We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Pachavana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Pachavana to your Saves list
Riad Pachavana
4.0 of 5 Specialty Inn   |   172 Derb Lambsober, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #11 of 194 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My friend and I had a short break in Marrakech in January and stayed at the Riad Pachavana. We had a super time and really enjoyed the riad. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast was tasty and totally adequate and the dinner we had on one night was the best food we had in Marrakech. Before going I read a review that complained about there not being enough hot water but with two people in the room there was plenty. The riad was really well located, within walking distance of the markets and the main square and also for getting a taxi to the museums and palaces when we got tired of walking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    40
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
30
133
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We booked Pachavana via Expedia and in spite of a change in management we found the experience excellent. Thierry the new manager was knowledgable, and his team worked extremely hard and well to make our stay relaxing. The riad is very well located inside the medina, with an approach which is a little exciting until you get your bearings! very comfortable, individual and characterful rooms, and good food if you choose to take dinner in the riad.We recommend the walking 'no shopping' tour of the medina, and if you like fish the Riad de Mer is excellent (thanks Thierry!) and a ten minute safe walk away. We definitely recommend this riad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathybo83, Directeur général at Riad Pachavana, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello,
Thank you very much for all the tips you give to the futur visitors. Be sure that we will continue to do the best we can to make our guest stay enjoyable.
Pachavana team wish the best for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Dc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was a trip with my two sisters and were all seasoned travelers having travelled extensively around the world. This is a simple but beautiful Riad that is very well located and easy to get to the souks and other sites. The decor and ambiance is very nice and it feels like a home away from home. Service is so so but we found Antonio to be particularly accommodating. There was a mix up in our reservations through Hotwire and he did his best to accommodate us. Breakfast is very limited fare and is the same every single day but they will make you eggs if you ask. The dinners (Morrocan) were very nice but expensive. We did not ask for continental dishes as we were unsure of what they can make. There was no menu. The rooms were very clean but we ran out of hot water everyday. I would not recommend their spa/ Hammam. They piled three of us in a tiny room and it was not relaxing at all. There are much better and cheaper spas. As with most of the Riad owners, if you ask for a contact for anything, you will be directed to their person and it most likely won't be cheap. The Internet service only worked in the public space downstairs and even then not everywhere downstairs. Connection was really slow so if you need to be connected, I would not recommend this Riad.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here but we did not feel that we got value for money.

Room Tip: Our room was downstairs right by the kitchen. It was called the Safir room. If you want to sleep i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands, uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a week whilst we negotiated the riggers of Marrakech
It is a beautiful oasis of peace, broken sometimes by the calls to prayer.
But you would get that everywhere here.
The staff are lovely , our room was beautiful and has obviously been lovingly restored at some point back to authentic Moroccan decor.
The roof top terrace is perfect
The pool is great for a cooling swim in the afternoon.
Food is of a good quality and priced about right.
Service is attentive, but not rushed.
General note
I would say that before you come to Marrakech, that you do your homework as it is not for everyone .
It can be overwhelming.
That's why your riad is so important .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Superb Riad in the heart of the old town! Antonio and staff offered a very personal service. Food was very traditional Morrocon, our room was 'jade', very pretty. It's crazy outside those wooden doors and we loved returning in the evening. I would not look for anywhere else to stay when we return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I really liked the personal touch of this riad; it was like staying with a lovely family. All the staff are really friendly. The service is very personal e.g. they prepare whatever you want to eat - there is no set menu. However, I didn't like the food (but I didn't like the food anywhere in Morocco). The staff were also very good with arranging car service, tours etc.

The biggest and only problem is the location - at first the location of the hotel was shocking because it was so far off the main road; it's located down a narrow street and cars can't go down that street, so you always have to walk to the main road (approx 5 mins down narrow quintessential Moroccan streets) to get a taxi/shops etc...but you get used to it after a day or two. Ladies may not want to walk back at night alone (even though it is safe, it's a quiet street so you never know). Me and my friend (both ladies) always got our driver (the hotel’s driver) to walk back with us late at night/early hours of the morning.

The swimming pool is quite small and right in the middle of the resturant/dining area - I would not have felt comfortable swimming there/too exposed.

This is probably a good hotel for someone on a budget. If I were to go back, I would not stay in any hotel in the Medina; I would stay in Gueliz (the new city) - and I would stay in a proper 4 or 5-star hotel at that! I was surprised that this hotel is a 4-star. I would rate it as a 3 or at most a 3.5-star.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Our experience in this Riad was Really good, the staff is very helpful, the breakfast is amazing, especially the yogurt, the room was very nice, good bathroom and very comfortable bed. I totally recommend this Riad.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Pachavana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Pachavana

Address: 172 Derb Lambsober, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 194 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Pachavana 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Pachavana is a charming residence, which is also one of the most picturesque and the oldest of the Medina Riad Pachavana is a traditional Moroccan house, combining luxury, calm and voluptuousness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Pachavana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Pachavana Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Pachavana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.