We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on a Plate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Fenn Restaurant

El Fenn Restaurant
2 Derb Moulay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 524 44 1210
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #213 of 547 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $27 - $68
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on a Plate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

It took me quite by surprise as we had eaten so much average food in Marrakech but this stood head and shoulders above the rest and the setting.... It is simply breathtaking. A really stunning roof terrace with unparalleled views of the Koutoubia Mosque and the mountains in the distance. We were warmly greeted by the Maitre d' and made comfortable. With an aperitif came delicious little snacks - some spiced chickpeas, perfect, fresh from the oven cheese straws, delicate crudites with a rather dull dip (the only tiny flaw) - and we browsed the very tempting menu, perfectly pitched to offer plenty of choice without being overwhelming. I had beef carpaccio to start, my wife had the gravadlax. Both were delicious and prettily presented though I was slightly surprised to see the gravadlax cut vertically rather than horizontally in the usual wafer thin flat slices. All the same it didn't detract from the taste or texture both of which were spot on. My wife had a very superior monkfish tagine to follow which really was better than any Moroccan food we'd had throughout our visit by quite a long chalk. Delicate flavours, pitch perfect fish, elegant presentation. I opted out of Moroccan and had a steak with peppercorn sauce. It was phenomenally good, cooked to perfection and again, prettily presented. We had a sorbet and the cheese plate to share. Sorbet was spot on and the cheese selection surprisingly good - where does it come from? - as we'd seen no good cheese anywhere; very good brie, some Roquefort, and a hard cheese neither I nor the delightfully charming waiter could identify but no matter. We drank good Moroccan gris and felt simply on top of the world. It was such a lovely experience all round and we rather wished we'd discovered the place at the start rather than at the end of our stay. The service was impeccable, oozing charm and quiet efficiency, just as it should be. We felt so welcome and looked after. If we were to return to Marrakech, this is certainly where we would stay but even if you are not, I would urge you to go there to eat. It's brilliant and I don't think anybody's realised it yet as it wasn't that busy...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    4
    5
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Beef Tangia in all of Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Well the title says it all. We stumbled across the restaurant but we knew of the Beautiful Riad/Hotel, and getting to dine there was a real treat. We dined on the roof top which was a bit windy but the ambience was great. We walked through the main dining room and it looked to be a very special and sumptuously decorated room. The food was delicious and tasty and the Beef Tangia was to die for. Excellent service from very attentive waiters. Would love to stay at this hotel in the future. Thanks!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Although we weren't actually staying here, we knocked on the door and asked if we could have a look around and have some lunch. A really nice young man showed us around - it blew me away, I will certainly be saving up for a stay here! Had lunch on the roof terrace, which was amazing - a little on the pricey side but worth every penny - most def the best meal we had in Marrakech! Will be looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Most atmospheric restaurant we have been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Although I wouldn't recommend this restaurant during the day because of lack of natural light, the restaurant at night turns into the most charming and atmospheric place ever.
The walls are covered with a large array of art pieces, which I could not stop taking pictures of. The art deco furniture matches wonderfully the moorish details and the dim lights and candles give the place a very magic feeling.
Service is fast and attentive and English is understood well. The food is above average and definitely the best we had in Marrakech. The chef made our children whatever they asked for.
There are very cosy sofas by the fireplace where you can enjoy a glass of wine. More sofas are near the bar. Although the restaurant is, overall, quite chic, we felt perfectly at ease with our three (at times boisterous) children.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nicest chef ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We ate for 2 nights in the El Fenn, one night on the roof terrasse, one night in the downstairs restaurant. Both are very nice, but the roof top atmosphere is very special, with gorgeous lightening, view over the medina and a breeze of fresh air.
The food on both occasions was very good. We celebrated a birthday, and had ordered a birthday cake. That was delicious and the the staff made that event very special.

We had a chance to talk to the chef. He is a very friendly, dedicated and knowledgable man. He cooks with fresh ingredients and has a special finesse to flavour food. He does magic in his small kitchen. Thank you!

Waiting times for the food can be longer than normal, due to the large number of settings in the restaurants in relation to the kitchen size.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fenn Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to El Fenn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fenn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.