We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT a nice experience!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Perle d'Orient

Save Saved
You added Riad Perle d'Orient to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Perle d'Orient
dar el bacha | 96 Derb Tizougarine, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€17 off room rate
Ranked #817 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
“NOT a nice experience!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In Marrakech there are a lot of nice riads. This is not one of them. The owner was very rude to us and hardly speaks any English. Because we decided to stay an extra night in Marrakech we asked the owner whether we could add an extra night - he insisted that we had to do this via Booking.com - but of course the WiFi was down (again). We were flabbergasted; not being able to book an additional night at the reception? We told him this and he said that the next day a repairman would come and fix the WiFi, and since it was already late we had to go back into the city centre to find somewhere else with WiFi to book the room. When we booked it we told the owner and everything was ok. When we came back the next night (at 21.00/22.00) we were told that the room was not available anymore for that night, although we showed the email with the reservation, and we had to leave the riad immediately and we had to find another riad. We had to pack our bags and stroll the medina (not fun!!) to find another overpriced riad.. Would not recommend.

Furthermore it was very difficult to find the riad from the road, there were no signs whatsoever. Besides having a room where quite some things were broken and dirty. Very bad experience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    7
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
14
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Hi I just wanna share with you my happy night that i've passed on this Riad
Actually its very nice and the best Riad that i've seen before the room services was very good the other amuse things was very amazing also its a cheapest Riad
I really wait for my next holidays to get back to this riad again
Take care

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACTIVIAAAAA, Propriétaire at Riad Perle d'Orient, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour Monsieur Hassan
Au nom de toute mon équipe , je tient vous remercier pour vos commentaires et vos encouragements
cela nous honore et nous encourage à donner toujours le meilleur de nous même
En espérant avoir le plaisir de vous recevoir de nouveau au Perle d'orient
bien cordialement à vous
Hatem Jemmali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

It is a beautiful property but it is very badly run.

We arrived in this hotel after a long international flight with a child. No tea was offered, no water. When we asked if we could buy some water (11pm at night) in the hotel, the manageress said that no water was available.

She tried to claim that breakfast was not included in our booking. We had to present our booking.com confirmation to prove that breakfast was included.

The first night was very cold and when I asked for some extra blankets, she was reluctant to give us any saying that they have as many blankets as there are beds available. She did give us the blankets in the end 'since we had a child' with us.

I sent several email to the hotel before our arrival asking to send us the name of the hotel in Arabic to show the taxi driver at the airport, they were just ignored. We also had two emails from the hotel 'confirming' the booking for the wrong dates and the wrong type of room.

There is a big TV screen in the middle of the central courtyard, which is not helpful if you are trying to sleep!

Otherwise the place has much potential. It is a beautiful house but it is not welcoming.

Room Tip: You will hear that TV in the courtyard, wherever you are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Perle d'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Perle d'Orient

Address: dar el bacha | 96 Derb Tizougarine, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #817 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What we like to Riad Pearl East& Its ideal location in the heart of the Medina of Marrakech, within walking distance of all the attractions in the city!& Its warm and authentic setting , typically Moroccan . and intimateOnly 7 rooms in this little gem.& Son welcoming , helpful and always listening& Location : The Oriental Pearl is located in the heart of the medina of Marrakech, and the most beautiful, the smartest and most secure neighborhoods, Dar el Pacha , right next to the PalaceIn a quiet and easily accessible alley. Our guest house is 5 minutes walk from the Palais Badii and Riad Perle d'Orient and 8 minutes from the famous Jemaa el Fna .Hotel descriptionThe whole riad has been decorated and furnished with great taste using all the knowledge of Moroccan artisans while incorporating typical décor and all the comforts of a high-quality guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Perle d'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Perle d'Orient, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.