We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing too complicated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kerdouss

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Kerdouss
Save
You added Riad Kerdouss to your Saves list
81, Arzet Aouzal | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #173 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nothing too complicated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights recently, and opted for the Mergouza room, which is the largest. Plenty of space, but the furnishings aren't exactly designed to make lounging in your room comfortable. Large (probably too large) writing desk to sit and write a postcard or plan out the day. Bathroom was really large with a huge shower - unfortunately both the shower and handbasins had poor drainage, which led to a few overflows.
On arrival, we were escorted through the maze of alleyways by Mustapha. Along the way, he explained the landmarks to find your way unassisted, which proved invaluable. Once we entered, we were met by the eccentric (and quite frankly odd) Yolande. We hardly saw her for the rest of the stay - don't think that was a bad thing.
Mustapha holds this place together and seems to do pretty much everything. He is incredibly helpful, friendly and never far away.
The riad is comfortable and clean, but not an authentic Moroccan experience and not in the 5 star category. However, prices are very reasonable for the location and the facilities.
One thing which really really annoyed us was being slugged with a 20 euro charge for doing one load of washing - AFTER we had already done it and we had asked prior and were not advised. 20 EURO!!!! I could have had everything drycleaned professionally cheaper. Mustapha explained that he had to charge it as he was directed to by Yolande - who had mysteriously disppeared the morning we departed.
Would recommend, but watch out for the washing machine!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
58
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Steffisburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

The Riad Kerdouss is in 10 min walking distance of the center of Marrakech. It is located in a very quite area where no cars can be found and not much people live/pass.

The Riad is very nicely renovated and offers small and large rooms. We had the largest room which is very comfortable for two persons. The bathroom is very charming and has daylight from the top.

Director and stuff are very friendly and supporting. They stay over night and assure that there is no noice in the rooms after 10pm.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onda, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We were this weekend in Riad Kerdouss. Was INCREIBLE!!! We have found one of the best riads we have seen.
Mustapha and Yolande are fabolous anfitrions. They were there for all our questions, and to give us the best recommendations to visit the medina.
I'm sure, if we return to Marrakech, we'll stay again in Riad kerdouss.

The bedrooms and bathrooms are very very specials. With a magnificent decoration and were very clean.
The riad is very very calm, to relax and enjoy of the sun down of the medina.
The breakfast, perfect. With a lot of things: juice, coffe, bread, etc. The necessary to walk along the city all the day...

We are very very happy to have found Riad Kerdouss, and to know Mustapha and Yolande.
They were the complement perfect for a perfect travel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

We happened to be the only two people in the Riad in Low season and they kindly gave us the best room. It was wonderful I’ve never seen a house like it. It was so calm and peaceful with Staff that are more than happy to help. It’s very clean and decorated amazingly you could not ask for more when you come away from the busy Marrakech streets.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

We stayed two nights in Riad Kerdouss (chambre Rissani). The room is on the terrasse, where breakfasts and dinners are served. It is an oasis of calm in this busy city.
The location is very good, close to the souk and also to the bus station, although we recommend to use the ctm bus station in the "ville nouvelle".
Yolande and Mustapha are naturally kind and made us feel at home. They also helped us finding a very nice place in Essaouira!
The transfer from the airport to the Riad was perfect as well as the breakfast and the dinner (really nice chicken tajine and moroccan salad). One night we just bought delicious fruits at the shop near the riad and ate it on the terrasse. Very nice!
We definetely recommend this place. Great quality at a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

I can't belive this place is so low on the over ratings- it can only be because it's only been recently open by a wonderful French lady from La Rochelle.

Quiet location, close to the centre of things yet more authentic and pretty. A brilliant French lady - charming - who runs it - very hospitable to some very tricky guests I saw. Better still, is the wonderful Mustafa who lives and takes care of the day to day running. We stayed for 1 night as our Riad we booked was full and it was a cut above that - you could tell the difference. You will immediately there is a very high calibre decor, rooms very high quality; Mustafa's brilliant service (even helped me pack my case with a tea set; very nice balcony, courtyard, offered mint tea and coffee, very personable.

We shall be going back. Any questions please email.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelanaomijane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

We ended up at Kerdouss by accident as the riad we were supposed to be staying had overbooked. What a happy accident it turned out to be. The riad is beautifully decorated, spacious and - most importantly, very peaceful. It seems a million miles away from the bustling streets of Marrakech even though it is a short walk to the souks. Even the 5am call to prayer wont disturb you. Our host Mustapha was a perfect gentleman. He couldn't do enough for us and make our stay there all the more special. The rooftop terrace is really nice to relax in, and the bathroom of the room we stayed in had a double sink which was a nice touch. I'd highly recommend staying at Riad Kerdouss, its a very special place.

  • Liked — How peaceful it is and the host
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kerdouss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kerdouss

Address: 81, Arzet Aouzal | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace seen koutoubia with litlle swimming pool for refresh itself. Welcome to the oasis of serinity in Marrakesh ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kerdouss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.