We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where was the famous Henri?!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Awa

Save Saved
You added Riad Awa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Awa
6 derb el hajra kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #222 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Where was the famous Henri?!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Well, not sure where to start. I did note that most of the reviews seemed to be a little dated, the Riad certainly was not busy whilst we had our stay, 50% occupancy most of the time.
The collection from the airport was good, yet I'm afraid that is where good stops.
We are seasoned travellers and we usually use trip advisor as a steer on what a place is going to be like.
We were extremely dissapointed with the whole experience. This is a live report as I'm sat at the airport as I feel quite strongly on the feedback.
We were excited by meeting the "famous" Henri as we felt he was going to give us a good steer on places to visit, restaurants etc... We saw him once by accident, as walking down the stairs to organise a drink on our last day today, no intorduction, no asking if our stay was enjoyable, which probaly sums the situation up with the "famous" Henri.
We chose to ate in the Riad on the Friday evening for ease so we didn't need to go out and find somewhere after our flight as we arrived early evening, food was average, service very slow.
If you wish to have a little lie in on your break, after all you are on your holidays, and don't have to get up for work! My advice would be not to stay in the Leon room , a superior room, unfortunately next to the kitchen, and their were lots of pots and pans clattering for a continental breakfast for between 6 or 8 peope dependent on the day over the weekend??!!!! To top it off on our last day today, we have 2 of the kitchen attendants talking at the top of their voices like they were having an argument at 8am, Lovely on your holidays!
The pool and terrace, well it need a lot of TLC, I have some pictures which I will add when I arrive home, but to give you an idea, the pool needed a real good clean, for 2 days out of the 3 the filter of the pool wasn't working by the looks of things. There was a dark grey scum round the tiles at the edge of the water, not sure it was safe to bathe. The roof top "garden" needed the plants repotting, roots splitting out the broken pots, not really a relaxing site. Then a couple of days we had the laundry hanging over the Walls where we we lay, table cloths, towels! Drinks, available for you to go and get, but ice, rarely available, which is a must in a hot country, simple stuff!
In all, a very dispointing stay, photos will follow, but a lot of things are easy to fix with some love and care, I think I have the view if at earlier reviewer, that Henri has fallen out of love with Marrekesh.
I'm afraid, if it was my business, I would be all over it, as that's how you make money, not squeeze all you can, gain your trip advisor award and ship out....
Overall, there are way better places to stay, we went of a meal at MK Maison, (amazing!) will review later, but check out their rooms.
If you want cheap and cheerful, fairly clean rooms, ( I did have to ask them to change my sheets on arrival as they were very badly stained, not sure why you would make a bed with these sheets) then this is the place for you, however if you want some service and feel like you are on holiday, there are plenty of other places.

Room Tip: For quite, not the Leon
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henriawa, Propriétaire at Riad Awa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Being the owner and manager of Riad Awa I'll do my best in the future not to appear as a bad manager.
I am sorry i was not in Morocco when the guests stayed at Riad Awa
I am a new grand father and i was in France with my daughter .

Last point about the breakfast.... Riad Awa is known (see all comments) for the quality of the fooding and the great cook (Bouchra) that proposes for more than 4 years excellent lunches, diners and breakfast different all days of the week.

Best regards from the sunny Marrakech.
Henri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    20
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
20
83
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Came here with my partner on a friend's recommendation and it didn't fail to disappoint. It really is an oasis in the heart of Marrakech. The room's are beautifully furnished and very clean..Unfortunately it was too cold to use the pool on the roof. However, the breakfasts served on the roof each morning were absolutely amazing - a fabulous surprise and a great treat! Its a perfect romantic getaway and would also be a great one for the 'girls'. We subsequently recommended it to a friend as a romantic getaway for his girlfriend and they loved it too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

From the moment we were picked up at Marrakesh Airport to our return home a week later Riad Awa and its staff were an absolute delight. Let's start with breakfast - simply superb. Continuing on this culinary note dinner was taken at the hotel on 4 nights, 3 course meal with wine 20 euros a head, cooking sublime. Room was clean, air conditioned and well serviced with towels, robes and toiletries. The crowning glory? Henri (the owner) presented my wife with 40 red roses for our wedding anniversary - a lovely and kind touch. The Riad is in the Kasbah just by Bab Agnou and a 10 minute stroll from the Koutoubia mosque in the centre of town. The Riad will arrange taxis and trips to wherever you require - we spent a day in the Atlas mountains at Setti Fatma including a visit to berber household for mint tea and oil-drizzled flatbread, Delightful. In summary - one of the most enjoyable stays we have had anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: 6 rooms - quieter ones away fromn the entrance alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

A perfect stay in Riad Awa with a group of friends in our first time in Marrakech. Good location, great food in the Riad, nice and friendly service with all we need and ready to help in anything you might need. We, really, enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Had a lovely time at the Riad, my friend turned 30 and they had red roses put in the room which was lovely. The food was the best I ate whilst there. Loved the plunge pool spent a couple of days around the pool so I came back very chilled out. Thanks again for everything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Excellent stay in Riad Awa in Kasbah district so in the Medina - an oasis of calm in the madness of Marrakech.
The service was superb all needs catered for, taxi to and from airports trips to Atlas mountains, nothing was too much trouble.
Thanks for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gata de Gorgos, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was our fourth visit to Marrakech which has become something of an annual pilgrimage.
We decided it would be a nice change to stay in a different area on this visit and friends who we travel with had previously stayed at Riad Awa which is in the Kasbah area. This riad is quite well situated for visits to the tombs and palaces but is a bit of a trek up to the square and the souks, particularly on this visit as it was an unseasonable temperature of nearly 40ªC.
The riad is very well designed and we stayed in the suite which was very comfortable with good a/c, excellent shower and very spacious. The roof terrace is large and has the added attraction of a pool which was well used in view of the high temperatures. We ate at the riad on our first night and had an excellent meal. The owner, Henri, was about for a couple of days but you got the impression that perhaps he has lost a little of his passion for Marrakech and in some places the riad was in need of a little TLC.
However we enjoyed our stay but there was one big let down and that was the attitude of the majority of the staff. They were quite offhand when requested for something and there were very few pleasantries exchanged which has not been our experience in other riads we have stayed at in previous years.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Awa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Awa

Address: 6 derb el hajra kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Awa is located in the south of the Marrakesh medina, in the Kasbah district.So it is next to the Royal Palace, the Saadian Tombs, and it is situated near the Bahia and Badi palaces.The owners, Martine and Henri, will welcome you in this contemporary place, made with all Moroccan handcrafted resources.The guesthouse is composed of 6 bedrooms which are very different ones from the others, but all are equipped with : bathrobe, hairdryer, body products, reversible air-conditioner and wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Riad Awa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Awa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Awa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.