We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Pachavana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Pachavana to your Saves list
Riad Pachavana
4.0 of 5 Specialty Inn   |   172 Derb Lambsober, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here back in February and loved it. I'd previously stayed in a resort in Marrakech but Riad Pachavana was a much nicer experience.
We received great correspondence from the owners before our trip so we arrived feeling totally relaxed. They arranged transport from the airport and as previously arranged they cooked for us on our first evening. The food was amazing and I will return for that alone!
We did get lost trying to walk to the main square from the Riad but it added to the fun.
Our room was lovely and the roof terrace was a great place to relax and also take in the sights.
One huge bonus for us was that our flight was at 8.30pm and they allowed us to keep our room until then, rather than the usual check out time. That made such a difference to our trip as we could have another full day of exploring without carrying all of our bags, then a shower before leaving in the evening.
Great place and lovely people.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathybo83, Propriétaire at Riad Pachavana, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hello,
I'm sorry to answer only now to your lovely comment I discovered only now. The whole team and I are delighted that you keep such a good memory of your stay at Riad Pachavana. We try wherever possible to make every effort to bring greater satisfaction at our guests and make them want to return or to recommend the riad. We also we keep a good souvenir of your visit and you will be always welcome.
Best wishes.
Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    39
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
29
132
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Visiting Marrakech for the first time, we loved every second of our stay at this tranquil and beautiful riad.

The staff were unbelievably friendly and helpful; the food was freshly prepared and traditionally Morroccan; and we loved being able to shut out the wonderfully busy world of the medina.

We were within walking distance of nearly all the major sights and, as two female friends, felt quite safe during our visit.

We took advantage of the airport taxi service the riad offers as well as the hammam - and can thoroughly recommend both.

Can't recommend this riad highly enough and hope to go back soon!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor with beautiful views from the terrace. Ask for a room on the middle or to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathybo83, Propriétaire at Riad Pachavana, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
A great thank you for your nice comment. Our pleasure is the satisfaction of our guests, and we would be delighted to welcome you again.
Best wishes.
Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We visited Marrakech for four days - which is about right. The Riad was perfect in many ways, being not too big, beautifully laid out, and with a very high level of service and a warm friendly atmosphere.
It was our wedding anniversary so we were delighted to find flower petals scattered across our room on arrival (Rubis on the 1st floor).
We booked beforehand via the Riad to be collected at the airport and strongly advise this, as once into the medina it is not easy to find your way about, particularly after dark, and - like most riads - you have to go down the sidestreets to get there. We ate in the first evening, and had an excellent tagine dinner, looked after by Abdou. In the evening the riad was quite magical, all deep reds and yellows, dark wood shutters and doorways and lanterns casting shadows. In the morning we enjoyed breakfast in the courtyard, before the heat of the day kicked in, with the palm trees and bougainvillea all around. There was a different type of local bread/pastry each morning, along with good coffee and a continental breakfast, tho if you prefer tea you do get the ubiquitous Liptons!
The riad is located to the north of the souk, so you walk along the medina streets (watching out for whizzing mopeds) and down thru the souk to get to the djenn el fna square, but once we had got our bearings it was fine. We did get lost but I think that goes with the medina experience. The map provided by the hotel, and the directions and advice we were given on the first morning after breakfast were very helpful, including the going rate for a petit-taxi (20 dirham for any short journey, which required some haggling given that the drivers started with a price of 100 dirham).
We walked north to the Majorelle Gardens on the first morning - about 20 minutes and easy to find - and there is a fruit market just outside the gate of the medina along the way.
The local Moroccan red wine we had with dinner was good, but we suggest there is a wine list with accompanying prices, as generally speaking wine is pricier than in Europe.
We really enjoyed our first experience of Morocco and the Riad Pachavana was a big part of that so "bravo" to Natalie - the charming owner - and her team.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathybo83, Propriétaire at Riad Pachavana, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hello,
The team joins me in thanking you for your nice comment on Riad Pachavana . We have been very pleased to welcome you for your wedding anniversary, and thank you for your trust. Your feedback is valuable and helps us improve: we have now a card with drinks and prices as you suggested. We hope to have given you want to return to Morocco and Marrakech.
Kindest regards.
Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed here in March. Booked this Riad for my husbands birthday. It is a lovely Riad in the busy Medina but once inside the hustle and bustle stays behind the doors.. The Riad is located very near to the soukhs and is walking distance from lovely restaurants. The breakfast is fresh and home cooked and everyday is something different. The staff are lovely and a special thank you to Khamissa for helping me arrange a special dinner for my husbands birthday and for my henna. We stayed in the room on the roof terrace and the views from the top were amazing. Highly recommend and look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathybo83, Propriétaire at Riad Pachavana, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment. Khamissa and all the team was happy to welcome you and to help you to have a nice stay at the riad. We hope to see you an other time.
Kindest regards.
Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We booked two rooms at Hotel Riad through Opodo and stayed in May 2011. It was a great oasis in the middle of bustling and hustling Marrakech, and we recommend it to those who want a special, peaceful break in a riad behind a typically unobtrusive door in a dusty backstreet of the bustling Medina area.

Entering the Riad is really nice. You go from a dusty backstreet through a smart, black door, and into the prettiest house ever. In the open area on the ground floor there is a smart plunge pool with little tables at which to eat, and a couple of relaxing areas with couches and tables and shade. If you climb to the top of the roof area, you can see across the Medina - do it at sunset or night (take your drink with you).

Each of our rooms was a very good sized double room. There was plenty of closet and floor space, and a little table and stools in each room, though we never used the table or chairs. The bathroom was cute, with fully functioning loos, and everything was very clean. Air conditioning is remote controlled from a handset you can take to bed with you, ensuring the room is as cool as you want it to be. (While we were there temperatures were peaking at 42 degrees around mid-day). We had first floor rooms set into the balcony area overlooking the pool/dining/rest areas of the road below. Ask for a room that is not on the ground floor. Although those ground floor rooms look as lovely as the others, guests breakfast, dine and chill in the open area in the middle of the riad and it would be irritating to be disturbed by that, which we never were.

After we booked, we emailed the hotel to ask for a car to collect us. This was arranged for 20 Euros (perfectly reasonable for door to door service) and we would have been completely lost without it. We highly recommend you do the same. Approaching the Medina the first time is completely mind boggling, with back alleys and paths galore. Book the car through the hotel! When we emailed we were also asked if we wanted to eat at the Riad the first night, which we accepted; more on that later.

On arrival we were greater with mint tea and pastries and a sit down chat with Khamissa, the Riad's manager. It seemed a bit weird at first but this riad absolutely knows what it's doing! Khamissa equipped us with a really good map (essential in the Medina) and drew on it the path to walk to key place we may want to visit in the medina. She told us how much to pay for a cab at most (20 Dirham - all the taxi drivers will tell tourists its 50 Dirham, but they pretty much all settle for 20 in the end!) and not to trust anyone who spontaneously showed us the way somewhere, told us they were a guide or, more annoyingly, told us they were not a guide. She offered too to book us any trips we wanted to do, since it would be cheaper than the ones advertised widely for tourists. More on that later too!

The food at the riad was great. If you want to eat supper there, you need to tell them after breakfast. They then go to the market for those who are dining in during the day. There is no menu, but you will get something different every time you eat there. We did it twice (over five nights) and we wish we'd done more so. You have to eat street food in the main square at least one night, but other than that for the experience, the riad evening meals were definitely the best food we'd had in a long time, and in Marrakech too. It was always three courses, with a different range of yummy salads as starters, a tagine as a main, and fruit or pastries for pudding - different every time we ate there, but well practiced and delicious. After supper (in or ouside the riad) I got into the habit of ordering a cold drink, which always came with a bowl of delicious nuts, and sitting with my toes or legs dipped in the plunge pool to cool down. Breakfast was local style; there was yogurt and local pancakes or similar and bread with jam, honey and spreadable cheese. Personal preference meant that this wasn't really our kind of breakfast (we didn't love the local bread and pastries, but that's just us!) - but it was abundant and locally styled. One tip: ask them to put pots of jam and honey in the bowl by the plunge pool to send the bees away from your breakfast table.

Khamissa and our waiter/watchman (who's name we never caught) really looked out for us. They were never intrusive but they did check if we needed help and we on hand to assist. When we wanted to go to the mountains for the day Khamissa warned us away from the more expensive tourist trip we were looking at, explaining it was expensive and would have lots of people on the bus (which we didn't want) and also from the 1-2-1 experience (again based on what we said). Instead she called a local firm who ran this trip; it was exactly what we wanted, with pick up and drop off at our hotel, a small group of about 10 in an air conditioned mini-coach, and much cheaper than the other options too. The only thing I would say about organised trips of any sort is to remind you that you don't have to eat at the place they recommend. We stopped and it felt like we were expected to eat at a bit of a tourist trap, so we did. We wish we'd walked around a little and found the nicer, cheaper place down the road and gone there instead!

I'll leave others to talk about the Medina and so on. I was tired and didn't appreciate the souks and so on - all our shopping - shock, horror! - was done in one shop (the deli) in the airport! I didn't think the shopping was great but others would - I am sure - disagree. (And if you want to find a decent supermarket, there is a Carrefour in the new area of town!)

With thanks to Khamissa and her team, if you're going to Marrakech and you want a grown up place to stay, stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't on the ground floor, as open air eating/relaxing areas will be right o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathybo83, Propriétaire at Riad Pachavana, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hello,
Khamissa and Abdou (the server name and night watchman) join me in thanking you for your long and exhaustive commentary on Riad Pachavana and how you were welcomed. They are very happy that you enjoyed their service and attitude. They are actually very knowledgeable and they want above all the satisfaction of our guests. I am also very glad that you keep a good memory of your stay at the riad and we will see you with happyness if you had the opportunity to return.
We wish you the best.
Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I am currently sitting in this Riad, in a cosy lounge area overlooking the pool and listening to the palm fronds. This is a beautiful and traditional Riad of perfect size in a very central location. It's charming. Really recommend it. Great roof terrace for sunbathing, 10 min walk from the main souk, yet tranquil and safe.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathybo83, Propriétaire at Riad Pachavana, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hello,
Thank you very much for your kind comment. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Riad Pachavana, and we hope see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We've just come back from staying at Riad Pachavana for 4 nights and what an amazing experience! A taxi arranged by the Riad met us at the airport and took us to the door of the Riad,which we would have struggled to find by ourselves.Despite being a little dubious we were welcomed warmly and a meal was prepared for us. We enjoyed the hustle and bustle of Marrakech and Riad Pachavana was certainly good to comeback to for some peace and tranquility.During our stay the whole team couldn't have done more for us - big thank you for making our holiday so enjoyable!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathybo83, Propriétaire at Riad Pachavana, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hello,
All the staff joins me to thank you for your nice comment which is a reward for all the team. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Riad Pachavana, and services that you have had. Maybe will we have the pleasure to see you again.
Best regards.
Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Pachavana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Pachavana

Address: 172 Derb Lambsober, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Pachavana 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Pachavana is a charming residence, which is also one of the most picturesque and the oldest of the Medina Riad Pachavana is a traditional Moroccan house, combining luxury, calm and voluptuousness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Pachavana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Pachavana Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Pachavana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.