways. It may seem daunting at first but you will soon get used to it. We made up names for various sections, so that we didn't take the wrong turning. We would definately recommend this Riad to anyone who is looking for a TRUE Marrakesh experience. You cannot get any closer than staying with a local family. ENJOY!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Sidi Omar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sidi Omar

Address: mouassine N 85, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #357 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bougainviller on the patio of the riad gives an added value to the beauty of the riad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Sidi Omar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Sidi Omar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.