We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Italian Passion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Italiano Casanova

Ristorante Italiano Casanova
221, Av. Yacoub El Mansour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 642 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $37
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Real Italian Passion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

What a joy to find a passionate Italian chef running a brilliant restaurant in Marrakech.
The hotel recommended it and were we thrilled....yes
The chef makes all his own pasta,breads,and its obvious by the superb textures.
He imports everything.
Parmesan,oil,prosciutto,tomatoes and more ,now that is passion.
We had a great night.arrived early,it opens at 7:30 .generous delicious dip and breads with real Italian olives arrived to start us off.The seafood soup was amazing,anchovies ,great.
We both had pasta,I chose the tagliatelle with Gorgonzola ( from Italy ) and hubby had the tomatoes chilli and bacon.
Heaven sent.....
Espresso to finish.bellisimo!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
1 Thank 55julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bagnoles-de-l'orne, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A true italian job!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Finally a true angle of Italian gastronomy! After visiting many exotic places, but with the characters gastronomic eccentric or confused, here is the right atmosphere for lunch or dinner in an intimate or even if you want, along with a group of friends.
The owner is attentive to its clients and runs gracefully through the tables advising and listening to the needs of the customers. We, for example, traveling with a child and they have prepared promptly, a portion of pasta with meat sauce, exactly fit.
We chose a pizza (coocked in a real traditional brick oven) a pasta with seafood and a mixed grill of fish enough for both of us! All very good, tasty and fragrant. We later discovered by the Italian chef, taht at Casanova, they prepare a lot of things in the house, from bread to pasta, from desserts to ice cream and even the limoncello that we were then offered at the end of the meal.
What can I say again, thank Casanova was a good idea to stop after visiting the beautiful Majorelle garden, not far away.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank Cinosarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
155 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely setting - good service - good Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very pleasant with good service , good ambience and good pizza . Most enjoyable and would return for Italian / Pizza

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank horacebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best Italien food in Marrakech. Period!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Me, my family and my friends have all eaten here dozens of times so I am well placed to state that Casanova has the best Italian food in Marrakech. This place is very popular with locals, ex-pats and tourists.

The Italian owner is a what I call a "true professional", not an armchair restauranteur. He is always on duty on the floor to greet all the customers and make sure the running of the ship is ship shape (a dying breed these days) and you can see this in the product.

Service can be a bit forgetful but only when the restaurant is full and the wait staff are simply working flat out.

Food. Ok here we go!

The Neapolitan style Pizza's are in my opinion the best in Marrakech and even better than a lot of pizzeria's in England. The thing I like most about the Pizza's is the thin and crispy dough. Its chewy, salty and charred on the edges and the tomato sauce and low moisture mozzarella merge seamlessly together to form the classic base for an excellent Neapolitan Pizza. Its also a great example of a Pizza that does not suffer from ETS "Extreme Tip Sag". Toppings are many you can customise your own and are made from top quality ingredients. Choose from one of the many on the menu. Eat in or take away I do both. My favourite Pizza is the Capriciosa and Casanova 2 where the minimal of ingredients. Oh god there so good, i'm getting hungry right now just thinking about them.

Pasta, is always cooked to order "al dente" served simply with great fresh ingredients. My favourites are the Bucatini a la Metriciana, Linguini Pescietora, Tagliatelle with Gorgonzola, Artichoke and Walnuts and the Ravioli with Rocotta and Spinach and portions are not to much so you cant eat two or three courses.

When its hot its good to have a nice salad or antipasto. The antipasto plates are great for sharing and the meats and salami are all imported. Sardines n Sour are delicious combination of fish sweet n sour and the bresola is excellent.

Primi, Veal escalopes (you cant get milk fed veal in Morocco) is great either with lemon and white wine or with Marsala. Both come with a little plate of side vegetables. Theres also lots of fresh fish and crustacea.

Desserts, my favourites are the Cantouchi with Vin santo and the pannacotta Quelle Suprise!

There are a good selection of Italian wines on offer to combat the high mark up on local wines but in general its excellent value for money and consistently consistent which is the biggest issue when dining out in Marrakech.

Casanova is the sort of place you go there with out thinking of another place to have great food, wine and service in a friendly professional atmosphere for a great time with friends or family. It never disappoints, in fact i think ill go now for dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
2 Thank MrGourmet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Went because of the rewiews.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Staff very pleasent, food was okay, but have had better for less as it was not cheap.
We came here because we wanted pasta as we running in the Marrakech marathon,
So got what we came for.
In summary , nice rest, nice staff, food avg, not cheap.

Thank xxxxgman44
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Italiano Casanova also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Been to Ristorante Italiano Casanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing