We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now i miss this place and the smell of moroccan aromatic.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Awa

Save Saved
You added Riad Awa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Awa
6 derb el hajra kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #225 of 1,035 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Now i miss this place and the smell of moroccan aromatic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Such a great place with friendly hospitality and charming chic vibe.
We had a great time there and still keep talking about how wonderful time we had.
Thank you Henri to show us around and charming personality.

We all miss you and AWA
cheer from big mango (bangkok)

Natt, Michelle, Natasha and Ian

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    20
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
20
83
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We had a fantaastic stay at AWA. Our pick up from the airport I arranged with the hotel was on time, the evening meal in the riad was the best we had during our whole stay so I would strongly recomend eating one meal in there. The staff couldn't have been any nicer, the location any better and the owner was so welcoming. You won't be dissapointed!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Henri and his team of staff offer a truly amazing service.

We were upgraded on arrival and had the most amazing time in Marrakech.

Breakfast was served to us on the roof whatever time we surfaced and all the staff were on hand for any help/advice we needed.

The pool on the roof was a nice touch as June was boiling hot! Much needed every day.

Would highly reccomend.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Riad Awa is the perfect balance for the chaos of Marrakech - a place of simplicity, calm and tranquility. Henri, Mohamad and the other staff provide a very high level of service and were always keen to go above the call of duty. Perfect location ten minute walk to the square and souks. Great restaurant - Kasbah cafe - just round the corner. I highly recommend booking your stay now! We hope to be back in the future...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Spend nightd in three different Riads while in Marrakach. This one was absolutely the best. Best breakfast, best decoration and the swimmingpool and beds on top is perfect. Very nice owner and good location. I could recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Me and my boyfriend went to Marrakesh last month and I booked this riad through Henry, the owner at a good price because of the low season. I have done lots of research prior to the trip and decided on this because of the favourable and positive reviews by other travellers. We were not disappointed. Fantastic rooms, tasteful decor, authentic dinner and reasonable central location in the Medina and Henry the owner was very helpful in every way. We really like the common areas with the nice big sofa seats as they were sooooo comfortable and relaxing... We came back after a 3 day desert trip and had dinner in the riad! It was the best night as we had a nice fire going on, yummy Moroccan food with a bottle of wine all in the comfort of the riad on those massive sofas... Highly recommended although the location of the actual riad was a little difficult to find the first time when you arrive but after that, we managed to walk to everywhere (including the new town). On any other normal period, this riad would have considered to be quite pricey too as there are way too many options around.

Room Tip: The biggest room on the ground floor which happened to be the most expensive is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Just had a trip to Marrakech and stayed at Riad Awa. It was beautiful, really clean and the owner (Henri) and the staff were so helpful and friendly. Henri made sure we had all the information we needed before we ventured out to explore the local souks, he organised taxis and booked restaurants for us when asked. We were a group of 10 on a weekend trip so took 5 rooms at Riad Awa, all were lovely and spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated, all in all it was perfect. The food we had at the Riad was amazing, probably the better than we had at any restaurant during our visit and very reasonably priced. I would definitely go back to Riad Awa and recommend it to friends, I think it would be hard to find a nicer place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Awa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Awa

Address: 6 derb el hajra kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 1,035 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Awa is located in the south of the Marrakesh medina, in the Kasbah district.So it is next to the Royal Palace, the Saadian Tombs, and it is situated near the Bahia and Badi palaces.The owners, Martine and Henri, will welcome you in this contemporary place, made with all Moroccan handcrafted resources.The guesthouse is composed of 6 bedrooms which are very different ones from the others, but all are equipped with : bathrobe, hairdryer, body products, reversible air-conditioner and wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Riad Awa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Awa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Awa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.