We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing haven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Pachavana

Save Saved
You added Riad Pachavana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Pachavana
4.0 of 5 Specialty Inn   |   172 Derb Lambsober, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 182 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A relaxing haven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Perhaps firstly and most importantly, definitely make sure you have an airport transfer arranged through them. The driver walked us straight up to the door which otherwise would have been difficult and intimidating to find at first, as the alleyways leading to it seem somewhat dark and confusing. I'd like to stress though that actually we ended up realising this was totally misleading, the area is actually surrounded by a school and rather nice families and little shops. It just looks very different from what we were used to but by the last night we felt perfectly safe and comfortable walking there even at night.

We also arranged to be served a meal in the Riad on arrival which turned out very nicely. The food was homely and traditional and very tasty, not a gastronomical explosion but that's not really the idea. It was also a pleasant surprise that there was actually a very good value drinks menu available with Morrocan wine and various spirits/mixers etc.

As for the place itself, I think we were both immediately impressed and very pleased by the look of the place, really does feel like a very comfortable haven in the middle of what is quite an intense city. The courtyard is lovely with a very nice (but too cold to be useable in March) plunge pool with seating around it and a few nooks and crannies with sofas and comfy chairs. Then the rooftop terrace is a marvelous spot and somewhere I don't think we will forget in a hurry. You can see the snow covered Atlas mountains in the distance, the beautiful Koutoubia mosque silhouetted in front of them. The weather was great while we were there and it made a great relaxing and private place to soak up the sun.

I feel a little harsh only marking the service as 'average' because on the whole it was very attentive and breakfast/drinks/meals etc were done just in the way we would have hoped. However on a couple of occasions we asked for help organising meals out in restaurants that we had specifically chosen and this wasn't as easy as it feels like it should have been. They didn't seem overly keen to even call in the first place and also seemed to want to persuade us to go elsewhere which made it a little awkward needing to be 'firm' and stick to our original plan as we knew exactly what we wanted to do.

Room was lovely, nice courtyard, nice staff, great terrace, nice location, all in all a great trip and will very happily recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathybo83, Directeur général at Riad Pachavana, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guy,
Many thank's to take time to write reviews about your stay in our Riad. Be sure that all your remarqs will boost us to make guests stay more confortable. We always try to make our best to give some good advices, but as we are not a travel or guid agency, we only give tips about places we use to go; Of course, each guest have his own budget and idea about what he would like to find, and it's not easy for us to adapt our tips, specially because guid books are not "on time" always!
Anyway, we are happy to read your good reviews about the gastronomic restaurants you'd tried.
Hope to meet you again, and hope the best for you.
Regards, The Pachavana team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    33
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
23
117
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We would highly recommend this Riad and after a day in the hustle and bustle of the streets of Marrakech it is the perfect Oasis of comfort. The whole Riad is beautifully decorated in a traditional style. There is a small plunge pool with a tranquil courtyard set around it that made an ideal place to drink, read and unwind. There was also a rooftop terrace with sun loungers and views across the rooftops of the city, stretching far into the desert and Atlas Mountains. Breakfast was plentiful for our needs. I would not hesitate to recommend this place.
Our one piece of advice would be to book a taxi from the airport through the Riad. It is located down one small alleyway, in a labyrinth of unsigned alleyways that is the Medina. The taxi will not be able to get further than the 'main road' leaving you to walk the final stage. Other guests said their taxi drivers didn't even know where the Riad was but because our taxi driver was booked through the Riad he was able to walk us through the alleyways right to the front door. As we arrived after dark I think I would have been quite apprehensive finding our way around on our own initially. It soon became familiar though and by the next night we were confident finding our way home. If you are put off by the thought of navigating dimly lit alleyways then you are better off in one of the big hotels, but if you want to experience true Marrakech at its best then this is definitely the place for you.

Room Tip: If you can ask for a room on the upper level as I imagine they are the most peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathybo83, Directeur général at Riad Pachavana, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hy, many thank's for giving us some good news about your stay in our guest house. I agree that Marrakech is a busy town and of course, it's better to ask us what's the most practical to join us.Beleive that all the guest comments will help our futur guests.
Best wishes, team of riad Pachavana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My friend and I have just returned from four days in Marrakech. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the riad. Thierry was very friendly and efficient and made us feel extremely welcome. The riad is about a 10/15 minute from the main square and less from the entrance to the souk. It really is an oasis of calm amid the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. It has been lovingly restored and our room was beautiful. We had dinner here one evening which was delicious. The roof top terrace boasts views of the mountains and the courtyard, and with its comfy sofas, is perfect to drink mint tea (or wine) and rest your feet after hours of walking around the city. The young man who served us our tasty breakfast was also excellent, although unfortunately, I can't remember his name but he too is an asset to the riad. We would certainly recommend the riad to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My friend and I had a short break in Marrakech in January and stayed at the Riad Pachavana. We had a super time and really enjoyed the riad. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast was tasty and totally adequate and the dinner we had on one night was the best food we had in Marrakech. Before going I read a review that complained about there not being enough hot water but with two people in the room there was plenty. The riad was really well located, within walking distance of the markets and the main square and also for getting a taxi to the museums and palaces when we got tired of walking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We booked Pachavana via Expedia and in spite of a change in management we found the experience excellent. Thierry the new manager was knowledgable, and his team worked extremely hard and well to make our stay relaxing. The riad is very well located inside the medina, with an approach which is a little exciting until you get your bearings! very comfortable, individual and characterful rooms, and good food if you choose to take dinner in the riad.We recommend the walking 'no shopping' tour of the medina, and if you like fish the Riad de Mer is excellent (thanks Thierry!) and a ten minute safe walk away. We definitely recommend this riad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathybo83, Directeur général at Riad Pachavana, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello,
Thank you very much for all the tips you give to the futur visitors. Be sure that we will continue to do the best we can to make our guest stay enjoyable.
Pachavana team wish the best for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Dc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was a trip with my two sisters and were all seasoned travelers having travelled extensively around the world. This is a simple but beautiful Riad that is very well located and easy to get to the souks and other sites. The decor and ambiance is very nice and it feels like a home away from home. Service is so so but we found Antonio to be particularly accommodating. There was a mix up in our reservations through Hotwire and he did his best to accommodate us. Breakfast is very limited fare and is the same every single day but they will make you eggs if you ask. The dinners (Morrocan) were very nice but expensive. We did not ask for continental dishes as we were unsure of what they can make. There was no menu. The rooms were very clean but we ran out of hot water everyday. I would not recommend their spa/ Hammam. They piled three of us in a tiny room and it was not relaxing at all. There are much better and cheaper spas. As with most of the Riad owners, if you ask for a contact for anything, you will be directed to their person and it most likely won't be cheap. The Internet service only worked in the public space downstairs and even then not everywhere downstairs. Connection was really slow so if you need to be connected, I would not recommend this Riad.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here but we did not feel that we got value for money.

Room Tip: Our room was downstairs right by the kitchen. It was called the Safir room. If you want to sleep i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands, uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a week whilst we negotiated the riggers of Marrakech
It is a beautiful oasis of peace, broken sometimes by the calls to prayer.
But you would get that everywhere here.
The staff are lovely , our room was beautiful and has obviously been lovingly restored at some point back to authentic Moroccan decor.
The roof top terrace is perfect
The pool is great for a cooling swim in the afternoon.
Food is of a good quality and priced about right.
Service is attentive, but not rushed.
General note
I would say that before you come to Marrakech, that you do your homework as it is not for everyone .
It can be overwhelming.
That's why your riad is so important .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Pachavana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Pachavana

Address: 172 Derb Lambsober, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 182 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Pachavana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Pachavana is a charming residence, which is also one of the most picturesque and the oldest of the Medina Riad Pachavana is a traditional Moroccan house, combining luxury, calm and voluptuousness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Riad Pachavana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Pachavana Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Pachavana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.