We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little treasure in a magical place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Awa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Awa to your Saves list
Riad Awa
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   6 derb el hajra kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 1,072 Marrakech B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little treasure in a magical place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We had a fantaastic stay at AWA. Our pick up from the airport I arranged with the hotel was on time, the evening meal in the riad was the best we had during our whole stay so I would strongly recomend eating one meal in there. The staff couldn't have been any nicer, the location any better and the owner was so welcoming. You won't be dissapointed!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    20
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
87
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Henri and his team of staff offer a truly amazing service.

We were upgraded on arrival and had the most amazing time in Marrakech.

Breakfast was served to us on the roof whatever time we surfaced and all the staff were on hand for any help/advice we needed.

The pool on the roof was a nice touch as June was boiling hot! Much needed every day.

Would highly reccomend.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Riad Awa is the perfect balance for the chaos of Marrakech - a place of simplicity, calm and tranquility. Henri, Mohamad and the other staff provide a very high level of service and were always keen to go above the call of duty. Perfect location ten minute walk to the square and souks. Great restaurant - Kasbah cafe - just round the corner. I highly recommend booking your stay now! We hope to be back in the future...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Spend nightd in three different Riads while in Marrakach. This one was absolutely the best. Best breakfast, best decoration and the swimmingpool and beds on top is perfect. Very nice owner and good location. I could recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Me and my boyfriend went to Marrakesh last month and I booked this riad through Henry, the owner at a good price because of the low season. I have done lots of research prior to the trip and decided on this because of the favourable and positive reviews by other travellers. We were not disappointed. Fantastic rooms, tasteful decor, authentic dinner and reasonable central location in the Medina and Henry the owner was very helpful in every way. We really like the common areas with the nice big sofa seats as they were sooooo comfortable and relaxing... We came back after a 3 day desert trip and had dinner in the riad! It was the best night as we had a nice fire going on, yummy Moroccan food with a bottle of wine all in the comfort of the riad on those massive sofas... Highly recommended although the location of the actual riad was a little difficult to find the first time when you arrive but after that, we managed to walk to everywhere (including the new town). On any other normal period, this riad would have considered to be quite pricey too as there are way too many options around.

Room Tip: The biggest room on the ground floor which happened to be the most expensive is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Just had a trip to Marrakech and stayed at Riad Awa. It was beautiful, really clean and the owner (Henri) and the staff were so helpful and friendly. Henri made sure we had all the information we needed before we ventured out to explore the local souks, he organised taxis and booked restaurants for us when asked. We were a group of 10 on a weekend trip so took 5 rooms at Riad Awa, all were lovely and spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated, all in all it was perfect. The food we had at the Riad was amazing, probably the better than we had at any restaurant during our visit and very reasonably priced. I would definitely go back to Riad Awa and recommend it to friends, I think it would be hard to find a nicer place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Spent 3 nights at Riad Awa with a group of 9 friends to celebrate my 50th birthday and couldn't have asked for more. Arrived to a lovely welcome from Henri (the owner) and everyone fell in love with the beautiful riad, cool and stylish and very comfortable. Henri and his staff provided a fantastic meal on our arrival in the evening in front of a log fire and made us feel at home immediately. Location is as good as it gets and Henri provided priceless information on how to get around and where to eat etc., couldn't have been more helpful. Roof terrace provided a lovely setting to relax after a busy day in the souk. I would highly recommend this riad without hesitation and hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Awa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Awa

Address: 6 derb el hajra kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 1,072 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Awa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Awa is located in the south of the Marrakesh medina, in the Kasbah district.So it is next to the Royal Palace, the Saadian Tombs, and it is situated near the Bahia and Badi palaces.The owners, Martine and Henri, will welcome you in this contemporary place, made with all Moroccan handcrafted resources.The guesthouse is composed of 6 bedrooms which are very different ones from the others, but all are equipped with : bathrobe, hairdryer, body products, reversible air-conditioner and wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Awa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Awa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Awa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.