We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Name, Small Act!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Novotel Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Suite Novotel Marrakech to your Saves list
Suite Novotel Marrakech
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Haroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40020, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #303 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Gandhinagar, India
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Big Name, Small Act!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

When you book at a chain like Novotel, you really don’t have any apprehensions about the service. We were faced with quite a shock at our encounter with Novotel Marrakech. Disappointing is the word! We checked in around 2 PM after a pleasant stay at IBIS Casablanca, promoted by the same chain, ironically. I’ll first finish with all the good aspects of my stay and then move on to the incidents which were displeasing.
The rooms are spacious, the breakfast (which was included in our case, was fair and on time), the location is excellent. Walking distance to the main Koutoubia and a whole lot of restaurants and eateries. It’s a slightly posh location, so you far from the noise & hustle-bustle of a big city.
Now, for the list of disappointments. The room was nice and spacious but had certainly not been cleaned thoroughly. I found hair strands on the couch, on the bed, stuck on the hanger and in the shower area in the toilet. The bathroom and toilets had no hand towels or towels. We called up the housekeeping, they apologized and said, we’ll send some immediately. After about 10 mins, we made the call again and got the same reply. After another 20 mins, we made the call again, this time to the reception complaining about housekeeping and wanting to talk to the manager, they said they will send him up to our room immediately with towels. Still no sign. We made another call to the reception after about 20 more mins and got the reply that he is on his way. Still no sign of towels or the manager. This time, I personally went down to the reception and was told the manager is not in office and will be available only after 5.30 PM. Disappointed, I went back to my room. Another call for towels and the reply I got was the funniest ever, the reception told me that the hotel is out of towels. I didn’t know how to react to it and kept wondering if the reception actually wanted me to believe it. A hotel of this stature with a capacity of 100 plus rooms, including a pool is out of towels. As soon as I hung up the phone, towels came up at my door step. I am still confused about what actually happened and what am I supposed to believe.
Next on, we were there for 4 nights in a promotional package which gave us 4 nights at the cost of 3. Before going to the hotel, I had checked the hotel website which said the guests with this package were eligible for a car from the hotel for 4 hours each. When we went to the hotel to inquire about the availability the reception told us it was totally for 4 hours spread over 4 days and not like the website said. To which, we showed them the website and the reply was, please don’t go by what the website says.
One day we decided to explore what was there at the bar, if you happen to walk into the bar at the hotel, it may so happen that you may not find anybody behind the tables at all for a long time. So we waited 20 mins, before somebody arrived to serve us beer! Cheers ;)

So here, the issues with all the incidents were lack of professionalism and zeal to help out the guests. The staff was there for the sake of it. I have been fortunate to travel a lot to Europe, Asia, Oceania and Gulf – never have I encountered such gross lack of attentiveness and clarity.
To top it, my entire trip to Morocco was in any of the hotel chains by ACCOR Group – surprisingly, all other hotels were at par with my expectations of service. I was also pleasantly happy with the service at Sofitel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    301
    173
    67
    40
See reviews for
270
235
54
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited hotel again after two years, was disappointed. Shower was not clean, was missing from sink, chair was broken and I almost tripped over a power cable for the television which lay across the room.
Breakfast was horrible, cold gray eggs, only 1 salt shaker, tough pancakes and bad coffee.
Location is great, the rooms just need better maintenance and the breakfast needs revision.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a great location with easy access to both old and new towns. Hotel itself was basic but rooms were a good size and fully equipped. Great pool area although this did get very busy. Although basic the free buffet breakfast was a nice touch for the price paid. Free high speed WiFi. When you read the poor reviews on here you do wonder what people were expecting for the price paid. I am sure the Sofitel across the road offers better standards-however the prices also reflect that.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff was welcoming even for our 1 am arrival.
The rooms were large and we had a small balcony.
The breakfast was fine however quite crowded, not enough seats to host all customers at the same time.
We had no time to use the swimming pool but it looked nice and cool.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 via mobile

Let's start with some positive : central location et private parking.
That's it, unfortunately.

Extremely noisy building, impossible to sleep until 5 AM.
Unfriendly staff, particularly at the Front Desk.
Old rooms.
Poor breakfast.

Will not go back !

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We were a family of 4. They hotel was clean, cheap and cheerful. The staff were polite and helpful. Room was cleaned everyday. Fresh towels provided everyday. Very close to Carrefour, 10 minutes from Medina. Reception will help you phone for KFC, Pizza etc if asked. Pool was great. Only criticism would be that breakfast tables outside and inside were not cleared fast enough. Therefore at times one could be forgiven for thinking that the breakfast bar had been ransacked. The breakfast buffet was varied with croissants,toast, yoghurt, juices, coffee, teas. eggs etc. Overall a great stay and great value for money. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms above second floor and pool side. They are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed here last week for 5 nights with a mixed experience. The A/C in the rooms is very warm, meaning it is hard to cool down from the relentless heat of Marrakech. Check in is 12 midday but we had to wait until almost 3pm with no apology or explanation which is always fun when the hotel is in an area with little to do!

The room was fairly spacious with a wet room (for some reason I was given a disabled room on the ground floor) but only a soap dispenser and no other amenities. Wifi is very poor in room 9.

Breakfast was ok, mixed but not as bad as some people have made it out to be. A selection of pastries, breads and a couple of cereal options with water and fruit juices.

Pool area is ok but chaotic, no real discipline so people were eating their breakfast on sun loungers and leaving plates everywhere; it also seems you can order takeaways which can be delivered to your sunlounge! Make sure you get a sun lounger early as it fills up quick. Lots of small children running around so not the place to come and relax as you'll be lucky to get that experience!

The hotel is in an upmarket area - Louis Vuitton, Sofitel and a few exclusive clubs are around the corner with plenty of Ferraris and Bentleys on show. This boosts the price of the area so walk 10 minutes to Carrefour near New Town for food and drink and use the fridge in the room rather than fork out in the expensive area!

Staff on the whole are good, one very miserable guy on reception needs to learn how to speak to people properly but also some really helpful staff too. The restaurant on-site is being rebuilt so lots of noise starting early in the morning!

Would just about stay again but make sure you lower your expectations lower than any other Accorhotels brands like Novotel, Ibis and Mercure!

Room Tip: Road facing rooms are loud, try to get off the ground floor to avoid noise, get to breakfast early a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suite Novotel Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Novotel Marrakech

Address: Rue Haroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40020, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#120 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Novotel Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Suite Novotel Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Novotel Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite Novotel Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.