We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1001 nights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Andalouse

Save Saved
You added Riad Andalouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Andalouse
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Quartier Bouskri | Derb El Farran Lakdim n°1, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #314 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bruges, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“1001 nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

When we told a Marrocan friend (originally from Casablanca) that we planned a trip to Marrakech, she told us we had to stay at the riad 'Andalouse', without a doubt. And she was right every bit!
Situated in a quiet quarter, where the children say 'bonjour monsieur' without wanting something or asking money, we were welcomed by the french owner François and his wonderful staff, it was as we entered a scene right out of 1001 nights....
Not overfurnished, decorated with style, a mix of european (andalousan) and arab, it breaths a feeling almost 'zen'. The whole house has the scent of orange and jasmin.The rooms are welcoming, the beds of high quality.
Every evening, after a visit to the hectic town, we hurried to the 'Andalouse' to have a drink on one of the beautiful terraces. François put on a little music, very discretely as he is.
We had a hammam and even one night, a massage of François own masseuse. What a treat...
Four out of five nights we took dinner at the riad and it was the best we had in Marrakech!
Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I loved this Riad! For me this was a dream come true. François was incredibly helpful with our daily plans and the staff were super attentive and trustworthy! Organise an airport pick up as it can be tricky to get to as are most places in the Medina. I loved it so much I was booked to stay 2 nights and I decided to stay extra days. The Riad is located 10-15 mins walking to the centre but I enjoyed being away from the tourist areas and the hustle and bustle. The walk was lovely and safe. I loved the restaurants that were recommended to me and we ate very well. The breakfast was delicious and enjoyed on the terrace. I swam in the pool which took time to adjust to the water but i thoroughly enjoyed it and found it aesthetically appealing while relaxing in the evenings. This place is suited for couples, groups, family, business and for people travelling solo if you want a little piece of tranquility. Every room and the entire place is beautifully decorated. This place for me is a piece of heaven waiting to be discovered! I loved it! I high guarantee staying here and I will return without doubts!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend in December and had a fantastic time. The Riad was beautiful and the staff were so helpful.

We had dinner and a hamman in the Riad both of which were lovely, furthermore the staff organised dinners and a driver for us at no extra cost.

It is not central but you can walk to the main squares and they will organise transport for you which means you do not need to worry.

Am already looking at planning a second trip!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We had a glorious week in this riad, it is a quite beautifully restored and decorated property, Francois and his staff could not have been more helpful. The food delightful (we chose to eat at the riad 4 out of 7 nights). Francois made sure every morning we knew how to find the tourist attractions and advised on things he thought might interest us and arranged and booked a trip into the Atlas mountains for us.
We found the riad really quite well sited within the medina, close enough to get into the busy souks and explore all the sites within the medina and great that we could escape at the end of the day back to the quiet of the riad. Loved it and would thoroughly recommend Francois and his beautiful riad.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We had a wonderful long weekend staying at this riad. The riad is beautiful and peaceful - an oasis of calm from the hubbub of the souk. Francois and his staff could not have been more helpful - particularly as we were late for everything as we hadn't adjusted our watches to the local time.
We would recommend having the evening meal - delicious Moroccan food made by locals.
We would stay here again. Even our teenage daughters said they would come back - praise indeed!

Room Tip: All the rooms were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

A friend and I stayed 2 nights at Riad Andalouse, and we were ready to move in afterwards - we didn't want to go home! The decor is stunning and the staff are very friendly. The owner was extremely helpful in his advice on Marrakech and took the time to help us in any way he could, without being overbearing. There was a very relaxing atmosphere, and the food was delicious - probably the best we had during our week-long trip. We walked from the riad to the main sights - about 15-20 minutes away. Safe location, and in a residential area. The only thing I suppose that some people might not like is that there was just a (pretty) net curtain instead of a bathroom door, separating the en suite from the bedroom - so it perhaps wouldn't do if you were sharing with someone you didn't know that well! My friend and I just laughed it off and got on with it. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

A beautifully decorated riad away from the hustle and bustle of the main square with a roof terrace perfect for relaxing after shopping in the souks. Our host was extremely helpful and sat down with us each morning to help plan our day and his staff were all lovely. The food is amazing - I would highly recommend staying in for dinner, we did for 3 of our 5 evenings there and it was the best food we had.

It is a bit of a walk from the main attractions but it is worth it for the peace and quiet and I found passing through a less touristy area each day really interesting. Taxis are also readily available if required.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Andalouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Andalouse

Address: Quartier Bouskri | Derb El Farran Lakdim n°1, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #314 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Andalouse 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Andalouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Andalouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.