We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Turquoise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Turquoise to your Saves list
Riad Turquoise
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   82 rue Touareg, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #169 of 1,072 Marrakech B&B and Inns
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

First of all, the Riad is beautiful, clean, cosy, an oasis of peace in hectic Marrakech. What makes it even more exceptional is the kindness of the owner Georges. Incredibly helpful, he is the ultimate source of information to organize each day, avoid mistakes. He is 100% trustworthy, will even make restaurant reservations for you. Simply said he just does everything he can to make the stay enjoyable. The same can be said of hos staff. Great great place !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
39
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I booked a 4 night trip to Marrakech as a surprise for my partner’s 30th birthday, with a Living Social deal for Riad Pachavana. However, the Riad was changed at the last minute to Riad Turquoise. I was worried about what the new place would be like, but I had absolutely no reason to be. It was wonderful. Excellent location, every room and area was beautiful. The rooftop terrace (with Jacuzzi) was amazing for lounging around, or having breakfast or dinner. The staff were amazing – they could not do enough for you. We also had a massage while we were there which was excellent. Breakfast every day was lovely, and the 1 dinner we had there was fantastic. Cannot recommend this Riad enough

Room Tip: Chocolat room was incredible - more like a suite! Stunning decoration and ambience, can't imagin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We booked this through Expedia and thought it reasonable value. We stayed 4 nights with two friends. First impressions were not good as the taxi (booked in UK via the Riad) dropped us off outside a long, narrow alley that looked very run down. The taxi driver insisted on taking us to the Riad’s front door. However once inside it was like entering Aladdin’s cave. The hotel is beautifully decorated in the Moroccan style, spotlessly clean and has many facilities that would not disgrace many larger hotels. There is a Jacuzzi and plunge pool and two terraces – the upper one has sun beds and views of the rooftops, palace walls and the nesting storks.
The service provided by George and his staff are fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble. He spent a fair bit of his personal time telling us about the Riad (surprisingly it is only 5 years old!) and Marrakech and asked us if we wanted breakfast served upstairs or on the ground floor - we opted for upstairs on the lower terrace just outside our bedroom. He also said he could arrange taxis, guides, etc. if we wanted. He speaks excellent French and just about gets by with his English so between the 4 of us we managed fine.
There are only 6 rooms - we were in a Junior Suite called Grise (Grey Room) which has twin beds and our friends in a double room called Saffran. Both rooms were excellently decorated in the Moroccan style and the first night we had a number of lit herbal candles which just added to the experience.
The rooms had very efficient air conditioning, flat screened digital TV (although the channels were limited) the normal bathroom cosmetics, hairdryer and ample electric sockets. The only thing that might concern some people is the toilet and shower is separated from the main room by a three quarters wall with no door (you have to learn to whistle!!) It was not a problem for us but I imagine some customers may find the arrangement not to their liking.
The breakfasts were excellent with lovely coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, warm pancakes, croissants, toast with butter, various jams and honey and what seemed like very tasty potato scones. There was little variation but we did get fruit salad one day and Moroccan doughnuts another day. We really enjoyed the service by Sophran. When we returned in the afternoon (the temperatures were unseasonably hot at about 37 degrees rather than the normal 21 degrees) to relax with a drink we were provided with olives, nuts and other Moroccan sundries - all free of charge. Small beers were 3 Euros and wine was about 18 Euros.
We had three course dinner one night and it was delicious. You needed to order in the morning from a menu and it was 20 Euros including coffee. It was the best meal we had.
There were massage facilities but we did not use them.
We asked George to arrange a trip to the Atlas Mountains which was about £70 for the 4 of us in our own 6 seater Taxi. We were out 7 hours and visited various towns and a Berber museum (entrance included) - we really enjoyed the day even if we got involved with all the Moroccan children and their families (it was a Moroccan) holiday and traffic jam on some very narrow roads.
Taxis were very cheap so long as you asked the price beforehand. We had no unsettling experiences apart from looking for a particular restaurant one night and failing to find it and being guided by a local lad to a completely different hotel despite his insistence that it was the one we were looking for(it was probably his uncles!!).
We used the Riad to book a taxi back to the airport but it would have been better value to use the “petite taxis” at the rank at the end of the street. I would book the taxi to the Riad from the Riad online as then you know that the taxi driver will know the way.
I can thoroughly recommend this Riad for its superb customer service, hospitality, central location - it was an absolutely fantastic experience!!
Thank you George and staff for a memorable 4 days.

Room Tip: Suite Junior Suite( The Grey Room (Grise) opens onto the lower terrace which had a tented ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend in March, on a deal with Living Social. We were originally booked to stay at the Riad Pachavana, but at the last minute were told we'd be at the Turquoise instead.

We received a very warm welcome from George and our room was beautifully presented. It opened out onto one of the roof terraces - all of the outside space is lovely.

Our deal included one dinner, which we enjoyed in the tent on the roof terrace. The Riad serves both beer and wine on request. I also had an inclusive massage, which I'd recommend to anyone.

All the staff were very friendly and professional. The traditional Moroccan breakfast consists largely of cakes and pastries, with fresh orange juice, and was very good.

The riad is very centrally situated (although it takes a while to work this out with the lack of street signs and wonky maps) - about a 10 minute walk to the main square. The only place we took a cab to was the Jardin Majorelle in the new town, but we walked back. Everywhere is walkable.

I would stay in Riad Turquoise again and recommend it wholeheartedly, as I would the whole Marrakech experience.

Room Tip: We were in the terrace suite which overlooked the balcony down into the central courtyard. The room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights and it was an oasis of calm.

Hosts were fantastic, couldnt do enough for us and really made us feel welcome.

The room was very clean and lit by candlelight when we arrived, it looked lovely. The only downside was the room was a little dark in the daytime.

Breakfast is excellent and sets you up to face the madness and bedlam of Marrakech! Plus the location is excellent.

Would happily stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Montreal, Quebec
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Traditional welcome into the oasis from the chaos outside. Very professional staff, warm service, excellent rooftop dinners cooked to order, beautiful rooms. Could not imagine a lovelier place to stay. But use your smartphone GPS to find it! Tucked away is an understatement.

Room Tip: All rooms look lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

You walk down a small lane, and as soon as you open the door you step into a colourful oasis.
Everyone goes out of their way to make your stay memorable.
The only downside is everyone speaks French and not much English.
But you can still communicate with everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Turquoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Turquoise

Address: 82 rue Touareg, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 1,072 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Turquoise 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the entrance to places, an atmosphere of peace and to be indeed will invade you and will take you in another universe. You will be welcomed by your host Georges who will welcome you around a glass of tea, will urge you to soak you with places and will make you share the soul of Riad. In your demand, he can organize you visits, excursions, bookings to take advantage completely of Marrakesh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Riad Turquoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Turquoise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.