We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most atmospheric restaurant we have been to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Fenn Restaurant

El Fenn Restaurant
2 Derb Moulay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 524 44 1210
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #206 of 577 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $27 - $68
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Most atmospheric restaurant we have been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Although I wouldn't recommend this restaurant during the day because of lack of natural light, the restaurant at night turns into the most charming and atmospheric place ever.
The walls are covered with a large array of art pieces, which I could not stop taking pictures of. The art deco furniture matches wonderfully the moorish details and the dim lights and candles give the place a very magic feeling.
Service is fast and attentive and English is understood well. The food is above average and definitely the best we had in Marrakech. The chef made our children whatever they asked for.
There are very cosy sofas by the fireplace where you can enjoy a glass of wine. More sofas are near the bar. Although the restaurant is, overall, quite chic, we felt perfectly at ease with our three (at times boisterous) children.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    6
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nicest chef ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We ate for 2 nights in the El Fenn, one night on the roof terrasse, one night in the downstairs restaurant. Both are very nice, but the roof top atmosphere is very special, with gorgeous lightening, view over the medina and a breeze of fresh air.
The food on both occasions was very good. We celebrated a birthday, and had ordered a birthday cake. That was delicious and the the staff made that event very special.

We had a chance to talk to the chef. He is a very friendly, dedicated and knowledgable man. He cooks with fresh ingredients and has a special finesse to flavour food. He does magic in his small kitchen. Thank you!

Waiting times for the food can be longer than normal, due to the large number of settings in the restaurants in relation to the kitchen size.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed at the Riad El Fenn and one of the things I loved the most was the food and the general atmosphere of the restaurant. We did try to eat out a couple of times in different places, but at the end of the day, nothing beat this place and so we vowed not to bother trying anywhere else after that!

Take a drink at the bar or on a seat by the candle lit pool before indulging in the most incredible food and beautiful wine. It's not often that I eat three courses but here I did almost every night and am now paying for it in the gym. I highly recommend the chicken kiev (strange as it sounds to put this on the top of the list in a Moroccan restaurant) and you must try every desert.

The evening was never quite complete without that final glass of wine, cosied up by the fire with friends on huge sofas.

I will be heading back for another round of indulgence in the spring.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland Heights, California
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had our best meal in Marrakech at Riad El Fenn. The service was nice, but not much English was spoken here, mostly French. I had the el fenn burger (beef plus lamb) and it was the best burger I ever had (of all the places in the world). The chicken salad, sea bass and salmon ordered by the rest of the family were very good as well. The prices were slightly high for Marrakech, but not all that bad for the quality of the food. A nice break from the Moroccan food that we had for 3 straight days. Highly recommended, but the place is small so you should get a reservation if you know when you will be eating there. It was not very noticeable from the street (a very small sign), but it was very close to our riad and right next to our place for our daily coffee, so we had no problem finding the place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

A really stunning setting.
Food was very good and very good service.

This was little raid with a big personality!!!

Beautiful garden with a small pool.
Watch yourself as I fell down a small hole!!!!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fenn Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to El Fenn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fenn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.